We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you find a good thing.....!!”
Review of The Shop 240

The Shop 240
Ranked #52 of 1,444 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: The Shop 240 is located on tree-lined Street 240 near the Royal Palace, it was our first outlet when we started in 2001 and it remains hugely popular. This colonial-era house has a peaceful patio out front, a wood-floored dining area inside, and a leafy eating area out back. Ceiling fans keep things cool, and a fresh supply of free newspapers in this oasis keeps our customers up to date with world events as they enjoy our Mediterranean-inspired menu. We have other The Shop locations on Street 102 and Street 337 in Toul Kork as well as The Chocolate Shop locations on Street 240 and Street 63.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When you find a good thing.....!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We ate here almost EVERY day for 3 weeks. We would have lunch and buy afternoon tea from the little deli area. The iced coffees, hummus pitas, chicken pastas, wraps, mint lychee cooler, chicken and broccoli pie......I could keep going!! Love the atmosphere in here and the service is so friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    129
    42
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Éire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Western style lunch and desserts”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a great place to go if you are craving something lunchy like a sandwich, a pie or a salad. The food is delicious but it is a bit pricey. Dessert was best Ive had in SE Asia. We had meatballs and pitta and leeka and feta pie both tasty but not huge portions. Chocolate dessert and mini walnut pie were delicious with coffee after. Service was ok. Nice decor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancy_n_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great drinks and environment in a good location”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This relaxed, open-aired cafe is home to a variety of cakes, pastries and juice blends. Its in a cute area of town just a stroll away from the Royal Palace. The wifi connection is smooth and the service is friendly. Fresh water is always served before taking an order. Its also connected to a chocolate shop with some awesome tiramisu ice cream. I can definitely smell and taste the amazing French influence in Cambodia in this area of town. The passionfruit ice tea is a favorite!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Chocolates too................”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whilst in Phnom Penh last month I had lunch here 3 times. Great food and friendly efficient service!
They also have 'Chocolate by The Shop' a couple of doors up and it sells THE BEST Belgian chocolates! All made on the premises! Just delicious! They have many different varieties but my favourite is the Passionfruit Cream!!! Just like eating fresh passionfruit wrapped up in delectable chocolate!! If you are in Phnom Penh - do yourself a favour and pay them a visit!!!! Top Quality!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lv9059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If I had only found this on the first day, I would have eaten there every day”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If I had only found this on the first day, I would have eaten there every day. It’s not as easy as you think to buy good food in Phnom Penh and this place is nothing short of brilliant. Bought lunch and took a couple of slices of quiche home for dinner. It was that good.....

Easy casual dining and busy all day which is testament to the quality of the food and service. Mark it on the map as you will want to go there at least once.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowdyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shop 240 also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Shop 240? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing