We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aqua Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #54 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place has everything you'll need, clean rooms, good location, value for money. Our only issue was that the staff wanted to charge us $15USD for a stain on a towel from our room. Considering that's basically the same price as the room, and knowing how far $15USD goes in Cambodia we felt it was a scam. I'm not sure if this is how they compensate for their cheap prices, but we this was extremely poor and did not return here on our following trip to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABH-63, General Manager at Aqua Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are apologize for this mistake. Normally we charge $10 for one towel that was spotted or dirty made by guest. On that day one of my staff was confused with price of bed sheet so we would like to say sorry again. In our hotel we always choose good and standard quality for towel, bad sheet, pillow case....etc That is why the cost is also high. I would like to say thank you so much for your comment. We don't let this mistake happen again.

Best regards,
Sothyda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
44
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Aqua Boutique. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and even the breakfast was great! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huay Xai, Laos
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After a very long bustrip we arrived at Aqua Boutique around 22.00hrs. We were very tired but it was unbelievable how friendly and hospitable they welcomed us. It was really nice! Also the room was big, clean and nicely decorated. Wi-fi worked good. Next day we started with a great breakfast and then they arranged a tuktuk to the killingfields for us and afterwards transportation to our next destination ( Sihanoukville).
Overall we can really recommend this guesthouse if you want a good stay in Phnom Penh. Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place is great. I love it. Being fussy and picky with so many things, suprisingly I really enjoyed my stay there. I hadn't had any complaints. The staffs were very very helpful and accommodating. Getting TukTuk was easy and made sure that the prices we get were reasonable. Oh..did I say the breakfast was good? Yum!
The executive suite is superb. No bugs, no ants, no lizards. Came home mosquito bite free!!!
I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pheonawart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My first stay at this guesthouse was end of Mar 2013 and I came back here again in early Jun. My first impression about this place was very friendly and helpful staff. They helped you with everything you needed and their English was good too. The rooms were clean and spacious for the rates. Breakfasts are basic but there are restaurants within walking distance. The guesthouse is also about 5 mins by tuk tuk to Royal Palace, National Museum, the river, etc. For people who like shopping, this place is less than 10 mins walk to Central Market and Sorya shopping mall. Other recommendations while staying here:
- Try a local Khmer-Thai restaurant called Boat Noodle, which is about 5 mins walk from the guesthouse. BBQ chicken wings and the boat noodles there are so yummy.
- Use tuk tuks arranged by the guesthouse. From my experience from a number of trips to Phnom Penh, it is difficult to go to places if you catch a tuk tuk on streets as many drivers can't speak English or read the maps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherry_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We read the Trip Adviser comments on this place before booking to stay here for a couple nights prior to going to Siem Reap. We should have checked out on the same day we arrived. The hotel is situated in the middle of a standard commercial/residential area with road works right outside the door and a new building going up opposite, to get to the main tourist area is a tuk-tuk ride away, so there is nothing convenient about the location.

We were advised that or room was on the fourth floor, and 'sorry we have no lift'. The temp was about 36 deg as it is on most days. We were told 'no problem we will carry your suitcases up for you. We walked up 87 steps to our room which is really unacceptable for a hotel that charges $100 per night. The room was huge, a bedroom with a kingsized bed and another king single, a lounge area and a big bathroom. The room had not been prepared- the fridge ws turned off and empty, there was no remote control for the pathetic air conditioner in the lounge and we were walking on a floor that was so dusty we wondered how long it was since the room had last been used. When my partner had a shower he called out that the bath was broken (and this is where the shower is). It had a big crack in the bottom and wasn't even attached to the wall, so it was effectively balanced on one beam underneath the bath and it rocked back and forth as you stood in it. All the windows were shut tight but there was a big gap between the door and the door frame leading to the balcony and that is probably where all the dust came from. We tried to open a blind In the bedroom to let a bit of light in - it, like almost everything else, was broken. There was no kettle, the bathroom sink overflow went all over the floor when we tried to do a bit of laundry. We asked for a fan is it was still uncomfortably hot and were very pleased when it was delivered to the room, but today found out that they only have one fan in the whole hotel!

The hotel is seriously sub-standard and the management needs to do an awful lot of work to bring it up to the most basic of standards. Over the years we have stayed in some good hotels and some budget quality hotels. This place doesn't even compare to the budget quality places we have stayed, and yet they are charging top dollar. The power of Trip Adviser!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel closer to the Riverside. We are moving to Queen Wood Hotel, 2 blocks back fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for almost a week. We booked two rooms (junior suites) and even though it gives you the room size when you book I was totally blown away. They are massive! The furnishings are nice but rather basic and the bathroom is clean and functional. It wasn't the nicest place we stay while in Cambodia but it was one of the most comfortable given all the space.

The staff was great, they work really hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast didn't offer much in the way of choice but it was well prepared and tasty. Oh, and the location is convenient to just about everything in Phnom Penh without being stuck in the worst of the backpacker culture.

They were in the process of changing ownership during our stay but if that was causing any disruption amongst the staff it was not reflected in the service.

The bottom line is that this is a nice clean hotel without a lot of frills that combines large rooms, great service, and an excellent location at a competitive price.

Room Tip: The larger executive suites overlook the street out front while the smaller junior suites are at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vulferius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#45 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#96 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Me Mates Villa
Me Mates Villa
#32 of 214 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
BlueHome Villa II
BlueHome Villa II
#33 of 214 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#12 of 214 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Aqua Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 126 Street 63, Chaktomuk, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AQUA BOUTIQUE GUESTHOUSE with excellent service, facilities, and amenities is opening its warmth hands to serve you with constant attention. The guesthouse has been designed to guarantee you the most persistent pleasant and memorable stay. The AQUA Boutique Guesthouse is the preferred destination of business and holiday travelers worldwide. It has all the accoutrements of an ideal hotel and yet bears the warm ambience of restful infrastructure. Anticipate luxury in the contemporary rooms and suites inspires by Cambodian art and style, the guesthouse provides a restful comfortable stay. The rooms and suites featuring charm found in a modern Cambodian mansion with comfortable and elegant secluded atmosphere inspire the rich gleam of the polished wood. The King/ Queen/Twin beds, and living rooms with spacious option to work and relax replete with full bathroom amenities. The windows let you see the sun cast shadows on the moon, and the balconies enable you to see beautiful landscape of the city soothing your personal experience and indelible fond memories of your time.Ideally located in the heart of Phnom Penh, the guesthouse is situated on Preah Trasak Paem (Street 63) about 30 meters from the popular local market, called PHSAR SILEPand within walking distance to the important landmarks in the city that gives it an edge over the others, the Independent Monument, the Royal Palace, the National Museum, the Sisowath Quay and the Central Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Aqua Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing