We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Banana Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Couldnt fault our stay!
Very clean place, lovely staff, great food and a comfy bed, rooms are very secure with double locks, mosquitocovers on the windows and at a great price. The lounge area is great for a chillout, rooftop bar with beer on draft. Only supposed to stay one night we stayed for three!!
Thanks guys we had a great time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is in tuk tuk heaven; the food is great and the beer is cold.
We had an unfortunate issue with our room and the manager was very professional in his approach.
As my title says, potential is here. Theres a great bar/lounge area for a social atmosphere and is in a good spot for tours etc.
Stairs are plenty!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pros - bar upstairs was chill to sit and take advantage of their happy hour. Good location many restaurants on the street and easy to explore the city.
Cons- very dark room with poor lighting and no window. Many tuk tuk drivers always waiting outside and hasting you as soon as you were in sight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pros: I got a really cheap room (around $10) , the bar is lively and good to meet new people, although reading the reviews below the staff were really friendly and helpful to me and the room had a secure padlock and lock so my gear felt secure.

Cons: My toilet / washroom was really badly lit and there was no warm water. I think their may have been bed bugs as i woke up next day and was covered in red bites (could have been mosquitoes but i doubt it)

Summary: was relieved to find somewhere really late in the day for great price but was equally glad to move on the next morning. Go to roof top bar for cheap beers and travelers but probably better to pay an extra 10 dollars and stay in luxury at the One Up Banana Hotel across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakleafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Four people had their electronics stolen from the dorm lockers when I stayed here. The lockers were locked but a guest was able to force the lockers open and have enough time to go through everyone's backpacks. Staff were indifferent to the situation. Yes, it could have happened anywhere but Top Banana has no security or surveillance cameras so it's a perfect target for thieves. Go for drink if you're into that kind of scene but don't bother staying here.

Room Tip: Away from the bar. Music plays loud and until the early hours Friday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a top choice to stay in the lonely planet this hostel was appalling. It looked nice to begin with but after getting back to the dorm found every locker open and everyone robbed. The staff were completely unresponsive and although speaking to the manager who reassured us the police would be here in the morning. Of course he was uncontactable and nowhere to be seen the next day. The dorm is right next to the bar which on a Friday night has 100 random people in it! Go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recommended Top Banana by some other travellers and the price was very reasonable. The location was great, it was about a 5 minute Tuk-Tuk ride from the bus station so no problem there. It was a bit confusing at first, because you have to climb up a series of stairs to get to the hostel itself, as it takes up the upper floors of the building. We had a dorm room which was very nicely air-condiitoned. The beds and linen were very clean and comfy, however because the beds were all spread on the floor there was not much room for peoples bags. Bathroom and facilities were clean as well. Staff was helpful and polite. View from the top roof bar and lounge is great, cheap food and drink. They had a little movie room for guests to watch movies as well. Close to a main road with many markets and access to cheap food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisBetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#45 of 274 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 274 in Phnom Penh
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 334 in Phnom Penh
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Banana Guesthouse

Address: #9Eo Corner St 278 & St 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $16 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Top Banana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Banana Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing