We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #5 of 271 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall is good, service & food, except the security is bother when come back to hotel since some VIP enter into the hotel during the hotel. Lobby bar with live music is good environment with reasonable charge. But, pool service is lack of people at service. Wait for quite a long time to get some pool towels. Food and drink at cafe are all right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliaedmond2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience with us and that your enjoyed our live jazz evenings in the lobby bar. The reason for the high level of security during your stay was due to the ASEAN summit that was taking place in the hotel. Unfortunately the strict security checks during the time of the summit are beyond our control. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Furthermore, we regret to hear there was a lack of staff at the hotel pool and that you had to wait for towels. I will pass on your comments directly to the operations manager. Thank you again for your feedback, it is very much appreciated as it enables us to ensure ongoing improvement of our products and services.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful spacious hotel with wonderfully appointed rooms. The Loccitane toiletries were a nice added touch. Warm and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast spread. This hotel with its world class service and facilities was an amazing surprise against the contrast of the vicinity - it was truly decadent once you step into the lobby!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QinZir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is truly inspiring to hear that you found our services and facilities to be of world-class and that we managed to positively surprise you. I will pass on your review to the entire team, it will surely be a great source of encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Phnom Penh!

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was a little unsure about staying here because it seemed to be a hotel for business people and not famillies. I also had a little trouble when making my reservation with prices being misquoted.
So I was very happy with the beautiful hotel and our luxury club rooom. The club lounge is great for afternoon tea and canapes and drinks as well as refreshments throughout the day. Sukon, who was supervising the club lounge on the evenings we stayed was friendly, helpful and totally professional. We also appreciated the efforts of Chendra when we arrived, She showed us around our rooom and organised a discrepancy with the cost of our stay without any fuss at all. The staff generally were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed gorgeous amenities in the bathroom and the spacious bedroom with the enermous bed, big enough for our son the fit in easily. The balcony was also nice to sit out and enjoy the warm evenings. Okay the views are not great but that is certainly not the hotels fault....and with the amount of building going on it will soon change. We would highly receommend staying here.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy to hear we could pleasantly surprise you and provide an enjoyable stay for you and your family. Even though we do have many facilities catering to our many business guests, we our two hotel swimming pools, sports club, kids club, 6 tennis courts and squash rooms certainly help to provide enjoyable stays for our valued leisure guests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the big bed and amenities in your luxury clubroom, and that you found time to relax on your balcony in the evenings. Furthermore, we are glad that our executive club Millesime could provide a relaxing retreat for refreshments during the day as well as for afternoon tea and canapés.

Thank you for kind words regarding our hotel ambassadors, I will personally see to that your kind words gets passed on to Sukon and Chendra.

We sincerely hope that you will return to us during you next visit Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nothing to complain at all for this hotel since everything during my stay was just PERFECT.
A bit over expectation to see and experience a world-class hotel facilities here in Phnom Penh topped up with superb Khmer hospitality services. The hotel smell made me felt I was in the spa - very good and clean smell. Every hotel staff always smiled and showed their attentions to serve guests. Hotel room was hugh, bed was comfortable, had all facilities I needed and importantly - free wifi in every corner of the hotel which was the thing I most appreciated about this hotel. Their lobby bar was nice and cool, restaurants served food worth for money and breakfast was very varity - too variety, in fact. I will stay here again for my next business trip to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: high floor to see the city & river view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh with us.

We are all very absolutely thrilled we could make your business stay perfect. Our aim is to provide first-class facilities and services, which blends our refined French elegance with local Khmer charm. We are delighted this is in line what you experienced during your stay.

Furthermore, It is great to hear that your guest room was equipped with all the facilities that your required, and that you found value for money in our restaurants and bars. We are also happy to hear you appreciate that our WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel. We do understand that todays modern business traveler needs to stay connected at all times, and certainly complimentary WiFi helps to facilitate that.

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Your sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Sofitel is a very spacious and luxurious hotel. The swimming pool is very big and its a great way to start the day as the pool area is generally quiet as locals don't seem to swim too much. They also have a more than adequate gym. The breakfast is also first rate. Throughout the quality of service from the staff is superb with welcoming smiles the order of the day. And don't forget to try the club sandwich. Take some DVD's if you want to watch a movie in your room and you'll love the walk in shower and the beds are extremely comfortable. The Manager is a really nice French gentleman and when I was there they were running cocktail masterclasses. Very enjoyable stay and well worth the money !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us earlier this month.

We are enjoyed you enjoyed our spacious newly build property. It is great to hear you found our hotel beds so comfortable and that our breakfast and swimming pool pool could help give a good your of the day.

Thank you for your kind words about the service quality of our hotel ambassadors. I have already passed on your comments to, and you can certainly see that such feedback certainly is a source of encouragement and motivation for the entire team.

We genuinely hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and we had a rather enjoyable 2 night stay here during August.
So, if it's a lovely hotel - how come I only gave it a rating of 3 points?
Well, while the hotel IS beautiful, we encountered quite a few difficulties during our stay.

The hotel is located a 10-minute taxi ride from the center of town. While the hotel's location isn't perfect, it's not a big issue as taxis are cheap in Cambodia.

First of all, unlike other Sofitels in Asia, this hotel has a unique (an truly annoying!) policy of NOT upgrading A|Club Platinum nor AdvantagePlus Platinum card holders to Club room, even if they booked luxury rooms and club rooms are available. The hotel upgrades to a junior suite without club benefits. In other words, the hotel basically says: "hey, if you want a club room, pay for a club room", thus missing the entire concept of supporting loyal Accor customers.
However, after much (and I mean MUCH) debate about this issue, we were granted an upgrade to a Club room with club benefits (after the GM personally approved it). While we DID appreciate the gesture, I think it's only fair that other people know about this issue as well.

Please notice that unlike almost all Sofitels in Asia, the hotel's restaurant is NOT currently supporting the 50% discount for food to AdvantagePlus card holders. While this IS unfortunate (as it drives most AdvantagePlus card holders to dine elsewhere), the hotel does emphasize this in the welcoming letter in the room.

Our Club room was very nice with comfy beds and a nice bathroom (or so we thought...).
Our welcoming gift was a HUGE bowl of fruits and some cookies plus two coupons for a short massage at the spa.
The WI-FI signal in our room was rather weak, and I was unable to have a Skype chat from the room, so I had to do it from the lobby.

The Club lounge was lovely with nice drinks throughout the day, some nice cakes during afternoon tea time and a light dinner and alcohol in the evening. It was nice, but not spectacular. While the hotel had a rather high occupancy, we had the club to ourselves most of the time. While the club is nice, the view from the club can best be described as...ugly.

Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was wonderful with a very nice selection and high quality food.

On the very first evening, we discovered that our bathroom is infested with hundreds of tiny spiders, which was absolutely disgusting, as they were EVERYWHERE. The hotel did allocate a new room for us (and sent some drinks to our room as compensation), it only happened during the next day (and not on the evening we reported this issue). So basically, we spent the night with the spiders. Lovely... .

The complimentary spa we had was ok. While I specifically requested for a very light touch, the woman who was in charge of my massage literally hurt my neck. I had to stop her a couple of times. This was rather unpleasant.

The hotel has its own pool plus a pool and gym that are owned by a local country club. While the information in the hotel claimed the pools are open until 9PM, the two pools were already dangerously pitch dark at 7:30PM and when we asked someone if he could turn on the lights, he refused. Lovely.

We reported the WI-FI issue and the pools issue to the duty managers, who promised to take care of it, but did absolutely nothing about it, other than promise us he would take care of it.

The evening before we checked out, I found an extremely serious security breech in one of the computers in the business center near the lobby (and when I say serious, I mean hotel guests' full details, including credit card information!). I immediately reported it to the duty manager, Mr. Pascal Tadin, who was horrified and took a very quick decision to turn off the hazardous computer immediately.
While I was not really expecting any recognition for this act, as I really felt it was the RIGHT thing to do, the hotel could've done much more than to barely thank me for "reporting this issue".

So, to sum it up, while the hotel grounds are beautiful, the hotel still lacks the "polish" when it comes to service, and while the staff seems really nice, some of them are not really willing to assist a guest in several occasions. I find it rather disappointing for a Sofitel. Still, the hotel IS beautiful and with some tweaks – can become a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in a Club room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us to ensure constant improvement and to keep the team motivated. I will personally see to that your kind comments gets passed on to the entire team and certainly also directly address the points of improvement that you mention. We always aim to create outstanding experiences for our guests, and on behalf on the whole team I can say we very much regret that was not the case on this occasion. I certainly hope you will return to us one day and give us a chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent hotel experience .friendly and professional service. More information on attached spa services could be provided in the room compendium. Efficient book in and book out service and reliable transfer services to locations in the city and the airport

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent hotel experience with us. Furthermore, it is great to hear that your check-in/out went seamless and that you appreciated our transportation services to and from the hotel. I will make sure to communicate you kind feedback about the friendly and professional service you received during your stay to the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 271 in Phnom Penh
1,975 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 271 in Phnom Penh
821 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#30 of 271 in Phnom Penh
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 271 in Phnom Penh
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 271 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $191 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing