We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Stylish, clean, warm & friendly - we loved it!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Stylish, clean, warm & friendly - we loved it!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had never been to Cambodia, & were recommended this stylish little pad in a great location! First stayed 2 nights in a well appointed comfortable room - overlooking the pool. The decor is attractive and the staff are fantastic - we got to know them well as we returned for 3 nights late October. It's great to see something developing , and this is in a beaut spot - close to everything by tuk tuk! We ate well, swam and had any issues attended to immediately if there were any hiccups! Would recommend to friends and would certainly return to this little affordable oasis is the hum of Phnom Penh!! Thanks!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the room configuration right when booking, sometimes the description does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    505
    99
    17
    11
See reviews for
249
716
165
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Your immediate neighborhood also deserves attention for maintaining cleanliness and environment. Nearby shops, workshops etc should also be encouraged to be clean. If need be you may offer a helping hand.

Room Tip: Find higher floors with less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhruba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. Very elegant and clean. The rooms are tasteful and spacious. Very modern with a classic chic. The spa is simply amazing. There are cheaper places around but why would anyone want to stay anywhere else? The royal palace is so close but if using your 2 feet is not your thing just take a tuk tuk for $2. I highly recommend this sumptuous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Plantation deserves the praises heaped upon it. Just love the turquoise-hues of the pool and the comfy cabanas/deck chairs around it. Ms Po in the hotel's Spa gives a delectablel massage! Ate dinner at its restaurant and the food was very good!
The rooms around the pool go for 100USD a night and the rooms without the pool view can be as low as 65USD a night-go for the rooms without the view and stay a few more nights longer! They all come with a buffet breakfast, again you would love the breakfast at the pool cafe.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool go for 100USD a night and the rooms without the pool view can be as low as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88takeiteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My partner and I just spent 3 nights at The Plantation and we both can't wait to go back!

This was our first trip to Phnom Penh and didn't know what to expect, but we knew within the first 2 mins of arriving at The Plantation that we had got the accommodation part right!

The hotel is surrounded by lushes greenery and it looks like you're on the set of a Mad Men episode. Our room was big and clean, and decorated with minimal objects but appropriate. We also had a balcony that faced the pool area (highly recommended).

Buffet breakfast is small but everything on the table was nice and edible (not the case with most buffet breakfasts), and is served by the pool area so you couldn't ask for a better backdrop for breakfast.

The pool is superb and the greatest part about it is that it's never busy and you can always grab a poolside lounge chair or one of the cabana's.

We didn't eat lunch/dinner at the hotel but we could see and smell the food that was coming out of the kitchen and it looked delicious. We did however have a drink at the rooftop bar/restaurant and highly recommend it for pre-dinner/drinks.

A special mention needs to be made about the staff. They always had a smile on their faces and went about their business in a professional manner.

We had a problem with our water pressure and toilet and it was attended to immediately with zero fuss.

I understand things do inevitably go wrong but it's how it's handled is what matters most. One thing I can certainly say is the staff at The Plantation are some of the best hospitality staff I have ever experienced.

The location couldn't be better! It was close enough to the river/royal palace (walking distance) but far enough to avoid the noise and chaos.

All in all, a great hotel and we can't wait to return.

P.S. If you get a chance, try out their 60 min full body aromatherapy massage at their spa centre.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool area and bar (2nd or 3rd level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hung_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just stayed one night here before meeting friends in Phnom Penh and expected something special. My first room had small insects running around, was in a sort of basement area and the room card electricity slot wasnt working properly. I asked to be moved, but was made to feel a nuisance, and was told I had only booked a superior room. I had to pay extra for another room just around the corner. At least this one looked out onto the greenery around the pool, but it still felt damp. The breakfast around the pool was the highlight of my stay and this was excellent, but I would never go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllesmereP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Met a vast array of people from different backgrounds and cultures who were willing to be friendly around the pool.
The poolside cafe and bar has wonderful food and is very relaxing and the restaurant on the 1st floor has superb food.
Our room had a poolside view with a great shower (hot) and an extremely clean comfortable bed. The TV had an array of stations and the overhead fan was perfect. staff were very kind and helpful to us.I liked the fact you could tip the staff at the end of your stay at the reception desk then everyonoe gets a bit which is great as they were all so happy kind welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: choose the pool view rooms on upper levels as you might find the foliage on the ground floor can hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing