We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it, unless the company is paying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #6 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stay in hotels all over Phnom Penh and the world. Yes, the Sofitel is one of the best hotels in PP, but is it worth an extra $150 over other hotels? Probably not from my experience. The gardens still have a way to grow so the pool is in the blistering sun - not great for kids. They only had one type of non-supportive pillow in the room which was uncomfortable (I usually travel wit my own, so I'm a bit precious with pillows). Need to catch a tuk tuk everywhere. I think this hotel will be awesome in 5 years time once the new shopping centre opens and the garden is more established. Until then I'll stay at the boutique 4.5 star hotels around town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazzam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and feedback. I do regret to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Certainly the gardens on our premises still have some growing to do until perfect and indeed the nearby area will be more attractive once the shopping is completed. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by this during your visit, and I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us at a later point in time. With regards to the pillows in the room, in fact we do have a pillow menu, where our guests have the ability chose whatever support they need. Please do remind us of this for your next stay and we would be happy to provide you whatever you desire. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good hotel, food was great! Pool a bit dirty due to construction next door. My finger got a cut due to pool tiles a bit sharp. The pool area is a bit dark and floor can be slippery. Room ceiling got cobweb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTY555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear that your had a good stay our restaurant facilities. I will make sure to review the cleanliness issues that you mention with the team. Thank you again for the feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel Phnom Penh for three nights as part of a ten day trip to Cambodia. The hotel is smart, beautiful and immaculate. The staff kind and welcoming. Restaurant manager Flurin was particularly helpful and provided us with personal contacts ahead of our trip to Siem Reap. The in-house restaurants were all excellent, and good value for money. The main pool area could get busy at times, so the second pool near the gym was a great find. The highlight of our stay was the Sunday champagne brunch - five star buffet and unlimited Billecarte-Salmon champagne for a bargain price. We stayed at Raffles Phnom Penh for the second part of our stay and found it much stuffier and markedly more expensive. In fact, we opted to make the trip across town from Raffles back to the Sofitel on our last Sunday just to do the brunch again. Great experience, great hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side next to the building construction and didn't find it a problem at all.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Sofitel Phnom Penh. I am very glad to hear that you had such a positive experience at the hotel. I’m particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed dining & drinking in all our restaurants. To the fact that you made it all your way across town from the Raffles to join our Sunday Brunch for a SECOND time I can only say: Wow! That is an amazing point of recognition to the culinary and service team in La Coupole. I will make sure your kind words are passed on to them. Thank you again for the feedback, we would all love to welcome you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh one day.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had 2 stays at Sofitel during January and February. Service was exceptional. We were greeted with lemongrass scented cold cloths and iced lemongrass tea on arrival. The room was clean and tidy and the corridors also smelt of lemongrass. Very refreshing after 3 weeks in regional Cambodia! Spent some time by the pool which was clean and lovely to swim in. Breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice of food with something for everyone from rice to waffles. We also ate at the Italian restaurant which was very good, although I thought a little overpriced.
Although the hotel is not right in the thick of it all it is only a short tuk tuk ride away and we met some very friendly tuk tuk drivers who were always waiting at the bottom of the driveway.
My only complaint is the terrible music that is played poolside. The best of Richard Clayderman (I think?) on repeat was a bit much! However that aside I would recommend if you want a 5 star experience with great service and the cleansing scent of lemongrass.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Pisces_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stays at the Sofitel Phnom Penh in January and February. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the lemon grass scent throughout the hotel. I am also happy to hear that liked both dining & drinking at the hotel. Regarding the music, at the poolside, I do appreciate your feedback and will make sure something else is played during your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel after a wonderful 11 day tour of Cambodia. I cant agree with the previous reviews as we had a WONDERFUL stay. The room was lovely, the food great but the best asset at this hotel is the staff. We did not find one that wasn't excellent!!!Nothing was a trouble at all. If i could make one suggestion , I think that the Hotel could introduce a more Khmer feel, with local backgroud music etc.

As we had stayed in the country , in a variety of accommodation styles, I feel the detractors should look around them and be grateful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Phnom Penh and very proud of the team after hearing your great feedback about our hotel ambassadors. Such feedback is certainly what makes all our hard work worthwhile and is a source of encouragement and motivation for everyone. I would also like to thank you for your interesting remarks regarding the interior and ambiance of the hotel; it will definitely be taken into consideration. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin163521
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Was so disapointed with is supposed 5 star hotel. Room rates are expensive and so is everything else on top. This was such low value for money as breakfast wasn't included, the rooms and amenities are what you'd expect from a lower value hotel. They put slippers out at night next to the bed which were well worn and dirty, it was so disgusting I didn't even want to touch them to move away from the bed.

We booked and paid direct online with the hotel for two adults and one child, however once we arrived they told us we had to pay another US $35 per night extra plus taxes for the child! We wanted to walk straight out, we were so angry, the hotel was quite a way from everything, had a building site next door and had zero atmosphere.

Once we got to the room despite being guaranteed either a river view or city view we got a view of the building site. Maybe because we complained at check in about the hidden charges.

When we checked out and were asked about our stay, we were pleasant but honest, but it was a waste of time saying anything as the staff didn't care, they just ask because they have to, not because they are interested.

I would not recommend anyone stay here. We saw many more places which were beautiful, friendly and great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicsadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Naturally I highly regret to hear that you had such an unsatisfying stay with us that did not meet your expectations at all. I will try to address some of the issue that you mention. Firstly, regarding the fact that breakfast and an extra person in the room was not included in your room rate; this is something that we try to be very transparent with during the online booking process, on both our own and other travel agents websites. I would very much like to get in touch and discuss further where and when you made your booking to be able to find out more. Secondly, I completely understand your frustration with the dirty slippers, this should not be allowed to happen. I will personally review our processes with the Director of Housekeeping. Finally, I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the view from your room. Unfortunately the river-side view is currently also overlooking a construction site. The nearby area will be much more attractive once the building is completed in a few months. Again, I do apologize for all the unfortunate events you experienced during your stay, and as I said I would like to get in touch to hear the details and find a way to make this up to you. Please do feel free contact me directly on h6526-gm@sofitel.com. If you do decide to return to us one day, I will personally see to that you will be compensated and receive the personalized first class service that we are known for.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,975 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
821 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#30 of 270 in Phnom Penh
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 270 in Phnom Penh
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $190 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing