We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great bang for your buck, highly recommend!”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, great bang for your buck, highly recommend!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent 1 night at the 252 when preparing to fly out of Phnom Penh. After having a questionable experience at another hotel in Phnom Penh upon arriving into the captiol (the hotel was allowing sex tourism to go on at the hotel), we decided to switch it up and trust the lonely planet on the way out of Cambodia...boy were we happy about that decision!

The rooms are affordable, spacious, and overall very lovely! We had just come from Koh Rong Island and were very excited about the awesome shower and room! The staff went above and beyond, and was absolutely great. We flew out late on our check out day, and the staff were kind enough to allow us to shower before leaving for the airport!!

There are comfy cabanas that surround the pool, and great fresh squeezed juice! Location is great, a short $2 tuk tuk ride to the Riverfront, $4 after dark.

Recommendation: get rid of one of those (not sure what his name was) tuk tuk drivers out front. One of them was extremely rude to us regarding us getting a taxi (instead of using his services) to the airport. He approached us about it both days we were at the 252, and made us extremely uncomfortable at times. The way he spoke to us was borderline evil...this was our ONLY negative experience while in Cambodia. Additionally, breakfast could be updated...I think the 252 serves egg beaters (or something similar), this was the only time we didn't receive "real eggs" for breakfast (even with free breakfast included in the stay) while in Cambodia.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room, and were very happy with the value and quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lahela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Lahela,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. Indeed, we have a strict policy with regard to sex tourism and do not accept it in our hotel!
We would like to apologize for the rude behavior of the tuk tuk driver outside the gate. They all have numbers on their tuk tuk and should you remember which one it was, we will take action. Also, next time you should experience a similar problem, please do not hesitate to report it to us. With regard to the breakfast, be assured that we don't use egg beaters (this does not exist here in Cambodia), the continental breakfast is served with fresh eggs.
We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    340
    79
    22
    6
See reviews for
209
518
133
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights in December 2013. Design rooms, very nice bathroom, nice pool and pool area. A real safe haven away from the bustling city (while in a very central and convenient location). Friendly staff, food ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ronaki,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we are looking forward to have you back with us.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My second stay at the Hotel 252, sadly for only one night.

We were on the third floor, so lots of steps but after eating all that delicious food at the restaurant we needed them! Simple room with wooden floors, had everything we needed. I love the bathrooms here as they have a seperate shower recess! Great Aircon.

Breakfast is terrific and plenty of options to keep even the fussy eaters happy!

The pool!! This was one of the reason why we stayed this trip, we were on our way to Kampot after arriving from Nepal and wanted a chill out day! It did not disapoint.

Staff are very friendly, helpful and appoachable.

It is a fair way out from riverside, another plus in my eye's! But only a $2 Tuk tuk ride to get there or to most other places. As we are repeat visitors, riverside does not interest us at all.

A terrific stay and it will most likely be our PP home, l highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ann,
Even if it was for one night only, we were happy to have you back with us. And thank you for having written again on TripAdvisor. We hope that you will have a bit more time when you next come to Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is well located (25-minute walk or 10-minute tuk-tuk ride to the Royal Palace. Also, it is a quick walk to the BBK1 district and the Independence Monument). We stayed four nights in total and found it to be a very comfortable and well-fitted small hotel. Service is professional and polite albeit a bit distant for a hotel of this size. Breakfast is adequate - either swiss or continental breakfast. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_R554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Leo,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. To be located in the heart of BKK1 is a big plus as it is a safe area close to many place of interest. We hope to have you back at the 252 next time you visit Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a week at The 252, and I always looked forward to coming back to the hotel! As soon as you stepped through the heavy wooden gate you were in a little piece of paradise. The lovely pool, and the cool and green environment as you walked in, not to mention the lovely staff who were always welcoming, was a real delight and a break from the noisy, dusty and chaotic streets of Phnom Penh. The restaurant served a great range of food for a tiny little kitchen, both local and western offerings, although the small kitchen and variety of dishes sometimes meant you had a fairly long wait. So order in advance, and give yourself time to enjoy a refreshing smoothy or cocktail around the pool while you wait!

Probably the only downside to this hotel was that there was no lift, so lots of stairs if you were staying on the second or third floor. Definitely request one of the ground floor rooms if this is a problem for you.

The rooms were simple and clean, the beds were hard but that was soon fixed when I requested a softer mattress topper.

While this is not the most luxurious hotel in Phnom Penh, it felt like the perfect level for me. Clean and comfy with everything you need, without being too over the top like some hotels I saw. When you are visiting people during the day who have almost nothing, you did not feel like you were being too extravagant while staying in this hotel. And the haven like atmosphere provided the perfect environment to wind down and comtemplate all the amazing sights you had seen in Phnom Penh that day!

I look forward to returning to The 252 one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or first floor room if you have trouble with stairs. Ask for a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Tina,
Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor. We were happy to have you and your friends with us. Indeed, our garden area with the pool and the cabanas is a peaceful retreat from the busy city. Our restaurant serves Asian and Western dishes, all made from fresh ingredients, the reason for which it might take a bit longer, especially if you are group and order at the same time. But as you mention, one can sip a cool cocktail. We are looking forward to have you back here with us soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed two nights in Phnom Penh at The 252 and really liked the hotel. Rooms were stunning, with the best shower we found on our trip, really nice modern design and clean. Breakfast was delicious, especially the juices. Hotel has a great pool with outdoor seating/lounge area. Staff were friendly and very helpful too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear BeckieLouise,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the design of the rooms and your stay here at the 252. It is true that our walk-in shower are very much appreciated by our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cambodia.

Best regards,
Stépane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

So lovely to walk through that wooden door from the hot street to find this gem! Great ambience and friendly lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us. My 15 year old spent some time alone there whenever he was tired of sightseeing and was well looked after. Meals good with plenty of variety, plenty of choice from the bar. Pool clean, pool seating areas kept clean and tidy. As it is not too big, the hotel was an area of quiet calm in a fantastically crazy city. Our first room on 2nd floor was a bit better than the next one on the 3rd floor which had a tired looking wood floor. The location was perfect, a short tuk tuk ride to most sights. Enjoyed our time there very much.

Room Tip: Balcony room might be nicer next time, although the back rooms were very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000feebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us, especially that your son could spend some time around the pool when he was not fancy on sightseeing. Regarding the rooms on the third floor, unfortunately you stayed with us just before we renovated the rooms! We changed all the furniture and the rooms are now shining in new splendor. We hope to have you all back here at the 252 next time you are in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing