We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be misled by Hotel Website - AVOID”
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #173 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel fails to deliver: (a) they did not send the agreed free taxi to the airport, instead we waited for 20 mins and organised ourselves (of course there was no compensation); (b) the bathroom flooded every morning because of poor shower drainage; (c) showers were cold; (d) keysafe was not attached to floor/wall and could be picked up; (e) the hotel is miles out of town, there is a $4 tuk-tik ride to leave the hotel in the morning to town; and a $4 tuk-tuk ride to return - because the hotel is so far out every day we left in the morning and did not rturn until the evening; (f) the breakfast is very average. The hotel staff are not helpful e.g. they wanted to charge $10 for a tuk-tuk (to go into town) which they then changed to $7 when challenged....but, I walked outside the door and negotiated $4. We made a mistake booking into this hotel. Recommendation: AVOID, DO NOT REPEAT THE MISTAKE WE MADE

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRiver_11, Director of Sales at Blue River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your reviewing.

We are very sorry for some of our services that make you disappointed. We will solving all of negative points as your comments. Hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Blue River Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Blue River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

+
1.Lovely, spacious room with fantastic view over the river and the town from another windows (it was top corner room- fab);
2. Friendly good English speaking staff and very helpful though out my stay;
3. Room service and evening meal was spot on! Really tasty and nicely presented!
4. Outside the town which was what I needed at the time so pleased about it but for some could be a problem (make sure when booking next trip from the travel agency they know where about is your hotel as in my case they didn't bother because it was too far for transport provider- had to find my own way and staff working at the front desk sorted it out quickly and effectively; make sure you keep all your receipts and approach company for refund- in the end of the day it was travel agent who mess up and made a call arranging on behalf of you at the first place. Tip: always smile, stay cool and friendly- you will achieve your goal faster and easier :)
5. Good fast wifi at the lobby

-
1. Breakfast- very limited for Europeans;
2. Poor wifi in the room;
3. Rooms need tlc.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AGATA007UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRiver_11, E-Commerce at Blue River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your value reviewing.

We are happy to see you stated the positive and negative points. We will see and solving some of negatives. We hope to see again very as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Blue River Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

1. breakfast was particularly unpalatable
2. bathroom not very clean
3. bathroom design beyond understandable
4. bad pillow
5. dirty glass cup

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRiver_11, E-Commerce at Blue River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your reviewing.

We are very sorry for you that our services make you disappointed. We will solve very soon. Hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Blue River Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is not close to town. It looks quite impressive standing out the front, and the foyer is quite nice too. But it's pretty dingy in the rooms. It's not terrible, but for the price I would go somewhere else. The breakfast was really nice, the staff were really nice, although out of all the hotels we stayed at in Cambodia, they could speak the least English, which became really frustrating. Trying to get milk for the coffee in the rooms became a major mission in linguistics. The hotel was probably quite impressive in it's hey day, but it needs updating. The tuk tuk drivers outside the hotel were very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank QueenBeesWax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Far far far away from town, even this is acceptable, but this is definitely the most terrible hotel i had ever stay!!! The receptionist dun even understand their own hotel room rates. When we came bck late from town, we found out that all "4-star" hotel stuff actually sleeping in the lobby!!!!!!! beside.. the room is terrible warm !!! when the so called "engineer" came into my room and simply restart the air-cond and keep on asking to wait. But after 30 mins and 30 mins waiting, the situation haven't change at all. I will never ever stay into this stupid hotel again!!

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel room!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very nice comfortable hotel just a little bit away from the city centre ,, Nice river view , very friendly staff , the breakfast and restaurant of a good standard. We hired a local Tuk Tuk driver called Alex who was first class and took us everywhere and anywhere , no problem ,, You certainly need on as hotel too far to consider walking to the centre

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the blue river for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had the connecting suite for 5 of us and it was perfect. Loved how it wasnt in town, felt good to come home in the evenings and relax away from the busy city. Tuk tuk ride took less then 10 mins to get to town, by car 5mins. Pool was ok. All service attendants were awesome, really polite and always smiling. Buffet breakfast in the mornings were the best I've had in cambodia. Definitely will be staying here again when we visit Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystalung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.9 mi away
Diamond CA&SA
Diamond CA&SA
#121 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#56 of 272 in Phnom Penh
111 reviews
3.9 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#51 of 272 in Phnom Penh
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#74 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Star King Hotel & Apartment
Star King Hotel & Apartment
#143 of 272 in Phnom Penh
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 272 in Phnom Penh
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: National Road. 6A | Preakleap, Russey Keo, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $26 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is the best hotel four stars where a very good of Mekong river View.Very good location for Mekong river view, good service, staff friendly. Moreover, our hotel has sky bar, KTV, conference rooms, fitness club and restaurant with good taste :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing