We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Luxury in Phnom Penh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A piece of Luxury in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The moment you step in you know this hotel spells LUXURY.

It is such a reward if you have travelled 7 hours of bumpy ride from Siem reap to stay in this magnifique hotel to pamper ourselves. Staff are friendly, upon our check-in the upgrade for the Club for $40++ is such a bargain and worth it. The room is spacious with a beautiful view of the mekong river same as the Club lounge. The selections for high tea and evening cocktails is quite reasonable but can be better. I think they make-up on the premium spirits they have for evening cocktails.

The only downside is the food, sad to say I enjoyed the buffet spread we had on the 3/4 star hotel we stayed in siem reap better than in Sofitel. The pool was mediocre as well, not even a glimpse of luxury in it.

Overall, the distance to airport is good 30mins tuk tuk ride. The new mall next door is a plus factor. Its OK and quite few more things to improve to match all the luxury Sofitel portrays and to live with its "first impression".

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade for the Club access and a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PpLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear PpLikesToTravel,

With subtle hints of the colonial past blended with Sofitel’s ambiance we try our best to create an unforgettable escape.

I am delighted to read that our efforts come to be recognized and that the warm smiles, the aroma of freshly baked delicacies for high tea and the wide selection of evening cocktails in Club Millesime amidst our other services are pure moments of pleasure to our guests.

To constantly strive for better services, your comments are essential to us. Gastronomy is of great importance and a highlight at La Coupole Restaurant. For your next visit, please allow me to invite you to discover our 3 other outlets which have enchanted many palates up to now.

I hope to personally welcome you again at our property in the Charming City of Cambodia.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    281
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
184
467
95
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel is in a quiet location next to a brand new mall, very handy for shopping and quick snacks. Hotel itself is lovely and spacious with huge lobby area. Our bedroom was very spacious with a big comfortable Queen bed. Superb staff, friendly and helpful especially in organising tuk tuk and hotel car for us so that we could enjoy sightseeing safely and with comfort. Good buffet breakfast and also dinner in the Japanese restaurant and Chinese restaurant.
Overall very happy with the hotel, will try Sofitel in Siem Reap later.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less customers, also further from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Betty A,

I am pleased to know that your stay with us in Phnom Penh was Magnifique. Knowing that our hotel has surpassed your expectation, I am delighted to thank you for your positive remark.

In addition, hearing that you have been to our sister property in Siem Reap, I am delighted to thank you for your unlimited support to Sofitel and to us.

I look forward for your arrival on your next visit to Phnom Penh. Until then Bon voyage!

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely hotel. First class service from everyone I encountered during my stay- super friendly and hepful. Clean, spacious room, very well appointed room with really comfortable bed. Sunday Brunch at La Coupole highly recommended. Breakfast at the same restaurant was also good- other restaurants looked very nice but didn't have chance to try them- good range of options that's for sure. Good location for the sights of PP. Hotel has own transport including its own tuk-tuk for shorter journeys around town. Overall great value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_H_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Joe_H_1000,

Reading your review is delighting. While knowing you have left our hotel with a satisfied experience, I am grateful for your time to post this flattering remark and share with our readers on your pleasing stay in Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hotel is located in quite location but reasonably close to all.
Hotel is built in a free standing big block of land which is immaculate condition inside & outside. Hotel room is always excellent, tidy & clean as always, toiletries supplies always available.
Buffet food service is excellent , mixture of various culinary cuisine and always fresh, which is more than sufficient & up our ally. Hot beverage during breast fast as quite often we get lukewarm in so many other places we dined.
Staff members very respectful, friendly helpful and that big smile on their faces at all times and most all the service is above & beyond. One particular staff is Frances Ann Bastillada who she never gave up in assisting us in professional manner. We must tell you this, we had our Seafood buffet dinner which was perfectly cooked / bbq by Indian chef kishan Singh & to top it all up best & completely excellent dinner with the band rendering a very good music.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Anita O,

I am more than happy to see your lovely compliment on our hotel. I will personally pass this message to my team, especially Frances & Kishan to thank them for their effort in making your dinner tailor-made and served from the heart.

It’s a shame that we couldn’t get you to try our new menu in Fu Lu Zu before you leave Phnom Penh. Yet I am looking forward to welcoming you again next year for your “once a year piece of luxury” trip. Until then, have a safe flight.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and very good staff. The service is also good. Beautiful building. Pleasant atmosphere. New hotel next to brand new mall. The first mall in Cambodia, 95% Azian people. Mall has big foodcourt. Very clean.
Nice and big swimmingpool in hotel. Excellent breakfast, lots of choice. For people who want the best.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Loes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Loes R,

I thank you for your lovely compliment! Customers’ compliments are the best moral support for us to make the extra miles for our valued guests. As mentioned, surely you have enjoyed your walk in Aeon, revealing in the Cineplex and bowling.

It’s a shame that we missed you for the new Fu Lu Zu menu, which is just started in August. I hope you have the chance to try the new 42 dishes we have in Fu Lu Zu during your next visit in Phnom Penh. We look forward to warmly welcome you again in the City of Smile.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

A lovely spacious hotel with colonial charm. Wonderful staff, friendly and helpful. 2 lovely outdoor pools. My room was upgraded for free to one with a balcony. Room massive, high ceiling, bath and separate shower in a sort of wet-room. Well appointed room overall. Only negative, food was on the expensive side but it was good quality. An amazing buffet breakfast provided. Hotel next to new shopping mall, Aeon. A bit of a long walk to Palace. Not much around hotel, but this may be typical in Phnom Penh. I recommend the Sofitel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieeballantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Julieeballantyne,

Thank you for your recommendation to our readers. Our Luxury room has all the amenities and facilities inbuilt to cater to all our valued customers’ needs without uttering a word.

If the Palace is abit of a walk for you, hopping on a tuk tuk can be experiencing and comfortable for you to travel around Phnom Penh, which is very convenient with attractions around the corner. Should you travel to Phnom Penh again, I hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,914 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#29 of 267 in Phnom Penh
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing