We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real boutique hotel experience”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2011

After 3 weeks around Asia we really enjoy this place! Nice big room with concrete furniture.... Beautiful decoration.
Close to a lot of restaurants and bar (5mm walking distance).
The staff was really helpful and the manager as well! the breakfast is excellent and the restaurant too! Don't forget the cocktail.
The staff arrange for us a taxi to go to Siemens Reap for a much chipper price as in the city agency.
No construction next door like spoke the other review, just one in 50m sometimes a little bit noisly but not on the morning, this is Asia, this is Cambodia!
Sure the best hotel from us trip, we can just recommended this place for everyone who want try a real boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank AnneD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

Pros: good location, nice pool, excellent breakfast, spacious clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff. Cons: building work going on next door, no lift so if you're on top floor it's a long slog. Finally, we asked the reception staff to book us on the Mekong Express to Siem Reap which they did but neglected to tell us that the bus would send a tuktuk to collect us from the hotel. It didn't cost much (we'd already arranged a tuktuk and didn't want to let him down) but it was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the252, Propriétaire at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that the rooms and services were to your liking. It is true that our hotel is not equipped with an elevator, but our staff will help our guests to carry their luggage upstairs.
The building in construction is not right next door, there are one building in between. Cambodia is a developing country and especially in Phnom Penh there is lots of construction work going on. Nevertheless, there is a legal requirement of the district which does not allow construction work before 8am and after 5pm. We are sorry to hear that the noise did bother you during your stay, this is difficult for us to know when it's noisly or not. Right now this is quiet again, we hope that still like this!
Please apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your trip to Siem Reap. Indeed, there is an official pick up at our hotel 45 min before the bus leaves. For guests missing that pick up, we organize a transfer to the bus by tuktuk.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated, staff are friendly and helpful and the pool is a bonus. Only downside is noisy construction work going on nearby at the time of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank egnorth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Not many of my friends visited Phnom Penh when they came to Cambodia. I think that's because Angkor is too famous and make this city not as popular as Siem Reap. I am glad that I also visited this city during my trip in Cambodia. The city displays the most important history in the 20th century, Khmer Rouge, and I don't think you should miss that when you travel to Cambodia.

Besides those popular sites in PP, there is another good place to mention, the 252. It locates in a quiet alley, which is what I like, and with tuk tuk (a very convenient way to travel and is a bargain) I have no problem to go to the places I want. The management, Stephane and Jerome, are very nice and friendly. We shared experience and opinions regarding this city, this country and many things... My favorite one is sitting at the bar in the evening chatting with my 2 bartender friends, they make best mojito in Cambodia!! The room is great, comfortable and stylish as you can see on their website. Sorry for my late review, but I just want to say that I had a great time staying in the 252, thanks to you, my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank KathyTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights on a recent trip to PP here based on the recommendations here. I must say the hotel met most of my expectations.

Positivies:
*Spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated room (Pool view deluxe).
*Free wifi.
*Good breakfast.
*Lovely pool & pool area.
*Friendly & helpful staff.

Negatives:
*Construction next door. (The hammering at 7.30 in the morning did not improve my hangover...)
*Internal soundproofing not the best as I could hear footsteps from the room above.

One reviewer below complained about the location. It is in walking distance to Street 278 with lots of choices and there is a mini mart and shopping centre on the main road. Tuk Tuks to the tourist areas are only $1.50 (negotiate hard) and take 10mins max.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iprahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the252, Propriétaire at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We apologize for the construction noise in the neighborhood. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do, aside from reminding the neighbors to adhere to the legal requirement of the district which does not allow construction work before 8am and after 5pm.
The noise from the room upstairs is not due to a bad insulation, but there are some guests that are noisier than others. Please do not hesitate to let us know next time so that we react right away.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel was exceptional value for money. We ate at the restaurant one night, the food was delicious - followed by a good breakfast the next morning. The pool looked gorgeous although we didn't actually make it in! The rooms were both tasteful and immaculate - would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a base for a short stay in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank JanR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Extremely comfortable, really clean, awesome service.We had a totally comfortable stay at the 252. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
20  Thank MauigDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 275 in Phnom Penh
2,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#7 of 275 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 275 in Phnom Penh
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $50 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing