We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make blue dog great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The blue dog guest house and bar downstairs was a great introduction to the kindness and friendly nature of the Khmer people. After staying at a nearby hostel, we came across the guesthouse after a night out drinking. The staff were so friendly we decided to change our accomodation and extended our stay in Phnom Penh. Although part of the guesthouse is under construction at the moment, they generally started work late morning and we barely heard a noise. The room, fitted with a/c, a fan and ensuite toilet, was a bargain at $10 for a couple. The guesthouse also organized our visa extensions within 24 hours. Overall great place- we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We didn't stay in it, only had a lunch: Pasta Marinara for $3.75 and Chief Salad for $3.5 . Draft beer cost $0.75 during happy hours (7 a.m. - 7 p.m.) and a little bit expansive later. Food was rather good, well cooked and served. Though not so much seafood in my pasta and bacon in salad, portions where big.

Unfortunately, I didn't find Blue Dog Guesthouse on booking.com, so we'd have no chance to stay here, but find it occasionally just walking around. A few words about this sangkat (eng.: area) of Phnom Phen. Every building is either restaurant, or guesthouse, or luxury hotel. Full of barangs (eng.: foreigners) and close to most attractions and must-visit-places.

Maybe if I come to Phnom Phen again, I'll stay here a couple of days.

P.S. visited today

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

this is the second time iv stayed here now. The last time was in november 2012. I liked the place alot the first time around and thats why i came back. Its in a really good location and the prices are very fair for what they offer. They have a nice bar down stairs which is full of people so a great place to meet people as i was by myself. Overall a nice place to stay but i would avoid staying there for at least a few months as they are doing some major building works and it wasnt great waking up at 6/7am every day to walls coming down!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george a abraha... a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The place was ok...the staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a pub downstairs, so get your room here if you'll be in there a lot or simply be prepared to hear the noise and inhale the cigarette smoke.

Ask each day to have the room refreshed. The internet was pretty reliable.

Room Tip: Perhaps going up further past the receptionist desk, and up the stairs, will help with the noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatoyaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at a five different places while I was in Phnom Penh. Some were more expensive, some were cheaper, and Blue Dog Guesthouse was by far the best of them all (I stayed 7 nights). The rooms are fine, the price is right, but its the STAFF that make this place the best. they were all consistently the friendliest, most engaging, and helpful guesthouse staff I've encountered anywhere. Both in the bar/restaurant downstairs and in the guesthouse upstairs, everyone was really lovely and accomodating at every point. I'm totally into this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 which had the added bonus of being a room with a padlock, so I felt totally comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

15$ for a room. The beds were so old you could see the springs coming out of them. The windows weren't even sealed so we got eaten alive by mossies all night. You could see the bar through the floors downstairs. They would stop and play the music so loud all night. We ate dinner there, was pretty good. Had breakfast the next morning, paid almost 3$ for 1 single bagel with cream cheese, and the WORST coffee I've ever tasted... It was thick and gritty. Overall not a good experience, and not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I are traveling through Southeast Asia, and when arriving to Phnom Penh, we took trip advisors 'advice' and chose blue dog to spend the only night we had in the city. Great choice. Perfect, clean, spacious and comfy room! Price for a dorm was 5usd each, or usd10 for a private. We choose the last option, and we were extremely happy with everything. The girl working there helped us with everything, she had a constant smile and perfect attention for what we needed! And if this wasn't enough, we went to the bar and the bartender was also really nice, gave us a free shot for the new year! And we chilled a lil' bit as the at atmosphere was perfect for it. DEFINITELY the place to stay in Phnom Penh!
Good work everybody!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#45 of 274 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#80 of 274 in Phnom Penh
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
#47 of 274 in Phnom Penh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#18 of 334 in Phnom Penh
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feel at Home Guesthouse
Feel at Home Guesthouse
#82 of 334 in Phnom Penh
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 248 in Phnom Penh
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dog Guesthouse

Address: #13, Street 51 | Beung Keng Kang 1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Dog hostel/guesthouse is right in the centre of Phnom Penh's famous Boeung Keng Kang district. That means when you stay with us, you're only minutes from all of the capital's best sights. Ten minutes' walk east and you'll find the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace and the riverside, head a kilometre south and you'll find the Genocide Museum and BKK market. For clean, affordable accommodation, we've 4 private rooms and 3 mixed and 1 female only dorms that back onto a common chill out area and balcony for a lazy afternoon. Our staff speak great English, (even the western ones!) and will always be willing to help you out with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Dog Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dog Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing