We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Khmer Surin

Khmer Surin
Ranked #62 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been here many times and love the ambience. Food was good this last time and service was good. I would have given them a perfect score if I hadn't found a sharp plastic scrap piece in my food. I didn't die and the room is so lovely, So I will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olsonleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    281
    134
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

have eaten here 3 times and have never been disappointed. An extensive menu and while relatively expensive compared to others it is spacious and well appointed. Nonetheless 5 of us feasted for US$60 including drinks. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious. Exciting. Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

To begin with the decor is totally unique. Traditional, classy and very comfortable. Choose a table on the ground floor close to the water garden if you possibly can. You won't be disappointed.
The menu is long and varied. The cuisine is Khmer - and some! My tempura fried fish with green mango salad was lovely. Yummy. Gorgeous. The portions are generous. For two main dishes you only need one portion of rice. Just gotta go back next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17BonnyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food fairly good, service distinctly average, possible food poisoning.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A group of 11 of us had a meal at this place. We sat on the floor which got a bit uncomfortable after a while. Everybody's dinner came separately so some had finished eating before others had received their food whilst everyone had finished before I got my dinner! My food was really tasty, even if it was super-late and expensive for Phnom Penh. 3 of the group developed food poisoning (fever, sickness, diarrhea, the works) after eating here, can't say 100% that it was from the food here but we're definitely suspicious as this was the one meal we all shared that day. If you're going to go, just have the cocktails, enjoy the atmosphere and listen to the music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Dined there one evening. Location not great. Decor was fine. Food not great. Service substandard. Plenty of mosquitoes. A tad over priced. Better restaurants elsewhere. Will give this a miss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khmer Surin also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Khmer Surin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing