We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average food, poor service - trading on reputation”

FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #60 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant and Bar - Casual open-air dining on the MekongWith a passion for fusion cuisine, FCC group chef has created the FCC menu, introducing generous flourishes of traditional Khmer flavors spiked with funky French influences. While the menu is still built on FCC main-stays such as beer-battered fish and chips, deli-fresh sandwhiches, and wood-fired pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.The BarThe "F", as those know to frequent the big horseshoe bar call it, has served stiff drinks, camaraderie and comfort to a storied cast of journalists and diplomats, movie stars and intrepid travellers since 1993.Back then, when The "F" first opened its doors, the bar gave shelter from the gritty and tense streets of the capital, where an uneasy peace was just taking hold. Writers and their sources traded secrets in the shadows. Diplomats drank their per diems, swapped social strategies and spilled their martinis.Today, the bar still serves a stiff extra-dry, and the journos still pass through on the great hunt. The tension is gone. But there's still plenty of action, and the liquor, on occasion, still gets spilled.Open Daily 7:00 a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, average food, poor service - trading on reputation”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went on the basis of recommendations and had it not been for the location and getting a table right on the balcony, it would have been a real disappointment. We had a reservation at 7pm, so pretty early, yet several basics were unavailable (e.g. focaccia, ham for pizza). It took some time for the waitress to understand a fairly simple order for five people. After about 25 minutes we were served a starter and a main course. A few minutes later a second starter arrived. We had to ask at this point where our drinks were. They came about five minutes later in stages. The children's milkshake were different sizes, but the waitress refused to accept that. Main courses were equally haphazard in their delivery and we had to ask for the starter debris to be cleared. I was served my pudding while I was literally still chewing on my main course. I made the point that I wasn't ready but it was left anyway.

The food was all fine but really unremarkable. We had Asian and Western dishes. For the price (relative to other restaurants in PP), not worth the premium.

To be fair, when I left no tip, the head waitress did ask if everything had been ok and apologised (graciously) for the poor service. It was a shame that there was no reaction to my various comments to our waitress on the way through the meal.

I don't regret going, but very much for the iconic location and the history of the place than anything else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    949
    526
    165
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Location is great right on the riverside. The menu is ok but a little on the pricey side for Cambodia. The service was good and efficient and the food was nice but not exceptional. Good starting point to Phnom Penh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pje39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing views of the river and good food, too!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

There is a certain atmosphere that you can't quite put your finger on. It might be the wonderful view of the rivers. Maybe, it is the beautiful architecture. Possibly, it is the openness of the whole dining area. Most likely, it is just knowing the history of the place.

The food is good. We have eater here many times and never had anything that we didn't enjoy. The menu has changed many times over the last three years. This is good because there are always some nice, new dishes. The service is adequate - certainly nothing outstanding. It is a bit of a crap-shoot, depending on your server. Like most places in Cambodia, they will not rush you to get out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem M, Manager at FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Paul P,

Thank you for your review of FCC Phnom Penh. We were very pleased to have you and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

At FCC, we are dedicated towards satisfying our customers and are constantly trying to improve our services. In that sense, we are also constantly training our staff members to provide the best service and dedication towards our guests possible. If you have any suggestions as to how we can make the experience more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to contact us at kareem@fcchotels.com.

Once again, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards,

FCC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor service, disappointed”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Just popped in here for a few beers, on the recommendation of Lonely Planet. The word 'overrated' comes to mind.

The waitresses took a random approach to who got complimentary nuts during the famous Happy Hour. This may sound like nitpicking, but it left a bad taste in the mouth of those punters who were overlooked, seemingly at random. In the hospitality game, it's all about the detail. (I know this as a former owner of 2 bar-restaurants).

Was intending to eat here but left early. The place is full of camera-wielding tourists. The River Crown restaurant and bar across the road looks like a better option in 2014.

I mentioned this matter but the staff were not interested.

Stephen Ogden
Saturday June 7, 2014

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampsteadStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem M, Manager at FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear HampsteadStephen,

Thank you for your review of FCC Phnom Penh. We were very pleased to have you and regret you did not fully enjoy your experience with us.

At FCC, we are constantly trying to improve our services and achieve customer satisfaction. We hope that your experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future, and in the meantime, we would highly appreciate it if you provide us with suggestions as to how to improve the quality of our services to your delight. For any suggestions, please contact kareem@fcchotels.com

Once again, we thank you for your honest review, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

FCC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We visited on the back of the reputation in the guide books. We found that it was one of the more expensive restaurants and the food was of a good standard. The service was also of a good standard. I personally found that it lacked in atmosphere and didn't feel very Cambodian and was very much aimed at ex-pats. So if that is not your thing then this may not be for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem M, Manager at FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jo M,

Thank you for your review of FCC Phnom Penh. We were very pleased to have you and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

At FCC, we are dedicated towards satisfying our customers and are constantly trying to improve our services. If you have any suggestions as to how we can make the experience more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to contact us at kareem@fcchotels.com.

Once again, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards,

FCC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to FCC Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing