We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel with Detailed French Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is my first visit to Cambodia, sight seeing/business nature.

I booked this hotel through the airline. Sofitel is favored over Intercontinental was primarily the Free Internet service provided at the hotel. However, I knew I have made the perfect choice, when I arrived at the hotel.

The hotel is located at the outer rim South of the city center, it is just blocks away from the Casino, the EXPO center and the Independence Monument. A new AEON JUSCO shopping mall is being constructed right next to the hotel as of JAN 2013.

The hotel is decorated in the tropical resort + French Indochine style. With high ceilings and arches around the building, and wooden ceiling fans and furniture around.

The rooms are spacious enough, mine was facing the river and the pool. No noise or any nuissances. The rooms are newly decorated with WiFi and Cable Internet (Free), and connectors to connect your computer to the LCD TV. Lots of power outlets to charge your gadgets too. The bathroom is spacious, and indeed, a bit too big compared to the size of the rest of the room. Everything is clean and new, toilletries are from l'occitane. Internet is available for Free everywhere in the hotel, the speed is acceptable.

The breakfast is wonderful, and compared to other hotel chains I've stayed at, this is perhaps one of the best one I've had. Lots of variation, Western cuisine, deserts, fruits, local and Asian dishes (assorted noodels, rice, dimsum, and even Hainan Chicken!) to choose from. You won't get bored even with a week's stay! Plus the restaurant is very nice, and it is a pleasure to start my day there.

Overall, the experience with the hotel is excellent, and is certainly recommended to all.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room (12/F is the executive floor) Rooms facing the River sees the River, the Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCHOI_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and all your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspect of your stay and that you would recommend us to everyone. I will especially see to that you great feedback about the breakfast buffet reaches the culinary team; they will surely be very pleased! Again, thank you for all you kind comments, I am delighted that we could help make your first visit to the Kingdom of Wonder a memorable one. Hope to see you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Charles Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was my first trip to Phnom Penh, but my friends suggested the Sofitel. I paid a little extra for an opgraded room with access to the Club Lounge, but it was well worth it. The service was excellent; the staff most friendly; the lobby beautiful and the lobby bar very warm and inviting with music some evenings (As I recall Thursdays is Brazil). The managers are eager to welcome the guests and everyone is always smiling and ready to offer any assistance. We had the children with us, so the pool by the playground with the wading pool and sliding board proved a big plus. The food & beverage was very good, especially the "loaded" cheese burgers with french fries. The buffet in the restaurant off the lobby is a real bargain and it was 50% off for children, each of whom of course eat as much as most adults, particularly the desserts, of which their is a wide selection, especially chocolates. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to a Deluxe room and take the Club Lounge option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globaltraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sofitel Phnom Penh and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to hear that you your friends recommended us to you and even more so that we exceeded your expectations! It is great to hear that your kind words about the overall service that you received, I will make sure it gets passed on to the team. I am also particularly happy to hear that our services and facilities could cater to all your family members, hopefully making it memorable experience for everyone. Again, thank you all your positive feedback, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh!

Yours sincerely,

Charles Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wow, what a nice place in Phnom Penh. Build on a big property in a area with a lot of development. At this moment they build a mall next to it, so take good care to take the right room because of noice. Breakfast is great in a beautiful environment. The hotel has very good quality restaurants. The room is spacious and made of beautiful materials. The bed is very good as well. The bathroom is very convenient. And what a big lobby! There is a nice bar too and all staff is really very helpful and friendly. Outside there is a very big swimming pool and a good place to relax. I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BastiaanVanLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects about our hotel during your business stay. It is also really great to hear that you wish to return. We also very much wish to welcome you back, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights a the Sofitel Phokeethra in Phnom Penh as a part of a whistlestop tour of Cambodia. The hotel certainly has the wow factor: the lobby is real Hollywood glamour and to be met with smiles, cold towels and welcome drinks (even for our Cambodian guide) was great. The concierge was fantastic in helping with our itinerary giving guidance on best time to visit sites, how to get there and how much to expect to pay. Breakfast was a marvel - more choice than you can imagine and all super fresh. We also ate lunch in the hotel once (simple club sandwich by the pool) and dinner in their excellent Italian restaurant. Unfortunately my husband was not feeling well during our stay (acute sinusitis) and we asked the advice of the hotel manager on how best to see a doctor - he called the clinic for us, explained how it would work and then even went as far as arranging for my husband to see the clinic manager who happened to be visiting the hotel for a conference. He went above and beyond, thank you Charles. The hotel is very large which may not appeal to some people. Its not a boutique type hotel but was still charming and with 5* personal service.

Room Tip: We were given a complimentary upgrade to a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank your for writing a review about your experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh. It certainly is flattering to hear that our hotel has the “wow factor” which definitely is something we strive to create every day. Furthermore I am pleased that we could be of assistance in the regretful occasion of you husband becoming ill. It surely is difficult when such happens when you are abroad on vacation, and we are happy that we could at least contribute in solving this issue as convenient as possible for you. Wishing you all the best for 2013 and we would very much would like to welcome you back one day to the Sofitel Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have spent only 1 night at Sofitel as our stay in Phnom Phen was very short. Anyway it was quite enough to get a clear idea about this hotel.
It is really a top quality hotel and I do recommend it as the fantastic option if you come to Phnom Phen. It is really an island of calm and tranquility in this very noisy and disturbing city. Besides, it is not overpriced at all: we have paid USD 220 for the luxury room with a balcony facing the river. The room was perfect with all the necessary attributes of the hotels of this level.
The sunset and the sunrise over Mekong river are fantastic. Don't miss the chance to see it yourself when you are in Phnom Phen and ask for the room with a balcony : it is worth paying a little more for it...
The location is not very central but in this case it is an evident advantage: the downtown of Phnom Phen is so noisy and disturbing that it is better to stay aside.
It takes around half an hour to get to the airport from Sofitel but it was early morning and the traffic was not as heavy as it could be. I do recommend to ask for the taxi in advance as it can take around 15-20 min for the staff to arrange it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony to enjoy fantastic sunset and sunrise over Mekong river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to hear that we could provide a little oasis in the city for you during your short visit to Phnom Penh. I am also very pleased that you were happy with the value for money and that you found your guest room to be perfect! I will certainly share all your kind comments with team, it will surely be a soruce of encouragement for the whole team. Again, thank you for all your kind words, we can’t wait to welcome you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.


Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visiting Phnom Penh on business this time and the Sofitel proved a great choice of hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient beginning with pick up from the airport right up to checkout.
The room was a very generous size (830, on the corner overlooking the pool) with every amenity including a dock/speakers for my iPod.
No disturbance from adjacent building site while I was there (3 nights)

Wifi was free and not lightning fast (about 1Mb) but adequate.

Service throughout the hotel was charming and prompt.

Tuk tuk from the hotel to anywhere seemed to be $3.30 which is probably a premium but the drivers were friendly and spoke English so worth it as far as I was concerned.

Hotel felt quite empty so perhaps for some would lack a little atmosphere.

Room Tip: My corner room was the size of a small suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ny_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the Sofiel Phnom Penh on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had a satisfying stay with us. It is especially encouraging to hear that important touch point such as airport pick up and check in went smooth and efficient, which know are crucial for our valued business guests. I am also happy to hear that the guest room was to your satisfaction, providing a good base for both work and relaxation. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank for your staying with us and we hope to see you back at the Sofitel Phnom Penh soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights ending 13th Jan. started off not so good but after issues were sorted, we loved it. We arranged for a car to collect us from the airport & wasn't there so had to make phone calls to sort out but the ride in was first class - Mercedes, menu of music, cold towels & chilled water. The driver was just lovely. When we arrived, we were sat down with lemongrass tea while checkin was done. And the building itself is just magnificent, French Moorish in design with oil burners everywhere giving off the lemongrass scent. We booked Club floor which only has king beds so needed rollaway bed for extra person - took three phone calls for it to arrive. Our rooms overlooked the construction site so we were told it wasn't good to sit on the balcony because it was noisy but they stopped work at 10pm which we were ok to live with. The reality was much different! We had the pole driver directly outside and it was so noisy inside, not just on the balcony AND they started work again at 5am! Seriously, we should have been warned because of course we were not happy campers. However to their credit, Roth the manager managed to change us over to the other side of the building to lovely rooms and the rest of our stay was fantastic. The breakfast buffet is great, we had Kmer massages in the Spa, used te gym, the pool is lovely & the Club exceptional. French in influence, Kmer in hospitality - highly
Recommend you stay.

Room Tip: Insist on side away from construction - seriously it is bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you had an overall satisfying stay and that you would recommend us to others. Thank you also for pointing out the two minor incidents you had during your stay. I will see to that our Airport pick-up scheduling process is reviewed and that our communication regarding the temporary construction site next to the hotel is more precise in the future. I am pleased though that we managed to compensate you and that the issue did not end having a big impact on your stay. We would all love to welcome you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,983 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $195 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing