We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the river... Street 278 is where it's at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Banana Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I turned up to stay for a couple of nights and left 10 days later! Then I came back, and then I came back again before I realised that that I should probably see some other places on my abandoned Cambodia itinerary...
One of the most sociable hostels I stayed in on a 5 month tour of SE Asia. Fantastic staff, chilled out atmosphere, clean reasonably priced rooms and great food. It can indeed be noisy around the bar area but things normally wind down long before midnight and the party moves elsewhere.
Definitely the best social hub for travellers in Phnom Penh. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnusgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Top Banana Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 403 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

If you are a solo traveler or traveling with a friend and you want to meet people and just have a good time this is the place to stay. True it can sometimes be difficult to sleep if you are on the top floor but the rooms downstairs are much quieter. The party atmosphere at this hostel is contagious and everyone is so wonderfully welcoming. I stayed at the top banana for two nights and met a whole slew of cool people then moved to a different hotel (because they were fully booked for the next few nights and I hadn't reserved a room for more than two) and still came back to this place to hang out at night. My bill for two days including the two meals I ate there per day plus the room for two nights as well as a fair amount of drinks both nights was $46! Can't beat that! The food is really tasty and its easy to get to most places in phnom penh from here. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is outgoing and open to new experiences and looking to make new friends and have good times during their travels.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlly0300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Sometimes you are lucky, and sometimes you are not...but for me, my stay in Top Banana was very nice :-) Although you had to climb very steep stairs, I really liked to coziness of the place.

The wifi was ok. The food was good and the area was just right and sensible. Mr. Mali was really kind enough to bring us around PP and to arrange for everything we need. I'm just sad that we had to leave in a rush and wasn't able to stick something on the wall (hahaha)! Maybe next time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdhrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I really liked this place for it's price ($8) a night and it's proximity to all the sights I wanted. The room was clean and small, but so loud til 4 am! It is also a bar, which they blast music all night, it sounded like the party was in our room. I assume they make more from the bar, that's why it's not important how well the guests sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel22much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

It was EXTREMELY loud at night. I wore ear plugs and it still felt like the music was next to me. My bed was shaking from the bass. We stayed for 3 days, then came back for 1 night a week later. We stayed in the exact same room and they charged us more for the room even after we told them the first price we paid. They said they didn't know the real rate for the room so just guessed.
They also do not help you explore the city at all. No map, no advice of what to do or see. Not a fun place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

nice vibe, clean rooms, very friendly staff i think 1 of the guys is called marley hes really cool he brought us to all the sights for a cheap fee, food is great and u meet loads of other travellers in the lounge area! only bad thing is carting the back pack up the flights of stairs at the entrance!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed here for a week, and this is the place to be in Phnom Phem! Very friendly staff, good value for money, and the Mini Banana's dorm are excellent! 4dollar a night for a brand new dorm is amazing!! Thanks for the boss and his wife for taking us out for some real Cambodian karaoke fun!! :))

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szenkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 271 in Phnom Penh
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 271 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#72 of 271 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 246 in Phnom Penh
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 246 in Phnom Penh
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 331 in Phnom Penh
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Banana Guesthouse

Address: #9Eo Corner St 278 & St 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $15 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Top Banana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Banana Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing