We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In my top 3 list of best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In my top 3 list of best hotels”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

As a expat in Asia, and an never ending travel schedule, I stay in a lot of hotels. This one is absolutely in my top three. The 1932 French-built and fully restored property is beautiful, are are the creatively, tastefully an delegates appointed rooms. The pool is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent and well priced and the service is good. Spent two days here over New Year's Eve for just $100/night and was thrilled with my choice. Would recommend it for business or pleasure, couples, family or solo.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GibsonBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    519
    99
    18
    13
See reviews for
262
751
172
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arriving in Phnom Penh after 36hours of travel, at midnight, and arriving at your hotel to be told the hotel has "mixed up" your booking and they are full for the first night is not the best start to a vacation and doesn't bode well for a subsequent hotel review. Especially when you are offered a much lower standard room in a sister hotel, and no compensation.

I should mention that I had spoken to the hotel several times in the week prior to arrange airport pick-up, and get some recommendations on activities, and the date of our arrival was never in question.

However, after some negotiation and encouraging the late night staff to wake up the manager, we agreed that the Plantation would cover the cost of the first night in the other hotel, and pay for transport to send us to and from this hotel.

The other hotel room was small and basic but very clean, and at that point, we didn't much care.

When we returned to the Plantation the next morning, the hotel had an apology letter waiting for us to confirm there would be no charge for the first night, and offered in addition an hour spa treatment for two. The room was available early, at 11am, and lived up to the description online. It was roomy, comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is beautiful, very tranquil even though it is located in the city centre, and always smells like fresh lemongrass and flowers. The buffet breakfast has a reasonable selection, and the hotel staff as a whole are very cheerful and friendly, and can't do enough for you.

We chose deep tissue massage for our complimentary treatment, and it was excellent.

The location is brilliant, and we rarely took tuk tuks because most of the tourist sites were within a 30 minute walk.

So, despite the rocky start, I felt the hotel handled the situation adequately, and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfieGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for excusing us for this overbooking. We still get a few, when people book simultaneously the last room on Online Booking Services. We have upgraded our software to an automated channel management and hope this will solve the issue! Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect one night stop over. We stayed on our way to the airport and wish we could have stayed longer. Very simple styled hotel with a wonderful feel to it.

The pool is big enough for a decent swim. Crystal clear and clean. Bracingly fresh temperature - just what is needed in the heat.

Decent breakfast with good mix of local and western styles.

As you'd expect in Cambodia, the staff were very welcoming, unassuming and highly attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were not dissapointed. Its a good place to relax after a city tour or as a break after hectic temple tours in Siem Reap. Very efficient and friendly staff. Well planned cozy rooms and surroundings. Sitting areas surrounding the swimming pool are luxurious. In spite of being a top-end hotel, it gives you a feel of comfort and coziness with personal touch. Amazing location - just 5 mins walk from the riverfront and right opposite to Royal Palace. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect for all tourist attractions, easy to walk or catch at tuk tuk. The staff were amazing, very welcoming and helpful. Our room, over looking the pool was lovely and very comfortable. Will definitely stay there again when we come back to Cambodia.

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic we think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

In my second stay, I returned as promised, everything was perfect again.
The most valuable still the quiet patio far from the city noises outside, perfect to relax in the swimming pool or also to have a more than decent breakfast. Great value for money and great customer service,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Once you are within the walls of this hotel, you will not feel that you are still in busy Phnom Penh. The builder and designer have done an excellent job here. This is a beautiful quiet place to return to after a day of sightseeing and shopping. There is a swimming pool right in the centre - good for relaxing swim in the morning or evening. You could dine right beside the pool after a swim. The rooms and facilities are first class. A little on the expensive side but value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pak Soon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,938 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#16 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing