We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, lovely rooms and a nice breakfast!”
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, lovely rooms and a nice breakfast!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were friendly and our room was large and modern. The breakfast was especially good as you were able to order from a small menu which was a nice change from the usual buffets. We stayed two nights and on the first night we just stayed near the hotel. On our second day a tuk tuk took us around the city to all the sights we wanted to see (cost about £20 for the day). This helped us find our bearings and we found that if you came out of the hotel and turned left and walked straight, you were at the riverside in 10 mins!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmagiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    114
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
73
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Nice clean rooms, very good bathrooms...nothing special but very comfortable. The staff are nice and the location is good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey-st1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A nice big room provided which was very clean and the staff was very friendly and most helpful. A good breakfast included with a double espresso to get the day started, haven't had that in four months of travel before this. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unrepublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Blue Tongue is very well located in PP, you can walk to many of the cities attractions from here, although if you would rather Tuk Tuk there are plenty at the door step each morning :)
Breakfast is included in the room rate and you have a selection to choose from - very nice.
The rooms are ample size, good a/c and a huge bed (for me) that was very comfy. Great wifi feed, TV and nice bathroom with heaps of hot water.
Very prompt and high standard of cleanliness in the rooms. Front counter staff are very efficient and a good source of local information and organizing taxis / tours and Tuk Tuk's.
I can recommend the Blue Tongue and have already booked the same room again for when i return in a months time.

Room Tip: Take a room on at least the 3rd floor and away from the street. There is plenty of action at street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Maybe it was my room but it was very dark and dorm like building. I found it very impersonal with no style but it was just a one night stay so it was fine. For the same price you can find better places, like Billabong in the neighborhood. Or pay just a little more for the boutique hotels like the Pavillion.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epikorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

we stayed there 2 nights. We had a room with balcony. it was very clean with comfy beds and a great shower. The cafe was clean and the food was tasty. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke very good english. it's away from the noise of the main road but only took 10 mins to walk to the Quay. Definately stay there again.

Room Tip: window less rooms a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed there only 1 night during our trip to Siem Reap but it was almost the best hotel stay during our trip around Cambodia, Sri Lanka and Thailand, It was a perfect value for money!! Very good choice! Room was basic but very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The reception and dinning area is simple but very nice. I would surely come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirdzug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#160 of 267 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Circuit Hotel
Circuit Hotel
#184 of 267 in Phnom Penh
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#110 of 267 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 267 in Phnom Penh
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#107 of 322 in Phnom Penh
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#96 of 322 in Phnom Penh
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Property: Blue Tongue Hotel
Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing