We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to do some sightseeing and it was a great base but the surrounding nightlife wasn't great. On arrival we were taken to a deluxe room by mistake which to be honest wasn't any better than the standard room. The only difference was a small window and then 15mins later they came back and moved us. The hotel is clean and rooms were spacious. Breakfast was nice aswell.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Blue Tongue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

A new, clean, modern, very well located place. The rooms are very good, although some of them have only high windows with no outlook.

There's a cafeteria on the ground floor, and the door is open day and night, so it's a noisy place (high volume music across the street). Anyway, it was OK for me.

The staff was nice and useful to us.

Room Tip: Try a high floor to avoid the noise from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nidhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good place if visiting Phnom Penh. Very clean, nice bathroom, friendly and trustworthy staff. I went for 3 nights to get a few more days visa to stay in Thailand. Good beer to be had everywhere around the hotel and some discos, nightclubs to hang out. Not relevant for most folk, I hope, but compared to Thailand the girls are not attractive and the food from the bars generally sucked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyDrama76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at The Blue Tongue for 3 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The rooms (we had a deluxe) were spacious and very well kept. Staff always ready to answer our questions and with a smile. Menu was extensive and while its not 5 star fare its very good and cheap. Very close to the nightlife area of Street 51 without being on it. The Tuk Tuk driver we had didnt try and rip us off as far as we know at least, but our largest bill from him was $7 for half a day.
Venues closeby include Pontoon and The Heart of Darkness. 2 minute walk to either and lots happening on 51 street.

Room Tip: We looked at a standard room but for a little more the deluxe was bigger.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed at Blue Tongue for 5 nights just a few weeks ago.
The first impression I had entering the hotel was very good: the staff was nice and the hall/restaurant is really nice.

But just getting into the room I was a bit disappointed, no windows at all. Ok, this is common in Phnom Penh, but usually in cheap guesthouses and in that case I'm fine with that. While I'm not when I'm paying (if I'm not wrong) 35 USD per night for a twin.

But the worst thing was the sexual tourism. The staff was totally permitting white man to come back with local prostitutes.
And since I do not really appreciate these kinds of holidays, I was not happy to get back to the hotel and find myself in the middle of these couples chatting a bit in the hall and then going upstairs.

Keep this in mind if you are planning to go to Blue Tongue and you do not enjoys these things!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodrickGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was lovely compared to other hotels we had looked at in Phnom Penh. The breakfast was gorgeous and the price was really reasonable. Air conditioning and amazing shower in all rooms! Brill

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is centrally located on Street 174, and is within walking distance to the nightlife area of Street 51. In fact, the Walkabout Pub is just around the corner, less than 10 metres away! Other places of interest within walking distance from the hotel is the Central Market (Phasar Thmey), the National Museum, the Royal Palace, and the Riverfront.

The hotel is new, and as it was opened about 2 years ago. The bed is good, and the rain shower in the bathroom is excellent. Stayed for 3 nights in May 2012 at USD42-00 per night for the Deluxe Double room. Although free breakfast was thrown in, it was very basic. You'll have to pay for a second helping of a cup of coffee! In addition, no electrical kettle was provided in the room. However, staff were very courteous and helpful.

In my honest opinion, the hotel has priced itself out of the competition. Notwithstanding the plus points mentioned above, you could get a better value-for-money hotel nearby. I would not stay in the hotel again unless rooms in all hotels in Phnom Penh are fully booked.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelNomadB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 272 in Phnom Penh
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
#61 of 272 in Phnom Penh
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#132 of 272 in Phnom Penh
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#26 of 272 in Phnom Penh
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
#17 of 333 in Phnom Penh
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 246 in Phnom Penh
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $33 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing