We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic in Phnom Penh”

Malis Cambodian Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Malis is a landmark restaurant that has long enjoyed a reputation for pushing the boundaries of fusion food with traditional, original and new age Cambodian cuisine. With capacious seating and four VIP rooms set in a courtyard around a fountain, it is undeniably the capital's premier gourmet dining experience. Its busy kitchen is home to Luu Meng, Cambodia's only masterchef, whose artfully prepared dishes have graced tables around the world.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chic in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant, with a very nice atmosphere, and attentive staff.
The food was good and well presented but for me it was not outstanding, although I note from others reviews that I may be in a minority here, as most seem to taste it very highly.
We had sausages and kebabs to start and then beef bites wrapped in bamboo, seafood fried rice and baby pak choy. I would definitely rate the kebabs highest out of these and would order again if we return.
Add a couple of deserts and a bottle of sparkling water and the bill was roughly USD.65 for two people. This is expensive for Cambodia but for the food quality, service and the lovely atmosphere I think this was a fair price and in most other cities in the world a quality to price ratio like this would be completely unachievable.

Helpful?
Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    595
    246
    92
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfort, France
Level Contributor
219 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A gem in speedy Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a great gem, hidden in a kinda backyard, around flowered pool, that restaurant serves very delicate Cambodian food for affordable price.
DO NOT miss it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for some upscale khmer food experience, and this is totally what we had, at reasonable prices (western standards). The services was very pleasant and effective while the dishes we ordered were simply excellent. The ambiance of the place makes it perfect for a great dining experience. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone in search of some fine khmer dining.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoastedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best food we had in SE Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a great meal at his place. Had very nice cocktails to begin with. For starter we had a cambodian kebab which was exellent, for mains we had two different types of beef, bamboo, and lemongrass. Both dishes were very tender and good (but did not ask how it was supposed to be cooked, ended up sending one dish back for little more cooking). Glas of wine p.p. Ended up paying 60 usd for the whole thing.

The design of the place was very nice and sophisticated. The place had a good wibe with the beutiful outside area.

The staff was also good, spoke good english and performed well.

Would recommend this place for people wanting something more than a regular restaurant as this is fancy in SE Asia. Very good value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailhac
Level Contributor
283 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Serendipity brought us here first time, Malis the second time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been travelling all over SE Asia on culinary expeditions and this restaurant has to be one the best that we have ever tried.
The food sensations that arrived at out table were feasts for the eyees as well as the taste buds.
Some really unexpected combinations of food that are typical Cambidian, but presented in a style and manner that would be the pride of some of the 2/3 star Michelin restaurants that I have visited.
Unexpected and very welcome. The wine to go with this marvellous food? - Yes of course, they had that right as well!
Reasonably priced and well worth our two visits on consecutive nights.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malis Cambodian Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Malis Cambodian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing