We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, great neighborhood, but be ready to party!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Banana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Banana Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice rooms, great neighborhood, but be ready to party!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Room price was reasonable and the room was pretty nice, spacious, and comfortable, with A/C optional for more money, and hot showers. Would encourage them to offer at least a towel to guests - only guesthouse I stayed in Cambodia that didn't offer one.

Fantastic location right in BKK1, super close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. A quick ride to the riverside or Russian Market as well. Step out of your room onto the street and there's tons of great food and drink within walking distance.

Staff was young, cool, and helpful. Great place to base my travels from as they had solid info on buses and motorcycle rental. Knowledgeable and friendly drivers seemed to congregate outside the guesthouse, definitely had better luck with them than other tuk-tuk drivers elsewhere in the city.

Beer was cheap and cold, food was good as well. Lots of Western selections for the homesick traveler.

Only caveat is that the Top Banana is a really, really popular night spot for the backpacker crowd, and rocks all night with people and music. It was fantastic for meeting and mingling, but my room was right below the bar, and the one night I hit the sack early it was pretty hard to sleep with all the noise. So if you're looking for a quiet spot to base your adventures, probably not the best option.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    115
    55
    12
    16
See reviews for
3
70
131
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm living in Phnom Penh for a couple months. My house was under construction so I needed to stay somewhere, I chose top banana. I came here a couple of times before for a beer.
The dorms are nice and cool with the ac.

The staff is great! Very relaxed and open to all kinds of conversations.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

A good location for hitting the bars and restaurants. The staff was helpful but seemed a bit distracted. The food in the bar/restaurant was really good, try the bagels for breakfast! The room was fine, but noisy at night, as it was not possible to close the top windows.
A classic backpacker hostel with lots of opportunities to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Top Banana is the place if you want to meet friendly new faces. The bar has an easy-going friendly atmosphere. You can sit at the bar directly or on some of the comfy sofas and beanie bags. They have a wide range of drinks that can easily satisfy any thirst.

Although you sometimes have to wait a bit to get a drink because it gets really busy, you can be sure that you'll be serve with a smile. The staff is easy to talk to and welcome feedback. If there's any sort of problem, you know and feel that they try their best to solve it. One of the ups of Top Banana is the different nights they organize this is especially true if you’re going to stay there for a little while. They have Live Music nights, to poker nights, beer pong night and one of my favorites: the movie night. Essentially the people at Top Banana want you to be happy and have a good time there; not because it is their jobs to do so but because they genuinely care.
I recommend Pheakdey’s cocktails for those who likes sweet and fruity drinks, otherwise their beer is always ice cold. (No kidding, I saw a tiny piece of beer freeze in my glass once because the glasses were so cold). When it comes to the food it is always of good quality and never takes too long.

I would recommend it regardless of whether you are travelling alone or with friends. If you stay there you are almost guaranteed to have a great time.

PS: They have some of the cleanest female bathrooms that I have ever seen at a bar and in general! Cleanliness is always a plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romane-Petiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top B, General Manager at Top Banana Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Romane, you have no idea how much we appreciate it. You're part of the family, we all love having you around and we feel very lucky to have someone like you in our lives.
See you later at bar, lots of love from everyone xoxox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for four nights, private rooms were all taken so I stayed in the dorm, it was cheap, clean and comfortable, had hot showers and AC. The staff are really nice and friendly, bartenders are quite fun and seem to enjoy working there. The bar area is great, very sociable, can get really busy at night, great if you want to party, if not, plenty of other places, bars, restaurants, cafes, within a walking distance. There was a lot of noise coming from the constructions across the street early in the morning, it's not their fault but still they apologised for the inconvenience and gave me earplugs when I mentioned it the next day.
Good times, good people, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william_r_spade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top B, General Manager at Top Banana Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for this awesome review, we are all very happy that you had a good time with us and hope you'll be back soon for some more fun, until then enjoy the rest of your travels and be safe on the road x.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here twice during our trip through Cambodia and we always had a great time! The staff is really friendly and fun, especially at night :) The rooms are clean and worth the money you pay for it. Here are always lots of backpackers to get to know, the atmosphere is relaxing and you almost feel like home. Great coffee and breakfast! Best place to stay in Phnom Penh!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bini8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top B, General Manager at Top Banana Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome review, we are delighted you had such a great time and we hope you will come and hang out with us next time you're in Phnom Penh, until then enjoy the rest of your trip and be safe on the road, lots of love from the top banana family x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay, the dorms are clean and the beds comfortable, good breakfast quite cheap, rooftop bar is really good if you want to party. A lot of tuktuk are always waiting downstairs. Great place to meet other people.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Thie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top B, General Manager at Top Banana Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review, we are happy you had a good time with us, especially when the bar got a bit crazy, it tends to happen a bit, we like having fun and we're glad you enjoyed it! Until next time, be safe on the road and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#12 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Banana Guesthouse

Property: Top Banana Guesthouse
Address: #9Eo Corner St 278 & St 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Top Banana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Banana Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing