We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and calm oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and calm oasis”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff is very commited to their job and eager to make your stay absolutely great
Great location for seeing PP. Although in a very city center (which is very noisy) the hotel seems to be real oasis.
The room is very comfortable. We appreciate complimentary water and fruits supplied everyday.

Disadvantage is the AC which hardly works and the fridge which is not really a fridge.
If you book the cheapest room do not expect nice view. These are back - rooms with view on garbage bins.

I totally recommend SPA in the hotel. Khmer massage is absolutely awesome:)

Room Tip: If you book the cheapest room do not expect nice view. These are mostly back - rooms with view on ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many many thanks for this very kind review! We are currently working with the neighbors to try and sort out the view problem. Cheers, Alexis (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    516
    100
    18
    12
See reviews for
256
747
170
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our first visit to Cambodia and this place was definitely a little oasis. On arrival we were informed that the room we had booked and had been confirmed 4 months earlier was not available. This was a four night stay and we were transferred to the correct room for the following 3 nights. The original room given to us was a standard room with a balcony (using the term loosely). The balcony had two chairs which could not be accessed due to the width and overhung and overlooked what can only be described as the back of a shanty town. Room originally booked was quite the opposite, so would recommend anyone booking to ask for a deluxe poolside room. We must comment that the staff on our first evening gave us a complimentary evening meal to compensate for the inconvenience. Staff in the poolside breakfast area were excellent and we would definitely stay again if we visited Phonm Penh

Room Tip: Insist on a deluxe poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our first accomodation for our first time in PP was at The Plantation. In what became something of a regular occurence with hotels in Cambodia, we weren't given the style/location of room we'd actually booked (and had confirmed) online. No explanation or apology offered, that's just how it was - seems to be the way of things over there. But not to worry, the upshot was that instead of literally falling out of our room into a poolside cabana, we had to walk for all of about 45 seconds to get there!

The room were very nicely appointed, great water pressure in the shower (always gets a huge tick from me, considering how inconsistent it can be some places). We kinda caught them on the hop a little when we arrived, so the room was only half set up - I think the concept of three adults in one room was a little more than they could cope with to begin with, so there was initially two of everything, then three of some things but not others... eventually we had three of everything we needed, including three towels and three complimentary bottled waters for the last two days. That's all I was interested in - I could do without the slippers and the bath robe and the coffee cup, as long as I had bottled water and a towel!

The main bar/restaurant is poolside at the eastern end of the complex, while the northern and southern sides of the pool are flanked by fabulous little cabanas, complete with low tables and soft body-length cushions - perfect for shady respite and a cool off in the fantastic pool after a hard day's adventuring around steamy PP!

The room rates and bar prices are excellent, not just in terms of the overall facility, but the general feel of high class and quality. It's also completely silent in there. Other than the sound of kids playing in the school yard next door during the day, you wouldn't even know you were in Phnom Penh once inside the pool enclosure - no traffic noise, no tuk tuk horns tooting, no unpleasant street smells, just a beautiful sense of calm and serenity. Cheap beers at the pool bar are a bonus, the included breakfast offers a pretty goo variety of western and Khmer options and the food from the upstairs restaurant at the front of the complex is absolutely stunning.

First time travellers to Cambodia should go armed with the knowledge that 'tourism' as a concept has only really taken off in the country over the last 8 or so years. To a very great extent, they're still feeling their way in terms of really basic service-related stuff - frequently you'll wait longer than might be expected at home to be served or to have your order brought to you; there are sometimes language barriers (which can sometimesbe hilarious!); sometimes they mess things up a little and sometimes what you get mightn't be exactly what you expected, or what you thought you'd asked for. If you go to Cambodia on the pretext that you're not at home and you don't expect *anything* to be as it is at home, you'll be perfectly fine. Having said all of that, the service at The Plantation was one of the highest standards of service I saw anywhere in the country. Relatively quick and attentive, bordering on painfully poite and deferential at every possible opportunity and communication was rarely a concern.

The Plantation is on Street 184, just off Boulevard Preah Norodom in the north east of PP-proper. The beginning of the Royal Palace compound is literally on the next corner and it's only a 10-15 minute slow walk in 35 degree heat to get around to the front entrance, if you're so inclined. The Plantation's also only only two blocks back from Sisowath Quay, which runs along the riverfront with all its restaurants, bars and retail stores. Further along Sisowath Quay in both diections, a whole world of options is waiting for you, including shopping centres, more restaurants and cafes and bars than you can poke a stick at, the Nagaworld Casino complex, What Phnom, both the Central and Russian Markets, the Independence Monument, the Tourist Boat Cruise dock.., the list of options is almost endless. The Plantation really is in a perfect location.

If it's a little luxury at stupidly inexpensive prices (by Western standards) and the comforts of home right in the middle of Phnom Penh, The Plantation should be on your list of accommodation options. I could barely fault the place.

Awesome way to start our monthy-long Cambodian adventure.

Room Tip: If you want a poolside room (and can actually get one!) I'd try for it, but any ground-floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank md3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed one night but found the service to be first class and the upper storey room to be spacious and clean. The pool was delightful for a swim and the pool bar staff were friendly and available without being pushy. The hotel is situated very close to the Royal Palace which was ideal as we were pressed for time on this visit. Breakfast was very good and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good location in the middle of Phnom Penh. Great plantation atmosphere. Can highly recommend the food there. Rooms are nice with open bathrooms. They have a fitness room, but if fitness is a priority, you should probably chose a different place as their equipment is not best standard. Service is good and price very reasonable.

Room Tip: They charge extra for the garden view rooms. If the view is a concern then garden rooms is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiskyT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a bit of a mix up on our arrival with the room allocation however it was sorted out and we were given an upgrade to a very nice room.
Our daughter was staying at the same hotel on a business trip,they gave us the room next door to her.Both the rooms were quite large and very comfortable with a king size bed a large screen TV plus all of the normal amenities.
The pool was kept very clean and was just a nice place to relax around with a coffee or a drink,also each afternoon the staff would bring to you some fresh fruit for the guests and each day fresh fruit was put in your room.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for you.
As for the buffet breakfast it was the greatest with full service by the amazing staff members with a special thank you to the two young sisters working there.
A massage is a must just to ad to your relaxation at this great hotel,the cost $15 to $20 US.
This hotel is a great place to stay in Phnom Penh. Rob and Yvonne from down under.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed stay but frustated by manner of advising that reserved room type/ position was not available on first night.
Seemed common occurence during stay. Breakfast very good and pool view upper rooms best value for money and most expensive.
Research before travel advised.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyChapx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing