We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation - urban resort & spa
Nearby Hotels
$207
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Kabiki(Phnom Penh)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TeaHouse(Phnom Penh)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Lime(Phnom Penh)
$40
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$30
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveler rating
1,281
573
113
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,281
573
113
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palacean oasispool areaupstairs restaurantday bedtuk tukbeautiful poolbreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelthe hustle and bustlenational museumbusy citythe riveregg stationcentral locationkilling fieldssiem reap
Filter
Updating list...
1,272 - 1,277 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the pleasure to be upgraded to the penthouse suite. The suite is very spacious and equipped with all gadgets you would expect and more. We had some parts that needed attention in the suite, but must say that the management reacted promptly and fixed and/ or repaired everything. All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Staff is very friendly and restaurant is also very good for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I always try to stay at boutique hotels when I travel, be it for business or pleasure for the personalized touch and the unique experience. Although I was initially a bit unsure of the Plantation as it was rated No 9 on tripadvisor, and a 9 in Phnom Penh is not a 9 in Europe.
I can now safely say that the plantation is a gem of a place in Phnom Penh and closer to a number 1 if you are looking for a place with real charm and character. If you are for total luxury then this is not the hotel for you.

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights to attend the World Heritage Committee meeting taking place in the city. After a long day, it was always a pleasure to head back to the hotel and relax at its colonial reception or its leafy tropical poolside bar.

In the mornings, I would do a 30min swim session in its stunning pool to start the day refreshed.

Definitely, choose a pool view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor in the deluxe category.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and they organized a day trip with flights and all to Seim Reap to visit the temples.

Also, the restaurant at the terrace was delightful and worth a try after a long day out.
Really wanted to try the spa but never managed to go.

Location is convenient for most city sites, walking distance to the riverside, the cool street of 240, the museum and royal palace.

Just 2 points

* Breakfast was good with some variety, however more fresh fruit juices need to be available at breakfast and throughout the day. For a country with abundant fruits there should be no need to use any canned juices. Also, there was never any fresh coconut available at the hotel although it was piled up everywhere in the city.

I am quite the fruitarian so I expected to be spoilt in the far east.

Also bath towels are in need of an upgrade.

Lizards are part the territory so enjoy them mulling around as they are quite friendly :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank halsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been in budgetwise equal boutique hotels in another similar cities like Hanoi and Saigon and there is no way to compare the luxury to enjoy a downtown urban resort like The Plantation in Phnom Pehn. The rooms are clean and spacious with powerful airconditioning and wifi signal and the bed is big and confortable.
Breakfast is offering a consistently good offer of food besides the swimming pool, a place where you can forget being in the middle of downtown.
Staff is really kind and efficient always willing to help you.
While in the hotel, they arranged a car for us to visit Phnom Chisor temple, Black Lady temple and Ta Phrom temple out of the city. I strongly recommend you not to miss it, if you have been in Siem Reap it would bring you similar memories and if you haven't this is a good "snack" to give you a hint about.
Some minors problems I saw that the hotel can improve but still deserving in my view the 5 rating: Few tiny ants reaching the plate of food in the room and bed linen getting old that needed replacement asap.
Definitively a place I will book again if back to Phnom Pehn !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice hotel, good location (very near to shops, restaurants, major attractions), good size room and bathroom, however the bed (which was comfortable) sits on a stone platform some 30/35 cms above the floor. The easiest way into the bed is from the end rather than from the sides. At night, when sleeping if you need to go to the bathroom, you better remember that you are not at floor level and must be careful not to trip and fall because of the 2 level set up. The night tables, lamps and fan control are not within reach once you are in bed. You need to get out of bed to turn them on/off. The bedroom set up is good example of "design and originality" prevailing over comfort and practicality.
The hotel provided a complementary small plate with fruit which was replenished daily.
Good selection of international channel and good WiFI connection in the room. There is a goo size safe and big flat screen TV in room too
Breakfast buffet was good with Western and Asian choices.
The staff in the hotel was a mixed bag. some attentive and helpful, others showing straight faces not even offering a greeting or a smile.
Overall a good hotel, however because of the two levels bedroom set up I am not sure I would stay there again,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adm496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

pp is a pretty intense place, and staying at the plantation can help your psyche handle that, with it's lovely pool area and relaxing, tastefully appointed rooms. we had a nice, 2-night stay at the end of june. i would certainly stay here again.
i do agree with other reviewers, though, that more vegetarian fare on their menu would have been nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews