We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food meets great service”
Review of Lone Star Saloon

Lone Star Saloon
Ranked #189 of 1,443 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Lone Star Saloon is a Texas themed bar and grill located in Central Phnom Penh just a few yards away from the st. 51 entertainment district. We specialize in Southern home cooking. Our menu features Chicken Fried Steak, Slow Smoked Pork Ribs, Pulled Pork Sandwiches.....and many more southern favorites. We are open early for breakfast and stock a full bar. We are primarily an expat's bar, although our staff and clientele are extremely friendly and we can help newbies navigate their way around the city..or the country. We are a family run business and we treat our customers as family. We strive to provide good value for money with inexpensive drinks and healthy food portions. We are not in any way a girlie bar.........just a friendly saloon.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food meets great service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

While staying in cambodia I sampled different items on the menu, and everything was from above average to excellent...stand outs were ribs, tacos, onion rings...portions were large and the food seemed to have a level of quality and care that sometimes is missing in Asia's, western cuisine....service was attentive and friendly with a nice relaxed atmosphere...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go there for the ribs !”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice bar tucked away of the main drag. Some tuk tuk drivers know it but not all....if you have trouble most know Le Cyclo which is very near.
Lone star it's run by an American guy, his Khmer wife and several of her family members. The atmosphere is nice and relaxed and you are always made to feel welcome. For me the thing that sets this place apart are the ribs, which are very good. I am guessing this is probably the only place in Phnom Penh that smoke Thier own and they have been consistently good over a few visits now.
Not a particularly local place to go, but when you just fancy some good old comfort food, this is a good option.

Helpful?
Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ribs!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I came here with some friends on a weekend getaway to Phnom Penh, and decided on Lone Star for dinner. The place is sort of tucked away and a bit rustic, far from the annoying tourist areas, but still close enough to everything.

The ribs were fantastic... smoked and tender, and for good value. The bar also has a lot of hard to find whiskies, ryes and tequilas to sample from.

For true American flavors and comfort food, this place is as good as it gets. A bonus for me (possibly a negative for some others),is that smoking is allowed inside.

I will be back for sure.

Mike ('Maybe Later' in Sihanoukville)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frozendonkeywheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

After eating in Free Bird many times in Phnom Penh, I decided to eat in the Lone Star. I was the only customer and so the service was good, I ordered Cheese Burger and chips, the food was okay and the burger quite big, but the staff did not make me feel at home, they did not make much conversation with me and there was a child taking up their time. I am not a big fan of staff children in a business like this.

The place was quite bright with the lights and so the atmosphere was not quite on track, and the decor a little on the budget side.

Even though the food was okay, the Lone Star did not make me feel I would rush back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonygoesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camboforever, Owner at Lone Star Saloon, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for coming in. Sorry if having kids around is not your cup of tea. My young boy is usually about.........as is our cook's young daughter. We are a family place that is much more a restaurant than a bar, and we love kids around here. Not sure I agree with your comment about atmosphere..............looks pretty Texan to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“western food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

fox news we could do without...even if you are "texan" take it down ...staff are very nice and never frown

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank critical_travelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Saloon also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Lone Star Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing