We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Suberb Hotel For Business Travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Suberb Hotel For Business Travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nothing to complain at all for this hotel since everything during my stay was just PERFECT.
A bit over expectation to see and experience a world-class hotel facilities here in Phnom Penh topped up with superb Khmer hospitality services. The hotel smell made me felt I was in the spa - very good and clean smell. Every hotel staff always smiled and showed their attentions to serve guests. Hotel room was hugh, bed was comfortable, had all facilities I needed and importantly - free wifi in every corner of the hotel which was the thing I most appreciated about this hotel. Their lobby bar was nice and cool, restaurants served food worth for money and breakfast was very varity - too variety, in fact. I will stay here again for my next business trip to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: high floor to see the city & river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Phnom Penh with us.

We are all very absolutely thrilled we could make your business stay perfect. Our aim is to provide first-class facilities and services, which blends our refined French elegance with local Khmer charm. We are delighted this is in line what you experienced during your stay.

Furthermore, It is great to hear that your guest room was equipped with all the facilities that your required, and that you found value for money in our restaurants and bars. We are also happy to hear you appreciate that our WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel. We do understand that todays modern business traveler needs to stay connected at all times, and certainly complimentary WiFi helps to facilitate that.

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Your sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    269
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
174
446
92
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Sofitel is a very spacious and luxurious hotel. The swimming pool is very big and its a great way to start the day as the pool area is generally quiet as locals don't seem to swim too much. They also have a more than adequate gym. The breakfast is also first rate. Throughout the quality of service from the staff is superb with welcoming smiles the order of the day. And don't forget to try the club sandwich. Take some DVD's if you want to watch a movie in your room and you'll love the walk in shower and the beds are extremely comfortable. The Manager is a really nice French gentleman and when I was there they were running cocktail masterclasses. Very enjoyable stay and well worth the money !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us earlier this month.

We are enjoyed you enjoyed our spacious newly build property. It is great to hear you found our hotel beds so comfortable and that our breakfast and swimming pool pool could help give a good your of the day.

Thank you for your kind words about the service quality of our hotel ambassadors. I have already passed on your comments to, and you can certainly see that such feedback certainly is a source of encouragement and motivation for the entire team.

We genuinely hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,585 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,924 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and we had a rather enjoyable 2 night stay here during August.
So, if it's a lovely hotel - how come I only gave it a rating of 3 points?
Well, while the hotel IS beautiful, we encountered quite a few difficulties during our stay.

The hotel is located a 10-minute taxi ride from the center of town. While the hotel's location isn't perfect, it's not a big issue as taxis are cheap in Cambodia.

First of all, unlike other Sofitels in Asia, this hotel has a unique (an truly annoying!) policy of NOT upgrading A|Club Platinum nor AdvantagePlus Platinum card holders to Club room, even if they booked luxury rooms and club rooms are available. The hotel upgrades to a junior suite without club benefits. In other words, the hotel basically says: "hey, if you want a club room, pay for a club room", thus missing the entire concept of supporting loyal Accor customers.
However, after much (and I mean MUCH) debate about this issue, we were granted an upgrade to a Club room with club benefits (after the GM personally approved it). While we DID appreciate the gesture, I think it's only fair that other people know about this issue as well.

Please notice that unlike almost all Sofitels in Asia, the hotel's restaurant is NOT currently supporting the 50% discount for food to AdvantagePlus card holders. While this IS unfortunate (as it drives most AdvantagePlus card holders to dine elsewhere), the hotel does emphasize this in the welcoming letter in the room.

Our Club room was very nice with comfy beds and a nice bathroom (or so we thought...).
Our welcoming gift was a HUGE bowl of fruits and some cookies plus two coupons for a short massage at the spa.
The WI-FI signal in our room was rather weak, and I was unable to have a Skype chat from the room, so I had to do it from the lobby.

The Club lounge was lovely with nice drinks throughout the day, some nice cakes during afternoon tea time and a light dinner and alcohol in the evening. It was nice, but not spectacular. While the hotel had a rather high occupancy, we had the club to ourselves most of the time. While the club is nice, the view from the club can best be described as...ugly.

Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was wonderful with a very nice selection and high quality food.

On the very first evening, we discovered that our bathroom is infested with hundreds of tiny spiders, which was absolutely disgusting, as they were EVERYWHERE. The hotel did allocate a new room for us (and sent some drinks to our room as compensation), it only happened during the next day (and not on the evening we reported this issue). So basically, we spent the night with the spiders. Lovely... .

The complimentary spa we had was ok. While I specifically requested for a very light touch, the woman who was in charge of my massage literally hurt my neck. I had to stop her a couple of times. This was rather unpleasant.

The hotel has its own pool plus a pool and gym that are owned by a local country club. While the information in the hotel claimed the pools are open until 9PM, the two pools were already dangerously pitch dark at 7:30PM and when we asked someone if he could turn on the lights, he refused. Lovely.

We reported the WI-FI issue and the pools issue to the duty managers, who promised to take care of it, but did absolutely nothing about it, other than promise us he would take care of it.

The evening before we checked out, I found an extremely serious security breech in one of the computers in the business center near the lobby (and when I say serious, I mean hotel guests' full details, including credit card information!). I immediately reported it to the duty manager, Mr. Pascal Tadin, who was horrified and took a very quick decision to turn off the hazardous computer immediately.
While I was not really expecting any recognition for this act, as I really felt it was the RIGHT thing to do, the hotel could've done much more than to barely thank me for "reporting this issue".

So, to sum it up, while the hotel grounds are beautiful, the hotel still lacks the "polish" when it comes to service, and while the staff seems really nice, some of them are not really willing to assist a guest in several occasions. I find it rather disappointing for a Sofitel. Still, the hotel IS beautiful and with some tweaks – can become a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us to ensure constant improvement and to keep the team motivated. I will personally see to that your kind comments gets passed on to the entire team and certainly also directly address the points of improvement that you mention. We always aim to create outstanding experiences for our guests, and on behalf on the whole team I can say we very much regret that was not the case on this occasion. I certainly hope you will return to us one day and give us a chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent hotel experience .friendly and professional service. More information on attached spa services could be provided in the room compendium. Efficient book in and book out service and reliable transfer services to locations in the city and the airport

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 546traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent hotel experience with us. Furthermore, it is great to hear that your check-in/out went seamless and that you appreciated our transportation services to and from the hotel. I will make sure to communicate you kind feedback about the friendly and professional service you received during your stay to the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

During my brief over night stay at this property, I was surprised with the vast number of services this property offered. From Japanese and Italian restaurants overlooking the private pool, to China banquet rooms next to the Club house and the chocolate library; not to mention the helicopter launch pad for VIP guests traveling in style, this property had something for everyone!

Check in was so smooth and easy, and the concierge kindly arranged a city tour for us very last minute with an impressively knowledgeable guide.

Thanks for the hospitality - I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderluster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear about the positive experience you had during your short stay with us!. We do indeed offer a wide range of food and beverage options including a Chinese, Italian, Japanese and International all day dining restaurant as well as “Chocolat” our bake shop and “Le Bar” in the lobby. We hope that you will return to us for a longer visit so you get the chance to experience them all!

It is great to hear that your check-in went easy and smooth. These are crucial touch points, which should always be completely seamless for our guests. We are also glad our concierge could help set you up for a sightseeing tour in the city.

Again, thank you for you kind words, we genuinely hope to have you back for longer visit very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was really impressed by the big spacious hotel, impeccable service and attention by the staff, Loccitane bath products and a big comfy bed to come back to after a hot day of sight seeing. The pool area was good for a chill, taking a dip in the afternoon. The manager Roth was so helpful. He introduced me to a local bbq restaurant Sovanna and it was excellent local food. Phnom Penh's charms include a stay at Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious interior of our hotel and that our swimming pool and guest room amenities could help you unwind after a long day being out and about.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that found the service from our hotel ambassadors impeccable! We will certainly see to that your kind words be passed on to our assistant guest service manager Roth.

Again, thank you for all your kind words and we look forward to have you back soon to show you yet another fabulous time!

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel was much better than others, but on the whole compared to other 5 star hotels I would grade it average.
It was amazing that very few could understand English and asking for items and getting what you asked for was a big problem, that wound up costing you twice more.
Rooms were nice and so so clean, resturants were very pricey for the area forcing us to eat elsewhere that offered a better selection.

Room Tip: In this area for safety you do not have many chioces for 5 star and this was the best we could find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was only average, as we always aim to exceed the expectations of our guests.

We are both surprised and saddened to hear that you had such difficulties in communicating with our staff, and that it ended up causing issues for you. Naturally, all of our hotel ambassadors dealing directly with guests are required to have a high level and good fluency of the English language. I can assure the complications you experienced were an unfortunate exception.

Finally, we are sorry to hear that none of our Italian, Chinese, Japanese or International restaurants offered a selection you were looking for, and that you had to look elsewhere.

I genuinely hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Phnom Penh, and give us the chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.7 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arunreas Hotel
Arunreas Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing