We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, really friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Banana Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Chaweng, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, really friendly staff”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Really good hostel for backpackers, the rooftop bar was always buzzing and a had really nice vibe, no need to leave the hostel in the evenings really! Rooms were clean, stayed in two dormitories when there (the ones on the top floor are nicer).

The staff are really friendly and even sorted out our visas for Vietnam while we went off to Siem Reap and Sihanoukville. They organise tours to the killing fields etc for you (well worth doing). The food is also really tasty. Definitely worth staying in if in Phnom Penh.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    120
    57
    14
    15
See reviews for
4
76
140
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

For the average backpacker, the Top Banana is probably great. It has a nice rooftop bar/lounge area where it's easy to meet fellow travellers. The food is good, especially the breakfasts, and the rooms are neat and tidy. I had a huge room for $18/night with two double beds, ensuite bathroom with hot water, plenty of furniture and windows. I was moved later to another room with had a big L-shaped couch and a tinier room for $16/night with ensuite but no couch. All came scrubbed down with clean sheets, good pressure showers and well-maintained bathrooms. What else does a traveler need?? The location is OK too -- walkable to the Genocide Museum and a short tuk-tuk ride to the Palace.

But as someone who's a bit past the backpacking scene, I found the place really loud, sometimes until 2 am. It's impossible to find a room that doesn't soak in the noise so you either have to get with the party or forget about a solid sleep. I'm rating this property four stars because it's probably perfect for a social backpacker, even though it was a three star place for me. The staff seemed harried too and seemed really worried about us paying our food bill as soon as possible. Maybe they've been stiffed before, who knows.

Also, forget about booking the "tour" offered through the hostel. It's just hire of a tuk-tuk driver for the day and I'm pretty sure you could find cheaper rates if you negotiate on the street. Same went with transport -- we found cheaper buses at a travel agency downstairs.

Room Tip: The tiny room for $16/night at the far end of the floor with the bar is farther from the noise. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

First impressions were good, nice bar, good location and lovely rooms. We ate in the bar that night and the next day we were very ill. It was within our first two weeks in SE Asia so I'm not saying it was down to this food. The food was actually quite nice either way.
The problem came when we were room bound for a few days and they started VERY loud rennovations of the bar directly above us. Full on building work, hammering, drilling and smashing about was going on for the duration of our stay which was extremely poor timing as we were ill inside the room all day. We were extremely disappointed as the guesthouse did not prewarn us of any such activities!
They did try to find us a room further away from the noise and said that they'd help us find somewhere else to stay if we needed to checkout. They also popped in and checked on us and brought us some supplies so they were very nice about the whole thing. They also gave a us one of the three of our nights for free without us asking.
I doubt these kind of rennovations happen often so imagine our experience was a one off.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try not to use the rooms below the bar as they had missing slats from the windows, not great for kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

If you like partying or having fun, this is the place to be! But if you want to sleep peacefully or even take a nap, just choose another guesthouse. During the day, the street is quit noisy and during the night, the music of the bar is really loud until 1am and then people stay until 2 am in front of the bar to chat or laugh so you can't really sleep properly.
Having said that rooms and bathroom are clean and the staff is nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Strange unhelpful staff but bar that the hotel was good. Clean rooms, good shower, a little noisy but great for $10 a night.

Short walk from the river and good sites. Some good bars near and handy rooftop bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Top banana is a true life saver , Los & Helen are the best hosts, friends, guides, support you could hope for . They really do go the extra mile and a half to ensure you have an amazing time in Cambodia . Thanks for all your help and support, you restored my faith in human kindness. Xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Came here because of a friend had recommended. Had very high expectations and they were met. I was able to relax during the day and sleep well at night if I chose to. But I was also able to hang out and meet other travelers in the rooftop bar if I wanted to. The rooftop bar was awesome. Seriously one of the best vibes I've encoutered in a bar in Southeast Asia for sure. I am from New Orleans so I have a very high expectations for atmosphere at drinking establishments, and thi didn't let me down one bit. Would definitely rteturn for sure. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#21 of 269 in Phnom Penh
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 269 in Phnom Penh
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 243 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 243 in Phnom Penh
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Banana Guesthouse

Property: Top Banana Guesthouse
Address: #9Eo Corner St 278 & St 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Top Banana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Banana Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing