We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great stay!”
Review of Aussie XL Cafe

Aussie XL Cafe
Ranked #179 of 1,444 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Aussie XL's had a makeover! Bigger bar area & new large screen TV's for the Aussie footy season!With large portions from an extensive menu including "Spit Roasted" Pork, Beef and Poultries plus succulent Steaks, Seafood, Salads and Desserts.Our "Wood Oven" pizzas are a challenge, even for the hungriest, and you can choose your own toppings to create your "Specials" The outdoor seating is relaxed & comfortable with new large screen TV's showing major sporting events on customer requests.The new "Faces Room" is available for private functions, business meetings & parties. We offer a takeaway & delivery service of all menu items plus soft drinks, beers, bottled wines & spirits.Our wine list is always extending and are available by the bottle or glass. A large range of cocktails and spirits are also available. Create your own & we'll name it after you!We would love to welcome you to The Aussie XL and we will also pay your Tuk Tuk driver to bring you here! The Aussie XL can be found at the Independence Monument end of Street 51 (Pasteur) near the corner of St 294
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place great stay!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed here and I highly recommend! Pete, the owner is very nice and accommodating. The staff is great, the rooms look like brand new. They are palatial, clean, Queen bed, quiet at night, great location, AC is great, TV, wifi and great food downstairs! Great place and beats almost everywhere around for 15$ a night. Come stay and you will be very satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdavisyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieXL, Manager at Aussie XL Cafe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
What an extremely kind review Bdavisyoda, thank you. You have flattered us with everything you've said because it is exactly that which we have tried to achieve with our recent renovations.
Very pleased you enjoyed our food as well! Reviews such as yours make us proud of what we offer at "The Aussie XL" & makes our job more rewarding. Thank you again, & we look forward to your next visit! Pete & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Savanah too expensive”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Aussie XL is ok, nice pizza, nice burgers, cocktail menu needs serious attention and boy is the SAVANAH's expensive wow!!!!

portion sizes are good and they make nice slap-tjips (chips)
their bathrooms also recently got a make-over - looks better.
i will go again, just wish they could drop the Savanah price.. and maybe note of the plugs next to the wall for any future kids going to sit there... not so good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLiesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieXL, Manager at Aussie XL Cafe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear CLiesl, Unfortunately all products do inevitably increase in price. We now have another range of Ciders produced here in Cambodia (under license) which have become extremely popular for not only their flavour range but price! So please visit us again to try them & I'm sure you won't be disappointed! Thank you for your review Pete & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Ordered the Mediterranean Pizza, thin crips crust, perfect amount of toppings and overall very tasty. Included in my delivery was a laminated menu, Genius! They know how good their food is, that they include the menu for future orders. Love it. Will order again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mercredy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieXL, Manager at Aussie XL Cafe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi MercredyU, You flatter us, but "genius"? Yes we do our utmost to ensure our food is always good & we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal! Thank you for your ego inflating review & look forward to your next order. PS we can also deliver drinks as well! Regards Pete & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
“aussiexl-new owners.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

my return to the aussiexl more than met my expectations.new owners and genial hosts pedro and brian always provide a warm welcome,cold beer and decent wine at very reasonable prices.food is excellent with a choice of western or asian.pizza from the wood fired oven,bar b que meats and food from fully renovated and very clean kitchen all at good prices.anzac day was quite an experience with good live aussie music all day and mountains of food.improvements to facilities and decor are continuing but retaining a warm friendly atmosphere.cambodian staff are friendly and efficient. it's a focal point for lots of ex pats -not just aussies.this always makes for interesting conversation and lots of unofficial travel advice.check it out.keep up the good work pedro and brian!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieXL, Owner at Aussie XL Cafe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Neal, could have guessed you were from Queensland as it seems all Peters' are Pedros!! (See previous review from John A!!) I'm pleased to read you are a return guest and delighted you enjoyed our improvements which are nearly completed. I think all who joined us for Anzac Day enjoyed immensely the live Aussie music. We intend to make "live sessions" a regular event and invite you back any time for the fun. We really appreciate your flattering review & that we met your expectations. Hope to see you again soon "Pedro" aka Pete & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duranbah, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ANZAC DAY in Cambodia”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Attended the dawn service at the Australian Embassy which was sensational, after the service we attended the beautiful breakfast at the Cambodian Hotel were we meet the owner of the Aussie XL Pedro who invited us back to celebrate ANZAC DAY at his bar. The day was fabulous great service,friendly staff excellent cold beers at the ice bar where a large block of ice is placed in the middle of the table for you to place your beers on to keep them cool all day.The food for ANZAC DAY was superb barbecue spicy chicken,lamb and pig on the spit.The entertainment for the day was all australian and great live music, the day and into the night was a highlight of our holiday. While in PHNOM PENH we visited the bar several times for its excellent Cambodian food cold beers excellent value on good quality wines as Pedro and partner brian were from South Australia

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieXL, Owner at Aussie XL Cafe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Yo John, looking at the photos posted by the previous reviewer Laurie we also remember you! What a great day we had. Anzac Day is very important to all Aussies and I'm proud of the effort the embassy made at the service. Also very pleased you like our "Ice Bar", the first in PP. You & any other Aussies are more than welcome back again next year as we have much more in store. Look forward to your return Pete & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie XL Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Aussie XL Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing