We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid spot well worth the hike”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goldie Boutique Guest House
Ranked #65 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Solid spot well worth the hike”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

It's a little out of the absolute centre, for sure, but near decent restaurants and tourist attractions such as the National museum (and the Genocide one), and everything is a quick ride away via rickshaw. They can get you taxis to the airport, and the restaurant across the road is top class for this country. Well worth it, if nothing too flashy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogiebear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
8
51
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here for a month when I first arrived in Phnom Penh. Rooms at Goldie are very basic but the communal area downstairs is great.

The girls who work here are very friendly and helpful, but the guy is a bit strange (quite self important).

There is definitely no shortage of tuk tuk drivers lingering outside and there's a lot of eating and shopping options nearby.

All in all it's a decent option for longer functional stays or for budget conscious travelers, but it wouldn't be my first choice for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason8WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My idea of a boutique hotel is one of style; often at the expense of function. The Goldie is very functional; friendly, helpful and cheap. $20 gives you a decent room in a good location in the city. My room was comfy & cozy but hardly stylish; however I'm a frequent visitor to Phnom Penh; stayed in many places here and reckon its as good a budget place as you can get in this city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This guesthouse was recommended to me and when I walked through the front door I was impressed. However, this feeling quickly faded when I saw the room: it was rather big but dirty; the air conditioning did not work at all; the towels were worm and used grey; the tap in the washroom did not close and it was running all night.

The service of the staff was disappointing. While we did not have any issues with our booking, a couple before us did and the staff was not at all accommodating and frankly quite rude. In addition, the people working at the hostel were not at all knowledgeable about Phnom Penh nor were they helpful when asked about restaurants to recommend. They only mentioned the places that were on the same street as the guesthouse.

However, the most disappointed aspect of our stay here was the flagrant racketeering going on between the hotel staff and the tuk-tuk drivers. If you took a tuk-tuk from the hostel it would cost you double (if not triple) the price it would if you were to walk 10 meters at take a tuk-tuk at the corner. When we asked for the staff to order us a cab to go to the airport, we got an unidentified car- no taxi sign, no meter, no certification issued to cab drivers...It ended up costing us 10 US$ to go to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEL1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here in a couple of different rooms. They were both nice enough, although one had a much smaller window so was a lot gloomier – it’s worth trying to choose your room when you book as you can see pictures of the different rooms on the website and they’re quite a fair representation. Room & bathroom were fairly standard, but was kept clean, the staff were all friendly and the receptionists really helpful. Located in BKK1 - which is good for coffee shops! but also just around the corner from “golden street” where there are a few bars & restaurants. It’s touristy area and doesn’t feel very Cambodian compared to the rest of the city but easy to get around from, about 10 mins to riverside (although as it is a tourist area tuk-tuks will be calling out to you all day & night long, and be aware they may try and push up their prices). Didn’t have any food there as it didn’t look appealing but the smoothies were nice. Overall OK value - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheetaraah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

A quiet oasis in the city, we stayed here twice for 6 nights in total. Powerful hot showers, friendly staff and comfy beds - I had some quality sleeps here. We stayed in room 8 and I would recommend this for anyone who plans to stay out late sampling the quality night life of PP (as well as the riverfront there are some good bars and restaurants just around the corner from Goldie) as the room is mercifully dark for lie-ins. Felt guilty waking the security guard to let us in every night though he was always good humoured about it. Fridge, TV and a good AC - but the addition of a bedside light would be great. Look out for Andy the tuk tuk driver- very friendly guy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2011

It seems that my small window of room 10 wasn't properly locked (hidden behind the curtains, I didn't notice this, as I didn't even open or close that window).
In the morning I woke up, saw the window open, my smartphone + Ipod + wallet was stolen while I was asleep! They found my empty wallet on the roof of the neighbours. It is very easy for a robber to climb on the balcony of the second floor and simply try to open all the windows. They told me it happened only once before and there is a guard, but this is all nonsense, I never saw a guard and it is simply too easy to break in. They asked me not to call the police. And well, I would like to but I didn't do that, as I knew this would probably cost money (which I didn't have at the moment) with zero result.
Of course, these people smile away any responsibility. It was all my fault, as I should have checked the lock of the left side of the window.
The place itself is OK, but not that great either. Rooms are clean, the location was good for me, as you have a lot of good restaurants nearby. Don't know why that Khmer Surin restaurant is so famous. Dosa corner, a smaller restaurant around the corner was a lot better.
Anyway, no more goldie for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#149 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#9 of 322 in Phnom Penh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,620 reviews
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldie Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldie Boutique Guest House

Property: Goldie Boutique Guest House
Address: House # 6 B-C-D, Street 57 | Boueng Keng Kong 1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goldie Boutique Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldie Boutique Guesthouse, The Exquisite Budget "Hotel" in Phnom Penh, Cambodia - located in the heart of Phnom Penh’s charming Boueng Keng Kong 1 Area. Goldie Boutique Guesthouse is the destination for all discerning leisure tourists & long-term visitors. Seeking the comforts of a comfortable and relaxing stay in central Phnom Penh, the pure excitement of being right in the heart of it all. The Guesthouse is located in a quiet and cozy site street (57th St.) few minutes’ walk from the Independent Monument, two minutes walk to a wide selection of exquisite dining and the city’s best vantage point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Goldie Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldie Boutique Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing