We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food by the riverfront.”

Anjali Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #241 of 1,443 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cambodian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of a colonial building along Phnom Penh’s vibrant riverside, Anjali Restaurant and Bar is the perfect place to relax and watch the world go by whilst sampling the best value meals (Asian, Western, Indian) and drinks in this area of the city.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food by the riverfront.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner here with it's varied menu - khmer, western and Indian. The food was delicious - the only downfall was the service and timing of dishes - a little slow. That said we would still go back. The happy hour between 5 and 8 makes the cocktails very affordable. Get a table at the front as the back of the restaurant can get very hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you found your food to be ‘delicious’, yet we apologise for the slow service. During the past few weeks we have been extremely busy and this can lead to some longer than we would like waits in serving our customers, however we really are doing all we can to be as efficient as possible. All our meals are prepared freshly so this can take some time, but we believe this is better than using pre-prepared meals and just warming them up. Finally we are very happy to hear that you would return and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    31
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great - say no more!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tuk tuk driver suggested Anjali - thank you. Some of the best food we had whilst in Cambodia, ended up eating here 3 times. Place very clean, food delicious, staff friendly, great location, very good value. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are humbled that you found Anjali to serve ‘Some of the best food we had whilst in Cambodia’, this is high praise indeed. I am also pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and the meals good value, as the Manager these are both very important to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good Indian food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have to disagree with the previous reviewer. I am from Indian and have been working in Phnom Penh for a few months now and Anjali is one of the places I go to when wanting a little taste of home. My favorites are the Chicken Rogan Josh and Alu Gobi, plus the samosas are very good. The spices used are fresh and full of flavor and taste quite authentic. The one thing that is not authentic, but in my opinion is an improvement over Indian meals back home is that they only use chicken breast, so no bones to worry about. Maybe not the best Indian restaurant in town but certainly up there, with more than reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spicychili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear you return to Anjali regularly for our Indian dishes as this is the best compliment a restaurant can receive, returning customers. Being an Indian we take your feedback very seriously and we are so happy that you find our Indian dishes to taste authentic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Mediocre Indian Food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an okay breakfast here, but when we returned for lunch my wife and I were both disappointed by the Indian dishes we ordered. Both my fish masala and her chicken korma were average at best. Maybe they do better on Western or Khmer food, but I can't really recommend their Indian food. Phnom Penh has some solid Indian restaurants if Indian is what you're after (try Sher-e-Punjab).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Indian dishes you ordered. Whilst we strive to please all our customers this is not always possible as different people have different tastes. The majority of feedback we receive regarding our Indian dishes is very positive so we feel we are on the right track. If you could provide more details as to why you felt your meals were average we can then look into this and address the issues if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great grub!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What we really liked about Anjali was their varied menu with both local and Western dishes. We like to try out the local offerings whereas our children are not so keen and would much prefer food they are familiar with. They loved the burgers and French fries, whilst we really enjoyed our fish amok and vegetable noodle soup. The children also dragged us back the next morning (not that we were complaining) for breakfast so that they could have sausage, bacon, egg and baked beans. All our meals were well cooked and were good value for money. We would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneSusan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you like our varied menu, our intention is that we can cater to customers eating together who may have different tastes / desires. We are happy to hear that your children enjoyed their burgers and you enjoyed your Amok and Noodle Soup. Also please thank your children for you returning the next day for breakfast. We are delighted that you would recommend Anjali – thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anjali Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Anjali Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing