We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic atmosphere!”
Review of Le Wok - CLOSED

Le Wok
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm in Phnom Penh a few times a year, and always eat here. The decor and lighting make for a romantic European-feeling atmosphere, and the fusion menu has a lovely French flair. The salmon and spinach ravioli in saffron sauce was perfect.

Location is very close to the National Museum (but off the main road, so quieter than down by the river), making it a great spot if you're going to see the Plae Pakaa show at the museum before or after dinner. (It's a great spot to land if Friends restaurant is full, as is often the case, and is just a short walk around the corner.) Prices are a little higher than elsewhere but not too bad ($9 set course menu), and worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aiyana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_KHPP, General Manager at Le Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your review. Le Wok has moved near Central market under the name of Cabaret. We will be pleased to see you again in a modern setting encompassing two elegant areas, bar and patio and rediscover the best recipes of le Wok and live music every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here twice during our visit. the first time was for evening meal. I went for the set menu for $9. this si probably a little bit more expensive than you should pay in phnom pehn but I thought it was worth it. Starter was deep fried spring roll and fresh spring roll. It was so tasty and fresh. For main course I had chicken with cashew nuts, again delicious and a fruit platter for dessert. i was really happy with my meal and the service was really good as in a french restaurant you don't expect service with a smile but here we got lots of smiles.
Water was expensive we paid $3.80 for a large bottle. This is a lot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank total_ledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_KHPP, General Manager at Le Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your review. Le Wok has moved near Central market under the name of Cabaret. We will be pleased to see you again in a modern setting encompassing two elegant areas, bar and patio and rediscover the best recipes of le Wok and live music every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate here on two occasions and thoroughly enjoyed both occasions, yes its somewhat more expensive than surrounding restaurants but I felt it was worth it, really good food and lovely ambience, excellent value is the two course 9/10 dollar menus which also include coffee.
When I return to Phnom penh I would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_KHPP, General Manager at Le Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your review. Le Wok has moved near Central market under the name of Cabaret. We will be pleased to see you again in a modern setting encompassing two elegant areas, bar and patio and rediscover the best recipes of le Wok and live music every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We came here on a recommendation from Lonely Planet, the food was okay but the Cambodian Beef Curry was inedible. You cannot even call it a curry, it resembled more a tasteless, watery, broth with bits of chewy meat in it. The service was not very good, our waitress was quite sour. Only eat here if you have to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had the 9$ menu that was really good (3 small first dish, 1 main and very good dish and a dessert) we also had the 10$ menu with big salad (pomelo salad with prawns-nice but under cease) main dish was tagliatelle with mushroom and ham- the best I had in years!!! Good service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_KHPP, General Manager at Le Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your review. Le Wok has moved near Central market under the name of Cabaret. We will be pleased to see you again in a modern setting encompassing two elegant areas, bar and patio and rediscover the best recipes of le Wok and ive music every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Wok also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing