We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Vietnamese Restaurant

Magnolia Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the corner of Pasteur and Street 242 Magnolia’s publicity leaflets say it aims to serve the best Vietnamese cuisine in town – and on our visit, the claim certainly seemed to be justified. The restaurant is set in a lovely old villa where you can sit either inside or in a leafy courtyard, and all the food is deliciously fresh and flavoursome. Highlights included the crispy Vietnamese pancakes, cooked to order outdoors, roll-your-own fresh spring rolls and cress soup with fishballs. It’s open for breakfast (great Pho) lunch and dinner, and the cocktails are good too. We visited several times during a recent stay in Phnom Penh, and weren’t disappointed once.
Tawonga, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Prices are amazing, food is wonderful......surrounds are tranquil amongst the busyness of Phnom Phen. Great location too. Highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenBoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    113
    37
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice food and place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Good place, large dishes very flexible (we ordered most of our dishes without meat), must come again:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would not take much to make this a top restaurant. At the moment though several things need to be improved. The time it takes to get a drink! The time it takes to have a western meal delivered!
Order Cambodian soup, no problem. Staff seem to gather in groups and like most I guess only do the job for the money. What they don't realize is that if they offered better service then they would get a tip. Nice building, good courtyard. It has a foundation to build on. Order the "pancake" if you go. Money for value but don't hope for anything impressive. Just an average eating spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We passed on this place out of peak hours and have been well welcome. Although not running, the service was good, not speaking English well but comprehensive and the food was generously served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGR-REYMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Throw the dog a bone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Four of us "dined" in this restaurant. The building the restaurant is located in was a attractive building with courtyard and nice balcony and looked worthy of a visit. Things were going well when we were shown to our table and drinks were ordered and arrived promptly. Unfortunately things went downhill from there. Meals arrived slowly and in a haphazard manner. All meals were cold and were returned.After receiving our now warm meals we were amazed at the lack of meat in the duck,chicken and rib meals. The spiders and crickets eaten at Skuon had more protein on the bone.The pile of bones left on the plates had no teeth marks because there was nothing to chew. The only pleasant moment of the evening was when we left. We returned to our hotel and ordered some snacks to fill the hole in our stomachs. We regulary ate in cafes and restaurants ranging fro 0 stars to 3-4 stars whilst in Cambodia and are used to differing qualities and quantities and degrees of service, but found this restaraunt to be lacking in every department. Could not recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peekay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Magnolia Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing