We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge
Ranked #10 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My only one gripe about this place is when I read previous reviews on trip advisor. You will notice the majority of reviews are about the same length, give this hotel 5/5, of similar wording, and each user has written 3 reviews! Odd...
I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013 and chose this place because of favourable reviews on trip advisor and that it is no. 1 ranking.
It is on a very quiet street in bustling Phnom Penh, and I enjoyed a lovely, quiet sleep after arriving here on the bus trip from hell (actually Siem Reap not hell).
The room is clean and comfy and the bed nice. The bathroom is also nice and clean. The place has a slightly quirky feel to it. The building is about 50 years old and retains its lovely old world charm. You can tell by the photos.
My room had a nice tiled floor, and aircon plus fan. The staff are friendly and efficient.
I asked if there was the possibility of late checkout (2.30pm) as my plane departed at 5pm, and the front office staff checked the next nights booking for my room (there was none) and said with a pleasant smile that late check out was fine.
The pool area is nice and the water a lovely temp. There is a good deal of tree and fern cover which gives this place a lovely, balmy tropical feel.
My room booking did not include brekky hence not able to offer feedback.
It is hard for me to say whether this place is good value for money as I have never stayed anywhere else in Phnom Penh.
They are doing building work at a sight next door and started work at about 8am, so that was my only disappointment.
I would stay here again and I would happily recommend this place to others, even though I have a feeling that quite a few of the recent reviews of 5/5 on trip advisor are fictitious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaylad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    71
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
121
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is a real winner. It is located a stone's throw from the Palace in a little back street so it is a good location to base your exploration of this amazing city. The hotel has been set up in an impressive old French building which is rather charming. It is set amongst a lush garden and there is a swimming pool to cool off from the Phnom Penh heat.

The staff were so warm and friendly and went out of their way to help with anything you needed. The rooms are large and comfortable with cable TV, free WiFi and a good bathroom. It is an old property so if you are looking for a modern 5 star type hotel this is not for you, but if you want value for money and a great base I thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late to find that no-one was at the airport to meet us as had been pre - arranged , finally got to the hotel to find no booking existed for us , it turned out my partner booked their sister hotel in Siem Reap by mistake ! The staff in Phnom Penh were brilliant & organised everything for us , the rooms , location is perfect , very close to all Phnom Penh has to offer ! Hats off to all of the staff at Mysteries & Mekong , loved it !!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were two couples travelling together and had requested Colonie rooms side by side, when we arrived we found that this was not possible by the reception staff, quick as a flash Ann (the Manager) appeared and showed us two different rooms we could select from - we chose the one overlooking the pool with its own staircase to access, Ann warned us of the construction noise we could experience in the room but as it was so lovely and we are early risers this was not of concern and did not cause a problem. In the three days we were there Ann approached us each day to make sure we were satisfied, that's what I call customer care. The room was spotless and the facilities good - I have read the critisicm of the pool but you get leaves when the pool is surrounded by a beautiful garden - not much sun got into the area but after the blistering heat when touring around during the day it was lovely to sit in the shade and cool off in the pool. The breakfast is delicious and the strong coffee to die for. Only suggestion I would make is that the hotel could make a fair bit of money if it offered cocktails by the pool - my Asian decadance whilst travelling. Overall a great little oasis and exceptionally helpful staff led by the gracious Ann.

Room Tip: If you are an earlier riser then go for the Colonie Room around the side with its own staircase - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denarau Island, Fiji
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location is perfect. We loved their complimentary breakfast. The hotel is simply beautiful. Our room was pretty, well maintained and had a balcony where we enjoyed reading in the afternoon. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have plan to visit Siem Reap, you can stay at this sister hotel and ask for discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taleibung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagarkot, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Phnom Penh was chock full of visitors as it was peak season. Somehow they had 2 rooms, side by side, that we could have. And at a very kind rate. They really saved our trip and we are grateful for that. They pointed us in the direction of restaurants for dinner. This is exactly the sort of kindness and genuine caring that is virtually unheard of these days. The hotel is spotless, comes with Asian decor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunitakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELOWNA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed a few nights at this great boutique hotel. Centrally located to attractions and good restaurants (try the Sugar Palm 2 blocks away) this hotel is located in a clean, safe area of Phnom Penh. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are generous and clean. The pool area is a lovely retreat. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 269 in Phnom Penh
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#36 of 269 in Phnom Penh
804 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge

Property: Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge
Address: 244 70, Rue | Next to Wat Botum, Phnom Penh 70244, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a french colonial style house, surrounding by a large tropical garden with swimming pool…so close from the Royal Palace , in the real heart of Cambodian capital, you'll find 18 charming rooms with private terrace and garden view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysteres & Mekong Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Mysteres And Mekong Phnom Penh Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing