We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #11 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in October 2012 in the 252 & thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very friendly, very clean 252 Hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & would definitely stay at the hotel again should we visit Phnom Penh. We had an amazing holiday in Cambodia & staying at the 252 Hotel added to our pleasure. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    333
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
507
132
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My mom and I had a great time at the 252, service was always with a smile! We appreciated the fact that someone at the desk was able to provide us some advise on what to do whilst in the Cambodian capital. Also, the pool was lovely and oh-so-inviting... definitely something to look forward to after a sticky day out on the city. Rooms were beautifu, ultra modern/minimalist and comfortable at the same time- which is a balance I thought would be close to impossible to achieve; and was proved wrong.

Only downside is the exorbitant tuktuk "hotel" rates offered outside the hotel by tuktuk drivers- barter down to almost half the price!

Room Tip: get a room round the back of the hotel as construction is still underway at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aveena86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved our stay at The 252 in October 2012. The hotel was clean, modernly furnished and the staff were amazing. The pool is gorgeous and the pool-side cabanas offered a relaxing spot after a day of sight seeing. Our room was lovely - we stayed on the third floor. There was 3 of us and we had an extra bed put in. Even with the extra bed our room was spacious. The bathroom was gorgeous too. The breakfasts are great but I recommend the lok lak on their dinner menu. Margarhitas are pretty good too! I look forward to returning to The 252.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms as they don't have a patio and just open on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Phnom Penh. Lots of tuk tuks when you step out, minutes away from the Grand Palace, nice Embassy row, etc. And my room is quiet.

You have to set your expectations correctly though. This is a basic hotel which is sufficient for most purposes. This is not a boutique designer hotel. You can see the wear and tear on the stairs, tables, etc. The wooden floors in the room are a bit dusty, so it felt a bit weird walking barefoot. But for me this is not that significant.

What deters me from booking again is the air conditioning. For European standards, this is probably sufficient - around 25 degrees. For me, it's called room temp. I specifically asked the manager Nicole when I booked months ago what is the temperature in the room because Im particular about it, she said it's 21 degrees. 21 degrees is ok, 25 is not.

The service from staff varies. Some have sufficient English and are very courteous. The girl at the night desk and early morning seem like she was forced labor. When I pointed out the air con problem, she just said I dont know and walked away. There is no Manager on the floor, which I understand for a hotel this size may not be economical, but there should be a contingency number to call if there is a problem, which in may case, there is.

And the water in the shower, and the water heater, are sporadic. So the water spurts and goes away, and when water is out, water becomes hot and cold. Temperature is not a big problem in a tropical country, but it still is a glitch.

Owner Stephane is sincerely apologetic for what happened, and offered a USD 15 rebate. I appreciate that he acknowledges the problem and tries to compensate.

Once these are fixed though, it's an okay hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back where it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. As discussed while you were at our hotel, we apologize for the issue with the A/C. Upon your email back in July, we checked the exact temperature in the room and it went down to 21°C. As in most hotels that care about the environment the A/C are cut while the guests are out, so it might take a bit of time until the room is cooled down, which was pointed to you by our front desk officer. Your comment regarding the wear and tear of the stairs, you might understand that it easy to repaint the staircase (which is done twice a year, such as all of our rooms), but not very easy for the stairs themselves. We have a high occupancy rate which goes along with a “constant traffic” in the staircase. Anyhow, even if the paint is gone at some points, the stairs are clean and we will repaint as soon as possible. The wooden floor in the rooms on the top floor is cleaned every day and there is no reason not to walk barefooted.
We would like to point out that our managers are on duty from 6:30am to 7:30pm, and we as owner spend most of our day at the 252. If we are not present, we are always reachable, one just need to ask to speak to us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a business stay here for 5 nights at the end of September. That meant I was out after breakfast and back just before dark. I can say the breakfast, including warm fresh mini-baguettes with jam and cafe were a great start to the day. Relaxing by the pool at the end of the day was a great way to unwind. The staff were friendly and polite. The room and bathroom was clean and functional. Internet was good. And it is a great location to visit restaurants and cafes around the area. All in all I can definitely recommend this hotel. My only complaint is that it is very popular - I have tried to book there again but often it is booked out. But that must be a good thing, right?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxaca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Minimalistic but warm deco, full of details in an oasis of calm, this hotel has earned the label of "boutique". The service is splendid, the food is real good, the rooms are spacious and full of details like the speakers they provide so you can plug in your IPod and listen to music like at home. Very glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pochote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during our long tour of South East Asia. Was pleasantly surprised when the gate rolled back from the outside street. Yes, there are buildings and building work going on around the hotel but its in the city so that is expected. We stayed on the top floor and we knew there weren't lifts or phones but it wasnt a problem. If you have mobility or fitness issues then opt for a low floor or find another hotel. Its not rocket science!
The pool was very clean and we enjoyed the chance to cool off and relax in the delightful poolside cabanas.
The rooms were clean and spacious with A/C and ceiling fan. We used the laundry service which was quick and very cheap. How do you get your washing to smell so nice?
We ate every night at the hotel, which was reasonably priced and the service was excellent. The quality of the food and choice was really very good too. The Khmer set meal for 2 was delicious and well worth trying. Treatments and massages etc are very cheap.
Would come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a room overlooking the pool. Avoid high floors if you dont like walking up s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPPS_Monks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing