We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality, Service, Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality, Service, Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the very moment we entered the hotel ,We felt welcomed, The staff were so courteous, gracious. It seemed to me that Nothing was a bother for them to do, from doing our check-in, to personally escorting us to our room. Furnishings throughout the entire Hotel was magnificent, Being offered the choice of The 12th Floor Club-room was wonderful. Every staff member was more than willing to meet and cater to any and everything you may want, from helpful Directions to sight-seeing ,making a booking for you . The Tuk-tuk driver we had was very experienced and willingly helpful, to the point of caring for our security while touring around different areas and sights of The City.I can only suggest, if you want to experience Quality Service , in the most exquisite surroundings, Then Do stay at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, You really could not be dissapointed at all. Thank you to All Management & Staff , for making our stay so Happy and Memorable

Room Tip: Any room would be a superb room , though I was told any above the 6th floor were quieter, we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reldi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your kind comments about your recent stay. We certainly enjoyed serving you just as much as you did staying with us. I will make sure that your review gets passed on to the whole service team, it will definitely be a source of motivation an encouragement for the new year. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another happy and memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    274
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
178
453
94
396
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

No matter where you go in the world, Sofitel always deliver a great product. And this would be one of their best managed hotels and certainly the best overall hotel in Phnom Penh.

The hotel is relatively new, the rooms are large and well appointed. And contained some really nice touches like high quality robes and L’Occitane toiletries.

We stayed there during peak-season, but the hotel was all but empty – which was kind of nice, because we ended up with a private pool and bar tender.

The staff were extremely friendly, smart and helpful in every way. Though someone of the secondary staff didn’t speak the best English (which can be found in other hotels in Phnom Penh, like the InterContinental, which is more established). However, a bar waiter called me at 3.00am while I was asleep to accuse me of stealing their cigar cutter and then continued harassing us about it the next day – felt like giving her $5 for the missing cutter, so she’d let us enjoy our drink in peace.

The Sofitel run their own Tuk Tuks, which meant you could relax a little more when you headed out into the Phnom Penh madness. All of the drivers spoke great English, were well dressed in uniforms and you felt a little safer. We had a great driver called Mada, who provided us with exceptional service.

The food was good, but you can get better 5 star food elsewhere in Cambodia. We did have an extremely disappointing meal at the FU LU ZU. However, be warned, the food and drinks are extremely expensive – probably twice the price to anywhere else in Cambodia (they’re more like imposed European prices). I’d recommend eating and drink out as much as you can – even at a different hotel.

Overall, a great stay and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky41j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh on TripAdvisor. I am are very proud and happy to hear that you found us to be one best managed of 140 Sofitel hotels word-wide. Certainly a source of encouragement for the new year for the entire team. I do regret to hear about the misunderstanding you had with our bar waiters regarding a cigar cutter. I have addressed the issue with our Director of Food & Beverage, and I do hope and trust that it did not cause you any major inconvenience during your stay. Furthermore, I also regret to hear about your disappointment with our Chinese restaurant Fu Lu Zu. We usually take great pride of the high level of quality and service in all our 4 restaurants, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh for which I will personally see to that also your dining experience will be nothing short of spectacular.
Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Sofitel in Phnom Penh for two nights and have absolutely nothing to complain about.
Fantastic staff and the breakfast buffe leaves nothing more to wish for! Thank you for making our stay memorable!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BroensEgemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant time with us and that our hotel ambassadors could contribute in making your stay one to remember. We would all love to welcome you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh one day.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the very moment we entered the hotel you could tell the class, professionalism of management and staff. We felt so welcome and special from the very first moment we entered the hotel. The check in was great, you felt you were special and being cared for. The hotel room where very nice decorated with wooden floor. The breakfast - what a treat :-) all fresh and home made. The Italian resturant - one of the best I have ever eaten in here is SE Asia (and I have leave in SE Asia for almost 9 years). All staff would always greet you and you felt special because they made it like they could all remember you - we only stayed two nights but we could have stayed here for weeks :-)

thank you staff and management for making this so special for us

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANINDO_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am absolutely delighted to hear that we made you feel special during your stay with us, that’s exactly what our aim is. It is also great to hear from an experienced restaurant guest as yourself that you found our Italian Restaurant Do Forni best you had in SE Asia! I will personally pass on your great feedback to Chef Manuelo and his team. If you ever find the time, please do also share your experience with a review on the official Do Forni TripAdvisor page. All your kind words certainly are inspiring and gives the whole team a boost of encouragement for the new year. We can’t wait to welcome you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on Christmas Eve!! I was very disappointed when told it was fully booked for the buffet dinner. The manager of the western restaurant secured some tables for us at the Italian place which is just next door! Beautiful place!! I was lying by the pool waiting for my friends to come down for dinner when the waitress told me about some last minute cancellations for the buffet. We were able to have the big buffet!! It felt great! A great buffet too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. It truly was a pleasure to have you staying with us over Christmas. It is really great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you finally go to enjoy our Christmas buffet in La Coupole. Best wishes for 2013 in which we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our Club level room and service. Best breakfast buffet we enjoyed during our 2 week trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. Nice room, only drawback was noise from construction site where they are building biggest Cambodian mall just next to the hotel. It is not centrally located, but tuk tuk or taxi are so inexpensive, the 5 minute drive to center is not a problem. Do opt for the Club Level, the afternoon happy hour and extra service are worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room facing away from construction site, otherwise you will have noise until afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our breakfast buffet in La Coupole was the best that you had during your 2 week trip. I will personally pass on your kind feedback to the culinary team. I do regret to hear that the construction site next to the hotel disturbed you during your stay. Certainly the area surrounding the hotel will be a lot more quiet and pleasant once the mall is completed. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused. We all genuinely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Charles Henri-Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I appreciate very much the professionalism and benign service of the hotel staff. They are very responsive to guest's requests and are strongly committed to serving the guests beyond expectation. The food and beverage is also of high quality as compared with other 5-starred hotels in international cities.

This is a trip that helps my father aged over 90, to refresh his childhood memory and reunite with his family members since he left the country about 78 years ago. It is a short 4-day trip but valuable experience for him. The hotel's graceful Cambodian service plays an very important role in the success of the trip.

Room Tip: It is better to check with hotel staff if a wired in-room internet access is provided. Login name an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveZon15Dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience you had at the Sofitel Phnom Penh. We are so pleased that we could contribute in making your fathers return to Phnom Penh a success. Surely, the city must have changed tremendously since he left 78 years ago. Your kind comments regarding our hotel ambassadors have been passed on to the team, they were all very happy. Again, thank you for your feedback, we would love to welcome you and your family back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh one day.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing