We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #11 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

From the moment myself and my girlfriend stepped foot into The 252, we knew we'd made the right decision on where to stay in Phnom Penh! Before we arrived, the hotel arranged for a friendly Tuk Tuk driver (who was so good we used him for the rest of our stay - ask for Mr Lim No 5!) to pick us up from the bus station, something which took a great weight off our shoulders when arriving tired and late in the evening in an unknown city.
The hotel is situated on a quiet, unassuming side street, but what really takes your breath away is the oasis you are met with when you open the sliding door from the street and are greeted with a beautiful swimming pool and bar area that immediately makes you feel as if you're miles away from the hectic pace of life going on in the streets around you.
The staff were impeccable, always serving us with a smile on their face and the owner was a pleasure to deal with. The hotel really couldn't do enough for us.
All the Tuk Tuk drivers outside the hotel were well behaved and what really took the stress out of hiring one of the them was the fact that the hotel had a price list in reception that had been pre-agreed with all the drivers, so you were always guaranteed to get the hotel rate and were never going to be ripped off...something that makes life in Asia that little bit easier!
The rooms were lovely and some of the best that we'd seen on our trip throughout Vietnam and Cambodia. All mod cons (TV, Wifi, air con etc) and the boutiquey feel was very evident with the overall decor. The restaurant food was also delicious and the free breakfast top notch.You could have a continental breakfast (eggs, bacon, fruit, bread and jam) or Swiss with fruit and muesli etc.
My girlfriend and I were wracking our brains but we really couldn't find anything to fault The 252 on. My only slight criticism might be that the current literature says that massages are available downstairs in the pool area (no hours of availability mentioned), however when you come to arrange one they are only done in your room and only between 10am-5pm if you give prior notice. I really am nitpicking here though! I honestly can't recommend The 252 enough and would love to stay there again if I come back to Phnom Penh in the future

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Trisuk,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you only could fault us on the availability of the massages ;-) Our masseuse just had a baby and is on a short maternity leave, the reason for which the massages are currently available at restricted times only. Happily our masseuse will be back soon…
We hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    333
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
507
132
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

A slice of tranquility hidden amongst the busy streets of Phnom Penh! What a beautiful place... Lush green plants and an overflowing pool greet you as you enter the hotel. The staff were so helpful and the owner even organised a hotel for me in Siem Reap as I was moving on the next day. Even the tuc tuc driver was helpful and so friendly. Can't speak highly enough of The 252 and its staff, I definitely recommend to others looking for a clean, relaxing and affordable hotel (with features). Can't wait to return, thank you!

Room Tip: Room 16 very spacious and quiet, on top floor so provides a free workout too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kelly,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us. We are always happy to help and make our customers’ stay as smooth as possible by arranging transportation, accommodation and any other needs. We are looking forward to have you back with us.
Best wishes,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
241 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at lots of hotels in Phnom Penh, some very similar to The 252 but this is miles ahead of the competition. We had deluxe room for 2 nights and a standard room for one night. Both rooms were really big and very comfortable. Beds are firm, I wouldn't say hard, but beds are very personal so. We all have a different view. TV signal is perfect with lots of channels. Wifi works...and it's fast. From experience we know that's it's hard to find a hotel where everything works.....but this one has it all. The pool is great too. The staff are so good, everyone is polite, smiley and friendly....always. The 252 is definitely the best we've stayed at in PP and will be our choice for any future visits.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here at the 252. Our staff is checking thoroughly all the amenities as we like to hold the promises we make on our website. With regard to the mattresses, I share your view that we are all different. As we are aware of this, we provide soft mattresses upon request. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I pushed the wooden slidding door and was amazed by the nice pool and the pavillons next to it. The check-in ran very smoothly and the ladies at the front desk were helping me with my travel arrangements through Cambodia. Then I was brought to my room and I had again this wow feeling: the room was very spacious with a very nice design. I was happy to have taken a deluxe room as I had a balcony overviewing the garden with its pool. As I arrived in the late afternoon I decided to have a cocktail first and then dinner at the hotel. Both were very delicious, such as breakfast the next morning. The staff is gorgeous and always looking after their guests.... It was the best hotel so far and I am looking forward to come back next week before taking my flight back to Europe.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Karin,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we are looking forward to have you back this week.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

If there is a better place to stay in Phnom Penh for your money than I am yet to hear of it. Great food, wonderful staff, perfectly simple rooms, good pool. Many other hotels in the region/world could learn a lesson from this understated place. Well designed, well run, well worth it.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second or third floor with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKFamilySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear UK family,
Thank you for having stayed with us again. We hope that no one will recommend another hotel to you as we are happy to keep you with us ;-) See you soon again…
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in 252 and it was gavntastic. Really quiet and private. As a female solo traveller wanted somewhere that felt safe and this was just that. Bedrooms are huge, bathroom is lovely (although shower water was only lukewarm). Pool area is lovely and relaxing after a hectic day of sightseeing. All the staff are rally friendly and the owner is always available with a friendly smile. Having lived in Asia for a while and done a lot of travelling in this time, this is by far the best hotel in this price range. Superb value for money. Will definitely recommend to friends and use again if ever in Cambodia in the future. Eimear -Ireland

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Eimear,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you felt in good hands. It is true that our guests love to chill in the pavilions sipping a cool cocktail after a day of sightseeing. We hope to have you back with us next time you visit Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have spent 3 nights at the 252 and it was the best hotel during our trip through South-East Asia. The room are spacious, very clean and with all amenities you need. You even have a dock-in station for your iPod! The staff is very welcoming and it seems that nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast is delicious, I especially enjoyed the Swiss breakfast, and they have a Nespresso machine - the big plus for me ;-)
The pool area is great and to sip a cocktail in one of the cabanas is more than enjoyable. You should try their mojitos, they are fantastic! Also they have a large menu with Asian and Western food at very reasonable price and everything we ordered was prepared fresh and you could taste it.
The only regret was not to have stayed longer! Phnom Penh is an interesting city where you can do so many things and to come back to the hotel was always like coming home...
We highly recommend this hotel and will come back soon... Thank you guys for the warm welcome and for all the good tips you gave us....
Warmest regards,
Nadine

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room on ground floor and we just loved it as we were close to the pool and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nadine,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that the Nespresso machine is a good thing to have, I personally am addicted to it ;-) We are looking forward to welcome you back next time you are in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing