We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We probably got the ugly room in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We probably got the ugly room in a nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful reception with a big fountain sorounded by plants (same as shown in pictures). Long walking distance to our room because it was the very last at the end of several corridors. About the room, pros: sapacious // cons: didn't like the distribution of the "bathroom" with the lavatory in the room and a shower without door, very modern but not as practical; the front of the room was a wall to wall and roof to floor window wich served as well as room´s entrance, it felt like being inside a shop exhibitor, although covered with blackout curtains, it didn´t trasmitted a sensation of privacy.
Brakfast; standard.
Pool & suroundings: beautiful and long pool, with comfortable and trendy sofas.
Summary: The hotel seemed nice but probably we got the ugly room.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    511
    100
    18
    12
See reviews for
251
732
169
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ive read this before...but i do feel its very true...i shouldnt be called Plantation Hotel...but should be the Oasis - because soon as you enter the swimming pool area, its very quiet & relaxing!
Loved the room....friendly staff...& breakfast was fab..with a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel itself has a very relaxing atmosphere, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa was fantastic, and guests get a 30% voucher for the first hour. We had drinks by the pool, which was quite relaxing...and dinner at the restaurant which was delicious. The rooms were spacious and clean, although the bathroom could have used a makeover. Overall our stay was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Booking this resort at the last day after long hours research for place to stay in Phnom Penh, i chose this bc they have a nice swimming pool (but i couldn't find time to try it). The first impression is that no bell boy at the front door and i have to ask bar staffs to find the reception but after that, every things went in opposite direction, the staffs are extremely friendly, helpful and well trained. They speak really good English. The room was nice, lovely and decored by tropical colors on pillow like green or orange. At that time, my safety box didn't work so i call the hotel and within 3mins, a staff come and fix it. This was low season in Cambodia but i found that the resort was full of guests and i think the staffs did great job to keep us satisfied. The breakfast was lack of Khmer choices but that Western choice were enough and tasty. I really like their juices and yogurt. I did try Spa service and even though my therapist couldn't speak good English, she did a great neck & back massage for me at $15/45min. The location is just behind the Royal Palace so just feel mins walk, you will reach the river front with many great restaurants and bars. If i visited Phnom Penh next time & still cann't afford for Raffel lol, i will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner and I spent 6 nights at The Plantation and absolutely loved it! I never expect an hotel to look better than the photos but this one did. Loved it from the time I walked through the entrance, to the time I left. The room was great, breakfast and the breakfast area was wonderful. The pool was fantastic and the cabanas a wonderful treat. The staff were so helpful and so friendly. We slept wonderfully as the mattress wasn't too hard. I could go on and on about how great this hotel is, it's the best I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: I would upgrade from the cheapest room so you have a balcony overlooking the pool. The cheaper rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandgroper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great hotel, great location. Excellent rooms, value, staff, restaurant, bar and pool with some really nice personal touches.

Lunch at the poolside was excellent and really good value for money for a city centre hotel.

Service was excellent and had a really enjoyable stay. Will come back!

Room Tip: Pool view room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just stayed for 2 weeks at the Plantation in Sep 2012. I had decided to book a Deluxe Double Pool view room, and it was the right choice. The room on the top floor overlooking the swimming pool gave a sense of tranquil and quiet. I did not suffer any of the noise mentioned by other reviewers. This hotel is indeed “an oasis” in the middle of a very noisy city. I could just feel the stress from the chaotic traffic slip off as I step into the hotel.
The room is spacious, made more so by the open concept layout. Many reviewers have commented that you get less privacy if you are sharing the room. On the plus side, the shower, toilet and wash basin can be used concurrently by different people as they are located separately. Hot water was plentiful, even in the morning. The door lacks a dead bolt. Bring a door stopper or just push the chair against the door if you feel insecure.
I appreciate the fresh fruits that were delivered to the room every day. The room safe was handy. Even though I had to ask for help on 3 occasions to reset the codes (my fault that I did not set/reset it correctly), the staff always responded promptly and cheerfully. In fact, during my entire stay, I was always met with warm smiles and cheerful greetings. From the guys who man the main entrance and lobby, to the staff who run the breakfast area, especially Ms Kimlin. The staff of this hotel made my stay extra special.
One thing I would have liked is that the bedsheets be changed more often. I am quite sure that the sheets were not changed the entire second week. Also, the sheets and some of the towels came with stains. I trust they were washed, but I would have preferred if they looked cleaner.
For a restful stay in a hotel that is both modern and cozy, I will definitely choose the Plantation. Its central location offers convenience to a number of good eateries, all within walking distance. For a boutique hotel, it is not too small that facilities are limited, but not too big that it gets impersonal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool view rooms cost more but offer better view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitfireSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing