We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so well looked after here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We were so well looked after here”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Adi and his team are doing a great job with this new hotel. Piseth at reception was very helpful and I had a lot of email correspondence with them both before arrival - they were fabulous and our stay was wonderful.

I love the design, I like the simple rooms, I love the pool. It has its odd things that will settle down with time and training. The level of English generally is quite low and the breakfast lady was a touch grouchy and unwelcoming but otherwise all was great.

Beds very comfortable. Quiet and peaceful. Will stay there again for sure. Great for bigger groups as there are lots of rooms - they are pretty busy which goes to show that there was a need for a bigger 'boutique' hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have access to....the pool. Plus a little sitting area in lush greenery. Poolview the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiAuCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    516
    100
    18
    12
See reviews for
253
741
170
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Excellent location and pool is lovely.Should be even better when all the ongoing developement is completed. Minor issues with the room; ours didn't have any hanging space for clothes. There was a small metal rack standing on one of the tops which, as we were leaving one, of the staff mentioned should have had some legs put on it to make it into a hangong rail.Don't know why a hotel of this calibre would not have built something permanent into the room.
My main proplem was with the level of service around the pool. Sat here for a long time one evening and eventually had to walk up to the bar to request a menu. More waiting, back to bar to place order. Long wait for drinks. Long wait to order more drinks so back to bar to place order. Another 10-15 mins passed by and I eventually went back to bar, cancelled order and took our custom elsewhwere.
Staff at reception had to be chased 4 times to book bus tickets and I felt that some of them had difficulties understanding Enlgish. That said, all the staff were lovely and I feel that they just need better training.
I was aware from earlier reviews of some of these issues but I am suprised that they are taking so long to resolve.
I hope that they do because this hotel has the potential to be very nice.

Room Tip: Pool rooms on ground floor have a lot of vegetation around them. Best to avoid these if you have pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank comada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

very nice people, very quiete place in heart of Phnom Penh. The swimming pool is so beautiful and large. We can really enjoy swimming in a peacefull atmosphere. I recommand the massage which is also great and very professional (15 $/ 1 hour).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desuremain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Yes this is a brand new hotel, you can still smell the plaster dust from the walls! However in terms of location and atmosphere it is wonderful, you step from the chaos outside into the very zen entrance area with artworks and Lily pads floating in a massive pond. The layout has been well thought out and the pool area is unexpected, large pool with individual cabanas, fans and proximity to a low key bar area which doubles as a breakfast area in the morning. Lots of vegetation and big wide sun Loungers - the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle outside.
Despite its size, The Plantation still comes across as a boutique hotel, it was perfect for our group of 11 ladies as we were able to get 6 bedrooms in proximity of each other. The rooms are clean and functional, with splashes of colour and mosquito nets. Shower good, air con and fan, room safe. Single beds were larger than normal, if a little hard to sleep on.
All in all good value for money, great for groups and perfect for sightseeing and chilling out afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonIrish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The foundations of an excellent upper mid-range hotel are here in that the buildings, rooms, pool and garden area, and reception are lovely and the proximity of the hotel to the Royal Palace, Riverside and street 240 areas. However, I stayed during the soft-opening period in January 2012 when the well-meaning staff were still being trained, fixtures being fitted (my room had no towel rail), noisy construction work was taking place, breakfast was being sorted out (sadly, it changed from al la carte to buffet during my stay) and the spa and gym were closed. There are also some minor design flaws in that the noise insulation between rooms could be better, the shower-head favours form over function and there should be a glass door on the shower area to prevent minor floods. In time I think that, given the success of its sister hotels (the Pavillion, 240 & Blue Lime), the Plantation will find a place in TA's top 10 for Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrazzaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Plantation is a classic example of a hotel that had no business opening when it did and as a result a lot of people have suffered difficult stays. I see the owner keeps on responding to complaints saying how hard it was for him and asking for pity which is ridiculous. This is a service industry and he shouldn't be opening his hotel if it's clearly not ready.
The hotel itself is in a very good location (tucked in behind the Royal Palace and very central). It's modeling itself as a boutique hotel but in reality there are a number of rooms. However, the one I stayed in was small and not very good value. Fittings seemed poor and a number of things were missing (no leaflet with hotel amenities). Lots of noise as a result of building. Service was completely chaotic with very few people understanding what they were doing at all. Pool is a high point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Horatio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Well, there is always a day when you need to jump and open! I think we did it and the issues we had at the beginning are mostly solved.... Our branding is not boutique hotel - am not sure where this comes from - but "Urban Resort & Spa".

Cheers,

Alexis (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Absolutely love this place, comfortable (zen like), clean, and refreshing room. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Relax in their swimming pool is one way to live well. We travel often to Phnom Penh and stay in various hotels. Compare to those, The Plantation is much more refreshing and cozy. Can't wait for the next holidays break from work to visit the city again and stay at this hotel. Walk the neighborhood and feel the local vibrant lives. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Swimming pool side has great natural air flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing