We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

In our first visit to Cambodia, we stayed at the Plantation for 4 nights, and we just have to say that it was an exellent experience all together. The hotel was great, the pool area very nice, and the service even better! The gym was also well equipped. Only minor minus was some microscopic ants in the room.

Room Tip: If you don`t care about the view, the cheapest rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slasken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    511
    100
    18
    12
See reviews for
251
732
169
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa is located behind the Royal Palace, right in the historical center of Phnom Penh. The hotel is within walking distance of the National Museum, the Wat Botum (Royal Pagoda), the riverside with its bustling nightlife and the lovely street 240.

We stayed at the Plantation for three nights (check-in: May 2, 2013) and paid US$ 199. It feels like a little oasis in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. The hotel is set in a lovely building and offers luxury city chic and boutique feel, from the same city hotel group that developed “Pavilion”, “Kabiki” and “Blue Lime” boutique hotels. Hotel has rich history… The reception building dates back to the thirties and was most probably built by the French to be an administration connected to the Royal Palace nearby.

Overall we were satisfied with our hotel stay despite some initial difficulties we ran into with “check-in”. It went not so smoothly. We arrived in hotel late evening (around 8:30 pm), and got the last and probably worse room in the hotel. Our Standard Double Room (Room #2001 on the ground floor) we initially moved in had a lot of problems, i.e. disconnected phone, leaking aircon, and wet spots on the bed due to aircon leaking… We waited almost an hour while staff tried to settle all these problems. The waiting time was especially unbearably painful because of incredible tiredness after grueling and nightmarish five-hour trip from Siem Reap. Our three year old daughter felt asleep in my arms when they finally decided to upgrade our booking to Deluxe Twin Room on the ground floor with Garden/Pool View. Room #2014 we moved in after was relatively spacious (35 sqm.) and comfy, featuring two twin beds (120 cm), a closed bathroom and small patio.

All rooms are clean, comfortable and offer all the necessary amenities including air-conditioning, safety box, mini-bar, phone, 32-inches flat screen TV, kettle with tea and coffee, and hair dryer. Wi-Fi is free and traffic is excellent. Room #2014 has a separate entrance from the poolside and you can easily come out of the room and jump in the swimming pool. Housekeeping was excellent, keeping the rooms well maintained and clean.

We loved the swimming pool surrounded by cabanas and sun loungers. It is really gorgeous (20 m) and so welcoming after a hot day of sight-seeing. The hotel’s pool side set amongst well established garden of tropical trees such as sea almonds, coconuts, acacias, frangipanis and champaka trees.

The Plantation features the Poolside Bar and Restaurant, The Red Pool Bar and Plantation Restaurant overlooking an open courtyard. The breakfast buffet was simply excellent. Above-average food combined with an extremely friendly staff made this one of the better buffet choices. The barbecue buffet dinner we had on May, 4 2013 was simply delicious (US$ 31.50 per person). Khmer cuisine was “blended” with French influences that created truly authentic Cambodian style. Fried frog's legs were simply delicious especially when paired with a glass of chilled white Bordeaux.... They made our last evening one to remember.

Hotel reception staff helps to arrange taxi. Tuk-tuk you can easily find just next the door. With a tuk-tuk ride you can see more than with spending your time in car or bus. Phnom Penh is a large city and distances are long, but with tuk-tuk you reach easily your target. Tuk-tuk can get you anywhere in town with a standard rate of US$ 2 for short distances. If you wish to hire the tuk-tuk for a day tour, they have tour packages posted in the vehicle and you can negotiate with the driver too. Our half-day tour to Killing Fields of Choeung Ek, Tuol Sleng Museum and Russian Market cost US$ 12. For the half-day tour around city (Wat Phnom, Psar Thmei, Wat Ounalom, Independence Monument, Wat Moha Montrei and Sisowath Quay) we paid US$ 10. Make sure to keep your bag toward the middle of the tuk-tuk to protect against bag snatching. Airport Pickup / Dropoff – US$ 6. Long-Distance Bus Pickup / Dropoff – US$ 3.

We would for sure stay here again despite the difficulties we ran into with “check-in” because of the helpful, friendly manner of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am in Phnom Penh for a month volunteering with an NGO. The Plantation is centrally located in a great part of town close to restaurants, the river front and perfect shopping as you're between 178 and 240!

Hotel staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great--all fresh and eggs perfectly cooked to order. The cucumber smoothie is YUMMMY! Also the Banana Blossom Salad is a must try in the restaurant. Beautiful gift shop with jewelry, scarves and other local handicrafts.

Beds are super comfy and free water and fresh fruit daily. Great value!

Room Tip: unless you think youre one to sit out on a balcony dont worry about the room with/without the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. Some of its main strengths:
- The pool area is really pretty
- Great food (breakfast as well as both restaurants)
- Nice room
- Friendly staff
- Excellent location
It seemed like an oasis of peace and quiet in busy Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartijnK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Beautiful design, very clean, secure, good location and pleasure to stay - I really didnt want to leave. The price was also pretty good. We travelled back to Phnom Penh to stay at this hotel 2 weeks later. The staff were all friendly, helpful and would fall over themselves to make your stay the best.

The highlight?? - the pool.

My only criticism (an this really is searching for one!), is that the massage wasnt the best for me. If i buy a 45 minute massage, I'd like more than 25 minutes.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homecountiesexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

A special place to end up after a day out and a wonderful environment to hang out around the pool... a true oasis and a great place to stay.

Can not fault anything with this place, the services was friendly and attentive, rooms spacious and clean.. breakfast had great variety

Location is good, a few minutes walk to Street 240 and some great ice cream and coffee places nearby...

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and pool view are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Delightful and pristine hotel and spa right in the city centre within walking distance of all the major sites. Staff are very attentive and eager to assist wherever possible. Really an oasis of calm. Already planning our next trip back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_j0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing