We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Residence

La Residence
Ranked #77 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Splendid French restaurant in a modern palace. belongs to a member of the royal family. Oyster flown in from France daily, really special. Opened in 2008
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Elegance in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I went to lunch at La Residence on our last full day in Phnom Penh and needed a break from the heat and from the emotional experience of visiting the Killing Fields. We found both at La Residence. Their $15 prix fixe lunch menu is fantastic and offers multiple choices in each course. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated and very relaxing. I can't say enough about this restaurant. I highly recommend it to everyone -- you don't need to break the bank to eat like a King.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fine, formal, dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

As this was recommended in the Lonely Planet we expected a tourist type place. Whilst the surroundings are definitely worthy of hi-end dining it is more a business mans place. We were surrounded by tables with business men fully suited and booted, bit too formal for when on holiday. But having said that the food was very good and the service too, but be warned you certainly pay for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

For dinner on our last night in Phnom Penh before flying home, after a month-longadvnture around Cambodia, we couldn't have hit the bullseye any more perfectly than we did with La Résidence on Street 214.

Possibly one of the country's finest restaurants, the service was unlike anything I saw anywhere else in Cambodia (even better than The Elephant Bar at Raffles!). As we made our way through the enormous timber doors - opened for us by a little chap in an oddly militaristic uniform - and along the corridor to the dining room, we were greeted, with full sompiah formality, by what felt like hundreds of immaculately dressed staff! Once seated, the top shelf treatment continued. Various wait staff attended to our every need - the water, the brad roll, the butter, the napkin, the ashtrays - and we were furnished with three seperate menus: the main menu, the Chef's Suggestions menu and the wine menu, with all three of equal importance as far as we were concerned!

The menu was second to none and it was difficult to decide what to choose. In the end, three stunning entrees, three magnificent mains, two short blacks and a divine café/coconut ice cream dessert amounted to the bounteous total of ~$90. At home this kind of top-shelf fare would likely set us back significantly more than that *per person*!

The fact that we also quaffed a very expensive bottle of 13 year old French red as a bit of a "great trip!" / "farewell Cambodia!" celebratory indulgence was almost incidental, such was the sense of thievery I felt from spending so little on such exquisitely fine dining.

If you're in PP, a fan of fine French dining and not on a backpacker's budget, I heartily recommend La Résidence.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank md3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Delightful French cuisine in a lovely setting and reasonable price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Business colleague treated me to lunch at La Residence in PP today.

Setting was very beautiful and the food was outstandingly good. Menus are a little confusing as they give you three to look at, we took the Set Lunch menu. Highly recommended.

The food was excellent and three courses with coffee was certainly enough.

Service was professional and timely. Really nothing that could be complained about, prices were high by PP standard but then this is not PP standard, this is international standard.

I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited La Residence at lunch time on New Year’s Eve, the restaurant was fairly quiet but had a nice atmosphere, we were seated next to the huge windows overlooking the lovely garden area.

We had the set lunch menu which we thought was absolutely fantastic value for money. The service was impeccable and the surroundings very opulent.

The whole experience was fantastic and when we return to Phnom Penh in December this will be on the top of our places to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSGNDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Residence also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing