We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pretentious, bad location”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I didn't care for this hotel. It's in a poor location, located in a bit of a slum out in the Tonle Bassac area. It's impossible to walk anywhere from the hotel (not that you would want to) because the hotel door is up a 200 meter driveway from the street.

They were building a nice parking garage when I visited, and I think this hotel would be a much better choice for someone with a car vs. someone who is relying on public transport. If you don't have a car, and you want to go somewhere, you have to wait while the doorman calls the front gate to flag down a tuk tuk, then the tuk tuk putters up the 200m driveway, then the tuk tuk offers to take you somewhere for triple the regular price because you are staying at a rich hotel far from everything and there are no other tuk tuks there for you to bargain with.

The interior of the hotel is nice enough, but the staff to guest ratio seemed to be about 3:1 when I was there, which was a little odd. The staff was nice.

The rooms are good, but the bathrooms are pretty bizarre and not conducive to privacy. The toilets are in strange glass "fishbowl" seating area inside the bathroom. If you want privacy you have to close the outer bathroom doors, which is not ideal because the wardrobe and in room safe are inside the bathroom doors. Also, the toilets didn't have those typical Southeast Asian bidet sprayer hoses that I have come to love so much.

I didn't use the pool, but I noticed that it is next to an unattractive canal, as you can see from the photo. They need more landscaping in the pool area to block that view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

I am truly disappointed to read your review online and I'm so sorry that your experience with the public tuk tuks was not up to your expectations. Since recently we have acquired our private tuk tuks, next to our limousines and shuttle service, that are always on stand-by to transport you to your desired destination with designated drivers, fixed prices and full insurance. I understand the hindrances and frustrations you have been through and we apologize for these occurrences.
The benefits of location, style and overall comfort are comments we get time and time again as well compliments to our team for overall cleanliness and excellence in service.
Thank you again for your very important feedback and we all look forward to have the chance to welcome you again and to enjoy the many ongoing updates to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally before your next visit by sending me an email on H6526-GM1@Sofitel.com

Sincerely,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    281
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
184
467
95
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent some days with the family early February and we all had a great time. Hotel still looks very empty especially the lobby and the restaurant where we had breakfast as decoration or plants are missing. At the same time staff was wonderful and very attentive during our entire stay. To recommend if you need some time to relax in a bustling city!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA57312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 days with friends and were extremely well looked after. The hotel is very new so there's still a few things that need to be addressed but nothing major. The staff were excellent, the rooms, clean, airy and comfortable and we had a great time. The breakfast could be better but it's early days and they are improving by the day. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your genuine positive feedback and we are glad you chose Sofitel Phom Penh Phokeethra. Our Ambassadors really enjoys it when we get a positive review becaus it reinforce that they did a good job and like working here. In response to your comment for the breakfast, we shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage team and continue to adjust and improve on a daily basis.

Thanks again for your feedback and your business.
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Overall a marvellous hotel and great people with an attitude!
Decoration in public areas is missing an interior designer signature and I support the review here before that internet is not free of charge what is not acceptable for a hotel with such a standing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Our stay at the Sofitel Phnom Penh was great from start to finish. Everyone in the staff did their outermost to make our stay a great experience. The room (1011) was impecable with a balcony and great views over the mighty Mekong and the city.

My only critic would be that the wireless Internet is not complimentary! For a hotel with this prices it should be breaking ranks in offering this free of charge. Like many other Sofitels in the world doing already and other 5-star groups such as Shangri-La and Mandarin Oriental.

All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Great staff and so friendly, all restaurants are now open and finished but lobby looks still empty. Try the buffet for lunch that was delicious in their main restaurant. Service and view at the Club Floor is excellent as well. I would go back what will happen soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,914 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,436 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#29 of 267 in Phnom Penh
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing