We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money but not the best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kriss Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kriss Guesthouse
Ranked #169 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value for money but not the best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spring Guesthouse was fantastic value for money hotel ($6/night for a twin fan ensuite with cold water and TV) compared to the other options in Phnom Penh. The rooms and facilities were all very clean and well kept with nice added touches such as artwork, free toothbrush/paste, water bottle, soap, and computer. Service was excellent and I appreciated the help getting my backpack up to my room as the cheaper rooms are located on the 7th floor. The only downside was that the location wasn't near the center of the city nor very peaceful or nice. Still a quick tuktuk ride from the river and attractions, just not walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
22
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

With this one you get what you pay for. $7 for a room with fan , wifi, not a bad location and the rooms a clean and well sized.

The staff are friendly and were very helpful when we inadvertently left our passports at their reception and left for the next town!!

The one criticism is that in order to save some money (electricity is very expensive in Cambodia hence the big difference in cost between AC and fan rooms) the cable link was switched off at 12am – bit frustrating when you have 10mins to go on a film! Although you could argue that I shouldn’t be watching movies when travelling to such an interesting City!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bechtheim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in May 2012 and took some precautions in the room like locking our backpacks and taking the room key with us, telling the cleaning staff NOT to enter our room\ not to clean up. Unfortunately, we left some money hidden in a book and when we came back in the evening, the money was gone. Nobody knew anything about the second doorkey and, of course, the camera on our floor wasn't working!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

AC room for $10, be rude not to. Compared to all the $7 windowless grotty rooms we saw in 20 other GH in the area this one is head and shoulders above. Staff friendly and helpful, although their commission on bus tickets is huge, so go directly to the bus company office. WiFi temperamental at best. Overall, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheese_monkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Would really recommend this place having done quite a lot of wandering around Phnom Penh trying to find somewhere decent. On the minus side a lot of floors and no lift so be ready for a bitof a climb. On the plus side the rooms are reasonably well sized, clean and the stafff are freindly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very helpful staff, offered us hot water for our instant soup, carried our bags up to the fifth floor, booked our bus ticket to ho chi minh and helped us organize our day to the killing fields! Room clean in a okay location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I am from Siem Reap Angkor Wat, I travel to Phnom Penh several time and stay in Spring Gh, 2 night and 3 nights depend on How long my clients want to do tours in Pp city. them we head other cites.
the first of my time the bed was big and pillow so soft and room clean enough. but the other one pillow is for leg was so hard. i think it was so tied..! then o told them. when i stay there again
all hard leg pillow was disappear..! i think scared to make other complain again and no lift.
you to make sure you get second floor or first..! the fourth is too high not fix with older 50 year old.

the staff was so helpful the lady owner friendly too. but if you have a car with you..! make sure park before every one. there only three cars can lodge.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny second floor avoid 3-4 floor too hight not fix older 50 yls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Phat Cambodia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Henglong I Hotel
Henglong I Hotel
#188 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#70 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tattoo Guest House
Tattoo Guest House
#198 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#17 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#46 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia
Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia
#115 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kriss Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriss Guesthouse

Property: Kriss Guesthouse
Address: #34, Street 111 | Sangkat Boeng Prolet, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Spring Guest House)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kriss Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing