We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Ranked #14 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Plantation Hotel in Phnom, Penh and are very glad we did. The staff were helpful and attentive, eager to do what they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. We were able to arrange pick up from the airport which took the stress out of trying to find a taxi. Check in was easy and they were accommodating when we asked to delay check out by one hour. The hotel is located near the Royal Palace and you can arrange for city tours or a spa package through the reception desk. The breakfast buffet was included with our room and had good quality food to choose from. Overall we were very happy with our stay here and would recommend this hotel to future travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wattage85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
There are newer reviews for The Plantation - urban resort & spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Phnom Penh but stayed at this hotel for the first time.
I was delighted with the design of the hotel and the ambience. Lots of green plants/trees within the hotel specially around the pool area make for a wonderful natural environment.
The rooms are spacious and immaculately kept. I stayed in a pool-facing room and loved it.
what was spectacular, was the quality of service. This is one of those relatively few hotels where I sensed the smiles were deeply felt and the hotel staff was more than willing to go to great lengths to meet guest needs. When I arrived I found I had a defective AC charger from my laptop. I went online a found a place that did have the accessory I wanted in stock but it was some distance away and I was tired. Front office staff offered to get it for me without hesitation and within the next hour I was up and running with a brand new adapter.
The breakfast was sumptuous and offered a wide spread.
The Plantation will certainly see me again!

Room Tip: I'm partial to pool facing rooms, but the view, because of the greenery around the pool, made it...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaypatzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A peaceful oasis in an otherwise dirty city . The rooms are simple but are clean and are just fine. The balcony we had on the first floor just looked at a wall - small space but they put some bamboo out there to dress it up. The breakfast was great with lots of selection. The pool was the best part of this hotel ! So nice , especially the private loungers with steps right into the pool. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Very helpful with arranging taxis for our tours. Good location too. You can hear everything in the hallway from your room , not very soundproof.Our stay was marred only by an unfortunate incident on our last day - my husband had a significant amount of money stolen from his backpack which he had left unattended for under a minute at the lobby while we were waiting for our taxi to the airport. The bell boy went to get our bags since we had had them in storage. The bell boy came back and said our bags were ready so we went into the next room which is still in the lobby . He pointed to our bags , but they were not our bags so he went to exchange them and we went back in the lobby . This was the only time our bag was unattended ( yes our bad - we know , never leave your bag! ) but it was seriously less than a minute and basically in the same room with an open door way. The bellboy came right into the lobby the next time with our bags and took them outside to the taxi and we were off to the airport .The thing is, is that it had to be someone who had watched my husband while he was paying our bill at checkout which was 2 hours beforehand.( His bag was NOT unattended at all during checkout) Only someone who had seen where he had put money in the backpack would know and be able to get it that fast. Zippered pocket in a zippered travel wallet in a zippered backpack. And only our US money and Thai money was taken - they were in separate areas too. Unfortunately we did not realize this until we arrived in Veitnam and had to pay for our visas and had no US money. My husband emailed the manager as soon as we arrived at our hotel. The response was quick and sympathetic but unfortunately they do not have cameras in that part of the lobby. We were offered a couple free nights stay for our troubles. We really appreciated his timely response. We feel something happened when we were distracted ( accidently on purpose ?) with our other bags -we hate to make these accusations but just be careful with your things. This was a wake up call - we are usually so careful but obviously things can still happen when you are only 10 ft away . Besides this incident we had a great relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaLa0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation - urban resort & spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Lala,

Many thanks for this very kind review and very sorry about the stolen money.

The bags were left on the orange seats in front of the three receptionists. Those are is not covered by the camera, but we can clearly see all three receptionists at their desk at the time. It would have been quite difficult for someone to open a bag right in front of them. To me it could have happened in the room before you took the luggage out or on the way to Vietnam. Unfortunately we will never know....

Hope you had a great time in Cambodia and that you so much for supporting us so strongly with your review despite this incident!

Cheers,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really lovely hotel - rooms are a little basic but clean and nice.
Pool area is great, with a really nice lounge area. Perfect for chilling - a real oasis especially after a day's sightseeing.
Breakfast is simple but good - beautiful location by the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baselgirl_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We traveled in Cambodia and Laos for 3 weeks and the beds at The Plantation was the best-not rock hard like all the others! The pool is great and so is the breakfast. Beautifully designed and tranquil hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not the cheapest place to stay in this town full of options but definitely worth every penny. Large well decorated room, spotlessly clean, amazing pool with little private gazebo's and complimentary fruit and juices bought to you by the pool every so often. Great breakfast selection, speedy free wifi and friendly staff. Couldn't rate it higher! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This has to be one of the most well done hotels I have ever stayed at. It was so lovely and calm in the middle of what is a very busy, crowded city. The rooms are terrific and everything worked just as it should (not something to take for granted when traveling around SE Asia). The pool was also magnificent and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was above and beyond a normal complimentary buffet. One of the things I appreciated most was a list in each room of the "maximum tuk tuk prices" to popular destinations around Phnom Penh. It was reasonable and a huge help negotiating - many other hotels I have stayed at in the region are no help at all when trying to get a fair price as a tourist. Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor - these rooms exit right onto the pool area, but are still quie...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,646 reviews
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 270 in Phnom Penh
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation - urban resort & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation - urban resort & spa

Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $79 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation - urban resort & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Plantation - urban resort & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing