We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$49
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
$62
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$216
$151
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$32
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
$45
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

White Mansion(Phnom Penh)
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveler rating
1,194
330
51
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
330
51
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla coupolethe executive loungedo fornile barclub millesimeclub roomaeon malllobby bartuk tukmain restaurantbeautiful hotelbusiness tripfive star hotelbreakfast buffetcolonial stylerooms are spaciousjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,128 - 1,133 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and we had a rather enjoyable 2 night stay here during August.
So, if it's a lovely hotel - how come I only gave it a rating of 3 points?
Well, while the hotel IS beautiful, we encountered quite a few difficulties during our stay.

The hotel is located a 10-minute taxi ride from the center of town. While the hotel's location isn't perfect, it's not a big issue as taxis are cheap in Cambodia.

First of all, unlike other Sofitels in Asia, this hotel has a unique (an truly annoying!) policy of NOT upgrading A|Club Platinum nor AdvantagePlus Platinum card holders to Club room, even if they booked luxury rooms and club rooms are available. The hotel upgrades to a junior suite without club benefits. In other words, the hotel basically says: "hey, if you want a club room, pay for a club room", thus missing the entire concept of supporting loyal Accor customers.
However, after much (and I mean MUCH) debate about this issue, we were granted an upgrade to a Club room with club benefits (after the GM personally approved it). While we DID appreciate the gesture, I think it's only fair that other people know about this issue as well.

Please notice that unlike almost all Sofitels in Asia, the hotel's restaurant is NOT currently supporting the 50% discount for food to AdvantagePlus card holders. While this IS unfortunate (as it drives most AdvantagePlus card holders to dine elsewhere), the hotel does emphasize this in the welcoming letter in the room.

Our Club room was very nice with comfy beds and a nice bathroom (or so we thought...).
Our welcoming gift was a HUGE bowl of fruits and some cookies plus two coupons for a short massage at the spa.
The WI-FI signal in our room was rather weak, and I was unable to have a Skype chat from the room, so I had to do it from the lobby.

The Club lounge was lovely with nice drinks throughout the day, some nice cakes during afternoon tea time and a light dinner and alcohol in the evening. It was nice, but not spectacular. While the hotel had a rather high occupancy, we had the club to ourselves most of the time. While the club is nice, the view from the club can best be described as...ugly.

Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was wonderful with a very nice selection and high quality food.

On the very first evening, we discovered that our bathroom is infested with hundreds of tiny spiders, which was absolutely disgusting, as they were EVERYWHERE. The hotel did allocate a new room for us (and sent some drinks to our room as compensation), it only happened during the next day (and not on the evening we reported this issue). So basically, we spent the night with the spiders. Lovely... .

The complimentary spa we had was ok. While I specifically requested for a very light touch, the woman who was in charge of my massage literally hurt my neck. I had to stop her a couple of times. This was rather unpleasant.

The hotel has its own pool plus a pool and gym that are owned by a local country club. While the information in the hotel claimed the pools are open until 9PM, the two pools were already dangerously pitch dark at 7:30PM and when we asked someone if he could turn on the lights, he refused. Lovely.

We reported the WI-FI issue and the pools issue to the duty managers, who promised to take care of it, but did absolutely nothing about it, other than promise us he would take care of it.

The evening before we checked out, I found an extremely serious security breech in one of the computers in the business center near the lobby (and when I say serious, I mean hotel guests' full details, including credit card information!). I immediately reported it to the duty manager, Mr. Pascal Tadin, who was horrified and took a very quick decision to turn off the hazardous computer immediately.
While I was not really expecting any recognition for this act, as I really felt it was the RIGHT thing to do, the hotel could've done much more than to barely thank me for "reporting this issue".

So, to sum it up, while the hotel grounds are beautiful, the hotel still lacks the "polish" when it comes to service, and while the staff seems really nice, some of them are not really willing to assist a guest in several occasions. I find it rather disappointing for a Sofitel. Still, the hotel IS beautiful and with some tweaks – can become a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in a Club room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us to ensure constant improvement and to keep the team motivated. I will personally see to that your kind comments gets passed on to the entire team and certainly also directly address the points of improvement that you mention. We always aim to create outstanding experiences for our guests, and on behalf on the whole team I can say we very much regret that was not the case on this occasion. I certainly hope you will return to us one day and give us a chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent hotel experience .friendly and professional service. More information on attached spa services could be provided in the room compendium. Efficient book in and book out service and reliable transfer services to locations in the city and the airport

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent hotel experience with us. Furthermore, it is great to hear that your check-in/out went seamless and that you appreciated our transportation services to and from the hotel. I will make sure to communicate you kind feedback about the friendly and professional service you received during your stay to the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Phnom Penh.

Yours sincerely,
Charles-Henri Chevet
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

During my brief over night stay at this property, I was surprised with the vast number of services this property offered. From Japanese and Italian restaurants overlooking the private pool, to China banquet rooms next to the Club house and the chocolate library; not to mention the helicopter launch pad for VIP guests traveling in style, this property had something for everyone!

Check in was so smooth and easy, and the concierge kindly arranged a city tour for us very last minute with an impressively knowledgeable guide.

Thanks for the hospitality - I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear about the positive experience you had during your short stay with us!. We do indeed offer a wide range of food and beverage options including a Chinese, Italian, Japanese and International all day dining restaurant as well as “Chocolat” our bake shop and “Le Bar” in the lobby. We hope that you will return to us for a longer visit so you get the chance to experience them all!

It is great to hear that your check-in went easy and smooth. These are crucial touch points, which should always be completely seamless for our guests. We are also glad our concierge could help set you up for a sightseeing tour in the city.

Again, thank you for you kind words, we genuinely hope to have you back for longer visit very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was really impressed by the big spacious hotel, impeccable service and attention by the staff, Loccitane bath products and a big comfy bed to come back to after a hot day of sight seeing. The pool area was good for a chill, taking a dip in the afternoon. The manager Roth was so helpful. He introduced me to a local bbq restaurant Sovanna and it was excellent local food. Phnom Penh's charms include a stay at Sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious interior of our hotel and that our swimming pool and guest room amenities could help you unwind after a long day being out and about.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that found the service from our hotel ambassadors impeccable! We will certainly see to that your kind words be passed on to our assistant guest service manager Roth.

Again, thank you for all your kind words and we look forward to have you back soon to show you yet another fabulous time!

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet,
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel was much better than others, but on the whole compared to other 5 star hotels I would grade it average.
It was amazing that very few could understand English and asking for items and getting what you asked for was a big problem, that wound up costing you twice more.
Rooms were nice and so so clean, resturants were very pricey for the area forcing us to eat elsewhere that offered a better selection.

Room Tip: In this area for safety you do not have many chioces for 5 star and this was the best we could find.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was only average, as we always aim to exceed the expectations of our guests.

We are both surprised and saddened to hear that you had such difficulties in communicating with our staff, and that it ended up causing issues for you. Naturally, all of our hotel ambassadors dealing directly with guests are required to have a high level and good fluency of the English language. I can assure the complications you experienced were an unfortunate exception.

Finally, we are sorry to hear that none of our Italian, Chinese, Japanese or International restaurants offered a selection you were looking for, and that you had to look elsewhere.

I genuinely hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Phnom Penh, and give us the chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews