We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #13 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean, comfortable spacious rooms. Very well-run. We stayed here on arrival in Phnom Penh and again for a night before we left. The pool and cabanas are a great place to lounge during the worst heat of the day. Breakfasts are very good. The Asian food at the restaurant is a bit on the safe side but there's lots of great restaurants in the area.

Our plane left at 11pm the last day and the manager was happy to let us stay by the pool and make use of the shower and washroom facilities at the bar before we left in the evening.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are on the lower floors. No elevator, so you may have to walk up 4 floors i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Meals by the pool, in-room massages, friendly staff, easy transportation options, well-designed rooms, and a decent location make for this hotel to be a excellent base to explore the wonderful city of Phnom Penh. Airport pick-up and drop-off services were perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here again in February 2013 for a total of 5 nights (split into three separate visits) after visiting in 2012 and I am pleased to say that the hotel would remain my number one choice in Phnom Penh. Both rooms we stayed in were spacious and clean with good facilities. Breakfast and food from the bar is tasty.

Service from reception is excellent, they helped us with our onward transport arrangements before our arrival and were always helpful and willing to talk during our stay.

The road outside the hotel appears to have been resurfaced since our last visit, making things out there fell a little cleaner. There's building work going on nearby but I suspect that this is the case with most hotels in Phnom Penh. The only real downside I could mention for this hotel is that we had 3 power cuts during two of our stays. I doubt the hotel can do anything about this, and they lasted no more than an hour, but it can make things difficult, depending on the time the power goes out.

We still love Phnom Penh and will definitely be going back for more. Try to get hold of a copy of the free visitors brochure by Canby publications as we found this as useful (if not more) as our lonely planet guide in terms of things to see and do. Some of the material from their brochures is on their website. The atmosphere on the riverside at night is really good and there are some great places to eat and drink all across the city, at ridiculously low prices. We found the people to be friendly in all the places we visited and felt very safe at all times.

Can't wait for my next trip to Phnom Penh, and I'll choose the 252 once again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Feeni&Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great stay at 252 on our recent trip to Cambodia.
Staff were lovely and extremely helpful - I am particularly grateful for them going the extra mile to get a hat I left at the hotel to the airport by Tuk-Tuk in time for my flight.
The food was great - nice range of Khmer or Western food to be enjoyed underneath a beautiful mango tree and good breakfasts.
Nice pool which was perfect for our three children (13, 9, and 6) to have fun in.
Rooms are spacious and have a cooling atmosphere that makes for a welcome retreat from the intense Cambodian weather.
And to top it off - very good value.
I couldn't say anything bad about the experience and would definitely want to stay there if I return to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a nice view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently and loved it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are big and in very good condition. The whole atmosphere is peaceful and would recommend this hotel to anyone, the best hotel on our entire trip!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for five nights recently, were given a room on a higher floor but I think they looked at our age and moved us next morning to the 1st floor and at the same time gave us a softer mattress to put on the bed. We had no complaints, staff were very good and friendly, very clean room and amenities and would stay there again. We were unsure if our friend had got our bus tickets for the next morning and Stephane (the owner) told us to ring him if she hadnt got them and he would arrange it. We left our main luggage there while we went to Kampot and stayed another night on the way back,The pool area was lovely and sitting having a nice breakfast nearby was a lovely start to the morning.

Room Tip: I think I would avoid the ground floor and opt for the first floor. No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gariochlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The worst thing about our visit was we only got to stay one night.
We received a friendly welcome and a welcome drink.
The room were very comfortable and modern. The mattresses were firm, which I like.
There was a pool and nice area to sit around.

The cost was higher than we paid i other places in Cambodia but worth the money.

I am not sure about the fitness center or spa so I marked these as average

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MajesticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We hope that you will have more time to stay with us next time you are in Phnom Penh and enjoy a massage and/or a mani-/pedicure.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 277 in Phnom Penh
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 277 in Phnom Penh
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing