We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal, slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malis Cambodian Restaurant

Malis Cambodian Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Malis is a landmark restaurant that has long enjoyed a reputation for pushing the boundaries of fusion food with traditional, original and new age Cambodian cuisine. With capacious seating and four VIP rooms set in a courtyard around a fountain, it is undeniably the capital's premier gourmet dining experience. Its busy kitchen is home to Luu Meng, Cambodia's only masterchef, whose artfully prepared dishes have graced tables around the world.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best meal, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a memorable dinner at Malis, their Amok fish was the best one we had in our whole trip around Cambodia. All the other dishes were also delicious and well prepared, with an incredible mixture of flavours.

During our stay, it was very busy, and the service was really slow, almost 45 minutes to get our starters...and we never got the rice we had ordered with our main dishes.

The bill was more than reasonable for the quality of the dishes, except for the still water, which was more expensive than the starters. Not nice...specially as the waiter didn't ask if we wanted national or international mineral water.

Please, make sure you have a reservation in peak season, specially if you want to eat in their outside patio. And last, but not least, take your time to enjoy their menu, with great explanations and pictures (touristy, yes, but useful!).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XenaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,479
    584
    244
    91
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tears of Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

A late and hungry arrival in the capital of Cambodia sent me on my way to Malis found in the lonely planet. I guess I had the last table for one. Ordered three dishes and they came in quick. I couldn't believe the delicious smell of the smokey noodles. Have been around with the food but this smokey taste was miraculous and very authentic. All veggies o so crunchy and tastefull. And then the meat and fish, there must have been some european influence on the cooking style. Once again marvelous tastes. If i had the time i would have tried the entire menu. But it's big and extended. Perfect service. Relaxing atmosphere. Great pricing. Price v.s. Quality like this has so far been impossible to find in Europe as far as my knowledge goes. Foodies will love Malis !

Helpful?
Thank GaborHooijkaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Did not live up to our expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The decor is very swish, so we were expecting great things, but found the food disappointing. We were impressed with the very varied menu, which included lots of Cambodian specialities, but of the 4 dishes we ordered, one was very good (chicken curry), one was good (a vegetable dish), but 2 were not good at all: the flavour was not bad, but the pork and duck were chewy. The staff were very polite, even when faced with one of the rudest people I have ever come across, who happened to be sitting at the next table to us (a middle-aged female American). We were impressed with how they dealt with her, she did not deserve it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Amazing choice of food and efficient waitresses. Food was good without being the best we had. Nice ambience but quite a lot of businessmen when we were there. Nothing wrong with that but a smaller local choice may have been better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JC349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Everything at Malis was great. There was teriffic Cambodian food with a wide range of dishes, a lovely setting out in the courtyard with a small pond, a good drinks list and great service. The prices were also very reasonable (similar to far more casual restaurants around town with inferior food). Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank megmatt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malis Cambodian Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Malis Cambodian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing