We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
243 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Named after an Australian lizard, the Blue Tongue Hotel was a pleasant surprise. For about $40 we had a large triple room, very clean and with comfortable beds. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was generous. The hotel is not fancy but for the price it's a good deal. It's location is in a relatively quiet area and within a 15 minute walk of great shopping & a short tuk-tuk ride to the Royal Palace and the River Front.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    115
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
73
67
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

The facade is easy to miss even in the day and even more at night. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean. The location is about 5-10 mins by tuk tuk to the royal palace and the river, where most restaurants are. There is a bar right next to the hotel. But if u want a quiet place to have a beer , the lobby is fine. Best thing about this place is the wifi, strong signals and hassle-free log ins. Downside, is not much of a window from the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomson-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

This place was lovely. It was clean, staff were friendly and it was in a good location. The bathroom was particularly lovely, and unexpected. Yes the window was small, but you're in Cambodia, why spend enough time to notice the windows in the hotel. Go out and explore!!

Cheap, clean, comfortable and with the added bonus of a very nice breakfast.

i recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da vinci nile cruise
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I do not normally write negative reports but I found this place not very welcoming. I asked a couple of questions and felt the staff did not go out of their way to help me. The room was very dingy with only a little window very high up and not capable of looking out. There was no extras such as tea or coffee and the bare basics in place. For the price I paid I expected a higher standard as I had come from Siem Reap paid half the price and far superior accommodation The corridors were noisy with people getting back late. I did not really feel this was a family run accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolclarke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I really like this place. The rooms vary between one bed to three beds. Very clean and nice. The room comes with breakfast, which I found to be very tasty. I appreciate the sign next to the check in counter that says no visitors are allowed to stay in the room since the hotel is next to a bar of questionable activities involving foreigners and the local ladies.

Nonetheless, I found the hotel to be quiet, clean and modern.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were wowed by the calm and quiet of the spotless rooms,newly tiled bathrooms, which were also comfortable and featured seemlessly operational WiFi for working. Hospitality was outstanding and food very good, and safely prepared for the timid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed in a superior balcony room and was impressed. Really good size room, comfortable bed and one of the best bathrooms I've had with excellent shower. I prefer the wet room style in Asia as there seems to be so much more room and any stray water from the spray soon dries. Good aircon and room was peaceful at night with no street noise.
Was expecting a paltry breakfast judging from a couple of previous reviews but it was perfectly acceptable if a little basic and yes it does seem a little bit mean to have to pay for a second coffee but I'd have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Circuit Hotel
Circuit Hotel
#184 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#163 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
#58 of 318 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#56 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#91 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Property: Blue Tongue Hotel
Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing