We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find, but good to explore from”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alibi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alibi Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but good to explore from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This guesthouse was lovely. We found it quite difficult to get here, our TukTuk driver having taken us to two other guesthouses and stopped to ask about 9 people where it was, before eventually stumbling on it, more by luck than judgement.

It was a good place to explore from, although the in-house Tuk Tuk driver put a dampener on things, always there, but the staff were usually absent when they were actually needed. For breakfast, we had to ask on both mornings to get any and the second time, didn't get any cups for our coffee!

This being said, it was very tranquil, great room facilities, and nicely off the main areas, while being close enough to visit the Royal Palace, and also Tuol Sleng, on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thriftystudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    127
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
152
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is about five minutes walk from the royal palace and is situated in one of the fancier areas of the city. It is a beautiful old house with a sweeping staircase and has a leafy garden to relax in. It is just off a busy street but the noise does not intrude. My room was clean as was the bathroom although both could benefit from redecoration. The bathroom door would not close as the sink prevented it, ok if travelling alone, but not maybe, with two people. There is a choice of breakfast for guests, continental or cooked. Wifi was also good here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

this place is nice and quiet and has a really nice garden. Our room cost $28 so we only stayed one night. The mattress is firm but not uncomfortable. The wifi is good. The room is nicely decorated with a good shower. Breakfast was an omelot and some bread and orange juice. The french owner didnt say much. The only annoying thing was the tuk tuk driver asking us for rides in the hotel, then he answer a simple question like how much it would cost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

No issues with booking through Agoda. We had to call the guesthouse from the travel office where the bus dropped us off so the tuk tuk driver could find. Once we checked in, it's a very easy place to get back to. Nice quiet location across from the park and near the palace. Room was very clean. AC worked great. Staff are very friendly. Breakfasts were fabulous. French pressed coffee is delicious :) Only issue we had was that the front desk was not open at 7am to check us out for our early departure. We should have cleared our the night prior. We simply secured the key and money at the front desk. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Alibi Guesthouse is located opposite a park and within easy walking distance to most of the attractions in Phnom Penh including the riverfront and palace, silver pagoda etc. It is located down a short alleyway which felt quite safe, easy to find and quiet. I arrived with Mekong Express buses from HCMC and it cost $3 for a tuk tuk ride to get there from the bus stop. The park opposite has a fantastic light and sound show at night (free) so be sure to check it out (see photos). There are a couple of decent restaurants close by and the the main backpacker restaurant/bar area is only a 10 min walk away. Always keep your wits about you in Phnom Penh at night though as I witnessed a bag snatch off two western ladies on the main riverfront area. All happened very, very quickly !

I arrived at the guesthouse at about 4pm and the owner (a French gentleman) checked me in. He wasn't overly friendly on arrival. Not rude - but a bit dismissive, impersonal and non-communicative. Wasn't welcoming at all - maybe I caught him at a bad time. But he did upgrade me to a higher quality room (Room 1) on the first floor, so this was a bonus. In contrast the Cambodian lady who showed me up to the room was very friendly, welcoming and chatty.

The room itself was large and spacious although painted in some 'interesting' colours - not unpleasant decor, just different. The furniture was dated, but functional and comfortable and the bed was comfy. There is a safe in the room and they supply you with a large combo padlock with your room key. The one they supplied me with was broken so I just used my own which was fine. The room however is very, very dimly lit (are lightbulbs expensive in Cambodia......?) which makes digging around in the wardrobe and setting up the safe a bit of challenge. The bathroom is functional and a good size, although I couldn't get the hot water to work and the water pressure wasn't great. Don't really need a hot shower in that climate though, cold was fine.

There is a large communal balcony adjacent to the room which is very pleasant and overlooks the garden. The garden area and water feature give great ambience to this guesthouse and I think it my have been a mansion at some stage in its past. Breakfast was included and very tasty.

The only annoying thing about the courtyard was when you were sitting and relaxing there was a tuk tuk guy wandering around who kept asking if you wanted to go somewhere, when were you were checking out? etc. Obviously spruiking for business - I got enough of this type of 'direct marketing' on the streets of Phnom Penh, I didn't need it when I was relaxing at the guesthouse also. Its not a biggie, but it was irritating. As it turned when I did want a tuk tuk......he wasn't there !

Overall, a very pleasant guesthouse, ideally located with a lovely courtyard - marred only by the impersonal welcome from the owner, the annoying in-house tuk tuk driver and some minor room deficiencies. Value for money score: 7/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights mid-May and thought this place was fantastic - clean room, nice communal balcony area to sit and listen to the city waking up, great location and absolutely lovely staff with good English. The only thing that bothered me slightly was a nearby bar with quite loud music, but they turned the volume right down after a while (not too late) so it was okay. The guesthouse itself was great. If you want to be close to the river and Royal Palace etc, then book this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found Alibi very late on in the day after arriving in Phnom Penh for just one night. Luckily there was a room left and for 17 US Dollars, it was a steal. Beware of low ceilings for the cheaper rooms as our room was like something out of Asian Hobbiton. Cleanliness of room was great, however the "wet room" bathroom smelled like sewer from the drains and was awful to be in for longer than you needed to be.

Reception was nice, garden area lovely. Bit of a frosty reception from some of the staff there but weren't overly bothered about this.

Comfortable distance away from bustling Phnom Penh city but close enough for a 3 dollar Tuk Tuk. However, make sure you have an address for the hotel to show to Tuk Tuk drivers as for some reason none of them know where the hotel is located!

Good value for money and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rthernGr1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alibi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibi Guesthouse

Property: Alibi Guesthouse
Address: Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located villa-style guesthouse in a garden setting in a pleasantly quiet area.Easy walking distance to the Royal palace and riverfront area.Well furnished rooms with each their own decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alibi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing