We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Indian Food”
Review of Anjali Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Anjali Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cambodian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of a colonial building along Phnom Penh’s vibrant riverside, Anjali Restaurant and Bar is the perfect place to relax and watch the world go by whilst sampling the best value meals (Asian, Western, Indian) and drinks in this area of the city.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an okay breakfast here, but when we returned for lunch my wife and I were both disappointed by the Indian dishes we ordered. Both my fish masala and her chicken korma were average at best. Maybe they do better on Western or Khmer food, but I can't really recommend their Indian food. Phnom Penh has some solid Indian restaurants if Indian is what you're after (try Sher-e-Punjab).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Indian dishes you ordered. Whilst we strive to please all our customers this is not always possible as different people have different tastes. The majority of feedback we receive regarding our Indian dishes is very positive so we feel we are on the right track. If you could provide more details as to why you felt your meals were average we can then look into this and address the issues if necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

What we really liked about Anjali was their varied menu with both local and Western dishes. We like to try out the local offerings whereas our children are not so keen and would much prefer food they are familiar with. They loved the burgers and French fries, whilst we really enjoyed our fish amok and vegetable noodle soup. The children also dragged us back the next morning (not that we were complaining) for breakfast so that they could have sausage, bacon, egg and baked beans. All our meals were well cooked and were good value for money. We would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MelbourneSusan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you like our varied menu, our intention is that we can cater to customers eating together who may have different tastes / desires. We are happy to hear that your children enjoyed their burgers and you enjoyed your Amok and Noodle Soup. Also please thank your children for you returning the next day for breakfast. We are delighted that you would recommend Anjali – thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hadn't been feeling too well and just really fancied something 'normal'. Anjali hit the spot. I had creamy mushroom soup which was fantastic and a ham and cheese baguette which was good and filling. The waitresses where polite and efficient, and the price surprisingly decent. We will definitely be back before leaving Phnom Penh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased that the soup and baguette you had are just what you needed. I am happy to hear that you found the waitresses to be polite and efficient, this is very important to me. Finally we are delighted that you will return before leaving Phnom Penh, we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location on the riverside, we sat outside and loved gazing over the river and watching the world go by. I ordered the beef loc lac which I must say is one of the best beef dishes I have tasted, I need to get the recipe for this so I can cook it back home. The beef was tender and the sauce peppery, plus it came with rice. Our waitress was friendly, answering all our questions if she could about what to see and do during our stay. But one thing for sure, I will be back for more loc lak!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted and humbled to hear that you feel our Beef Lok Lac is one of the best beef dishes you have tasted, great praise indeed. I am very happy to hear you found our waitresses to be friendly and helpful. Finely we are very pleased to hear that you will be back, we look forward to serving you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Choose this place after reading reviews Tripadvisor . We are vegetarians so other attraction was there vegetarian Menu. We ordered Aloo gobi and Daal curry which was pretty average in that it tasted like curry powder as opposed to spiced separately not unpleasant but certainly not authentic.
Butter naan was fine but our plain nan was not cooked inside very chewy . Good rice portion .
Staff were average to ok not so friendly as other reviewers had mentioned maybe off day.
Had mix up with change but it was genuine mistake which they corrected efficiently.
Prices are reasonable so a plus if on budget.
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank khayam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouleang, Manager at Anjali Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about Anjali, it is very much appreciated. We are concerned that you only found you Indian meals to be average. Regarding your comment that you feel we use generic curry powder, this is incorrect, we make our own garam masala powder by roasting various spices and grinding them in house, to an authentic Indian recipe. The vast majority of our TA reviews comment on how friendly and efficient our staff are, could you please provide further information as to the day and approx. time that you visited so that I can investigate this further, having welcoming and efficient staff is very important to me. We are pleased to hear that you feel our prices are reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anjali Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing