We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab stay - An Oasis within the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab stay - An Oasis within the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Upon arrival at the entrance of the hotel, you would wonder what a small compound the place is or if you even arrived at the right place! But as you walk in, you are taken to into a oasis..away from the dusty/buzzing street of Phnom Penh. Its front facade is a preserved building and the rooms, pools are hidden away from the first look. If u want a hotel with 2 pools this is the place to be! Layout of room was spacious and modern (it a open shower...just in case you need privacy do book those with closed showers). The breakfast spread was diverse , not massive but enough hearty for a meal.

If you want R &R, get a cabana (or Sala) next to the pool and chill, order a passion fruit mojito and you will feel the bliss of lounging at the pool. If you need to work on yr laptop, the hotel has wonderful WIFI connection and power sockets even outdoor at the cabana! If you want Khmer food, its not on the pool side menu, pls ask the hotel staff and they will give recommendations and prep it in the main kitchen...the Fish Amok is pretty amazing...

Location is great, near to royal palace, street 178 and riverfront. Only mini spoiler...while checking out..there was numerous charges for local and overseas calls...I would assume a hotel shld do check before blindly billing customers, so pls check yr bill at check out. Nonetheless would high recommend this place, I would stay here again if I am in PNH.

Room Tip: Get one facing the pool! its worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raratraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    511
    100
    18
    12
See reviews for
250
731
169
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for the Royal Palace and other places of interest. Coming off the street you immediately get a feeling of calm as the entrance area is made up of a large pond. The buildings have been brilliantly converted, preserving the original feel of the 1930s building and using the later buildings well. The pool is warm, well planted with tropical foliage and surrounded by cabanas. A large number of the rooms have balconies overlooking the pool. Breakfast is served in a largely open air restaurant next to the pool. A big choice is offered at breakfast catering for western and Asian tastes. We also had a light lunch poolside which was fresh and good value. We had one twin and one double room. Both were light and airy and well equipped with a wet room style shower. Beds were comfortable and a fruit plate and bottled water complimentary. Our room did not overlook the pool and had a small private terrace. We were not disturbed by any noise.

Room Tip: Choose between a room overlooking the pool which might be sunnier or one with a private terrace away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

On first impressions, this is a great hotel: amazing service, design, food and drinks. The problem was with my room (2103). Outside the room, there's an old air conditioning unit which rattles and sounds like a car engine. Not conducive to sleeping in a hotel which is positioned as an oasis of calm amid the bustle of Phnom Penh. When I asked to move after finally having enough at 630am, they instantly agreed to move me the next night, so pretty evident that the management know this noise is a problem but refuse to do anything about it.

Room Tip: Request a room facing inwards to avoid aircon noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCHK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest, I am very sorry the airconditioning was noisy. All ariconds are two years old, from Panasolnic, all of them are inverters and should be silent. I will get that one checked. Cheers, Alexis (Plantation co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the pleasure to be upgraded to the penthouse suite. The suite is very spacious and equipped with all gadgets you would expect and more. We had some parts that needed attention in the suite, but must say that the management reacted promptly and fixed and/ or repaired everything. All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Staff is very friendly and restaurant is also very good for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coenen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I always try to stay at boutique hotels when I travel, be it for business or pleasure for the personalized touch and the unique experience. Although I was initially a bit unsure of the Plantation as it was rated No 9 on tripadvisor, and a 9 in Phnom Penh is not a 9 in Europe.
I can now safely say that the plantation is a gem of a place in Phnom Penh and closer to a number 1 if you are looking for a place with real charm and character. If you are for total luxury then this is not the hotel for you.

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights to attend the World Heritage Committee meeting taking place in the city. After a long day, it was always a pleasure to head back to the hotel and relax at its colonial reception or its leafy tropical poolside bar.

In the mornings, I would do a 30min swim session in its stunning pool to start the day refreshed.

Definitely, choose a pool view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor in the deluxe category.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and they organized a day trip with flights and all to Seim Reap to visit the temples.

Also, the restaurant at the terrace was delightful and worth a try after a long day out.
Really wanted to try the spa but never managed to go.

Location is convenient for most city sites, walking distance to the riverside, the cool street of 240, the museum and royal palace.

Just 2 points

* Breakfast was good with some variety, however more fresh fruit juices need to be available at breakfast and throughout the day. For a country with abundant fruits there should be no need to use any canned juices. Also, there was never any fresh coconut available at the hotel although it was piled up everywhere in the city.

I am quite the fruitarian so I expected to be spoilt in the far east.

Also bath towels are in need of an upgrade.

Lizards are part the territory so enjoy them mulling around as they are quite friendly :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank halsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been in budgetwise equal boutique hotels in another similar cities like Hanoi and Saigon and there is no way to compare the luxury to enjoy a downtown urban resort like The Plantation in Phnom Pehn. The rooms are clean and spacious with powerful airconditioning and wifi signal and the bed is big and confortable.
Breakfast is offering a consistently good offer of food besides the swimming pool, a place where you can forget being in the middle of downtown.
Staff is really kind and efficient always willing to help you.
While in the hotel, they arranged a car for us to visit Phnom Chisor temple, Black Lady temple and Ta Phrom temple out of the city. I strongly recommend you not to miss it, if you have been in Siem Reap it would bring you similar memories and if you haven't this is a good "snack" to give you a hint about.
Some minors problems I saw that the hotel can improve but still deserving in my view the 5 rating: Few tiny ants reaching the plate of food in the room and bed linen getting old that needed replacement asap.
Definitively a place I will book again if back to Phnom Pehn !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice hotel, good location (very near to shops, restaurants, major attractions), good size room and bathroom, however the bed (which was comfortable) sits on a stone platform some 30/35 cms above the floor. The easiest way into the bed is from the end rather than from the sides. At night, when sleeping if you need to go to the bathroom, you better remember that you are not at floor level and must be careful not to trip and fall because of the 2 level set up. The night tables, lamps and fan control are not within reach once you are in bed. You need to get out of bed to turn them on/off. The bedroom set up is good example of "design and originality" prevailing over comfort and practicality.
The hotel provided a complementary small plate with fruit which was replenished daily.
Good selection of international channel and good WiFI connection in the room. There is a goo size safe and big flat screen TV in room too
Breakfast buffet was good with Western and Asian choices.
The staff in the hotel was a mixed bag. some attentive and helpful, others showing straight faces not even offering a greeting or a smile.
Overall a good hotel, however because of the two levels bedroom set up I am not sure I would stay there again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adm496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing