We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would def stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alibi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alibi Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would def stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I arrived Phnom Penh off a late flight. The Alibi Guesthouse had arranged for a tuktuk to meet me at the airport ( much appreciated). My room was on the first floor. The room was clean, spacious, with a nice private bathroom. I had a fan plus aircon and a small fridge ( not necessary but was useful ). Off my room, there was a comfortable balcony/deck. The guesthouse is situated in a small alley off a main road - across from a park, making it nice and quiet. Also a short walk to the Royal Palace and a short tuktuk ride or a nice walk to the main area of bars and restaurants. The breakfast was included and was delicious and satisfying. The courtyard is a comfortable area to sit in, clean and pretty with a fountain and many plants. The staff was never in our face, but always available, helpful and friendly. I had brought a suitcase of articles for The Cambodian Children's Fund. The guesthouse was happy to store it until someone from the foundation came to pick it up (Thank-you very much for this).

Room Tip: There is no lift - and as I had extra luggage ( to donate ), carrying it all up to the top floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldbystorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    126
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
148
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for several nights in April 2014. This old mansion is a lovely old building with a stunning staircase and a lovely courtyard they have filled with palms and plants making it a lovely area. We stayed on the top floor and highly recommend that this floor is avoided, due to the extreme final staircase that has to be climbed – resembling a fire escape staircase it is not easily negotiated, particularly with baggage. It also seemed, naturally, warmer up there, we would recommend trying to get on the first or second floor. The room was not overly large and had one desk top with cupboards. The bathroom was not overly large but big enough, no shower curtain and the toilet got soaked – including the toilet roll which we removed from the holder and put on a shelf to stop it from getting soaked. All-in-all the room was fine and we had no real problems, it was clean and tidy. The location is a bit of a walk from the centre but we had no problem walking into town, it is in a slightly quieter area, in the nearby streets there are a number of lovely restaurants and bars. Christian is a very helpful and friendly host kindly helping us by pre-buy bus tickets for us due to New Year approaching. We were leaving early on a bus and the girls kindly packed some baguettes and jam for us to take and making us an early coffee. They rang the tuk-tuk to make sure he was coming and organised him to come a bit earlier. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, the last staircase is difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week at this hotel. The hotel is near the palace ,so it is in the part of the city that the king chooses to live. You can walk to everything except the Russian market from there. We had no problem with tuk tuk drivers at breakfast as others have reported. No driver came into the hotel during our week long stay. The tuk tuk driver that the guesthouse sent to the bus station to pick us up had a small dog who sat in front of him as he drove and the dog wore sunglasses, I did not know which one of them to give the fare to.
The young ladies that made up the staff were professional and cheerful except when the boss was around. He seemed to treat them like servants, rather than staff. The staff kept the guesthouse clean and running smoothly and need to be left to their jobs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Glad I booked this guesthouse. We arrived from Ho Chi Minh by the Mekong Express bus, there were tuk tuks waiting on arrival and it only took 15min and $4 to transport 3 of us to the hotel. It is a pretty, tradional establishment in a good location, it is really close to the Royal Palace and the busy Riverside stretch. It is clean, the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is served in their lovely courtyard.

It was great value and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Set in an alley off one of the main boulevards close to riverside, royal palace and national museum.
Super friendly and helpful staff. For the price, this place exceeded our expectations. Clean, very comfortable, stylish surroundings. The breakfast was included and was great. I would recommend this place to others. We booked an airport transfer and it was straightforward and simple to get to the guesthouse. 10/10!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faka_ofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Walking distance to Sisowath Quay (a beautiful riverside boardwalk, abounding with street-side cafes and shops), and yet set back in a quiet alley. Inside the gate, the courtyard is tranquil and inviting. Inside the hotel itself, the staff is friendly and the room is comfortable – with both a/c and fan. It does have a “wet bath” (meaning there is no separate shower stall), but that is fairly common in Asia – particularly in guesthouses. The room is also equipped with a safe (though too small for a laptop, it was plenty big enough for my tablet, camera, etc.). Breakfast was simple – but free! There is usually a tuk-tuk right outside the gate (if not, there are a myriad on the main street at the end of the alley). Do make sure to carry one of the hotel’s cards with you – they have a map on the back, which is helpful as several tuk-tuk drivers I encountered didn’t know how to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcurtis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you're looking for a clean, nice and budget-friendly guesthouse in Phnom Penh, then, this is the place to stay. Someone's gonna pick you up from the Phnom Penh Internation Airport and then it'll take 30-45 minutes Tuktuk ride from the airport to the guesthouse. Located at the heart of Phnom Penh City, it's walking distance to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, The National Museum, the Sisowath Quay. Also, it's a 15-minute walk to the Independence Monument, the Statue of King Sihanouk and a 30-minute walk to Wat Phnom and the Central Market. The free breakfast is good but the food they offer is kinda expensive. Though the food in the city is more expensive than in Siem Reap. The guesthouse has CCTV cameras too. Only the receptionist and manager can speak/ understand english, but all the guesthouse people are approachable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alibi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibi Guesthouse

Property: Alibi Guesthouse
Address: Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located villa-style guesthouse in a garden setting in a pleasantly quiet area.Easy walking distance to the Royal palace and riverfront area.Well furnished rooms with each their own decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alibi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing