We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but not great for €33 a night, could get better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cozyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cozyna Hotel
Ranked #131 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic but not great for €33 a night, could get better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Shower head is fitted outside of the shower making showering a pain, sink in bathroom kept blocking, light on balcony didn't work, balcony railings very low so insist on lower floor if traveling with young children, I was on top floor and no lift, stairs are a pain especially if you have had a few drinks, constantly pestered by tuk tuk drivers at main doors, but location is good and overlooking the river, traffic can be noisy at night, I know the above sounds like I'm only picking the negatives but I'm being honest, this hotel is ok for someone who's not too fussy, in hindsight I think I could have gotten better

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
47
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Could be anywhere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Well, if you are livin' on the cheap, I reckon it's alright. I've stayed there a few nights, but not enjoyed any of them really. Cell-like rooms, rooms near the street are filled with street noise all night. I requested a first floor (above ground floor) room a month in advance, when I arrived, I was put on the third floor anyway. I had a lot of heavy luggage with me and had requested the first floor intentionally. Staff always seems lazy, and unwilling to do anything to improve your stay. For $20 I guess you can't complain...I'll just go somewhere else and happily spend more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a beautiful Khmer hotel with lots of dark rich wood. The rooms were nice and as usual we wanted a balcony and got it. One night the traffic on the street below was virtually nonstop all night and we thought we would get no sleep but the next night it wasn't bad. In all we stayed three nights. There is a smell coming from the sewage treatment just up the street and if the wind is blowing your way you cannot get away from. We were at another hotel previously a few blocks away and the smell was there also. Once again we loved the location. There was lots to do and see day and night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
358 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is on the riverfront. Location could not have been better and reasonably priced. Room has very good A/C and a fridge. Not a very big room but spacious enough.

Room Tip: Best location and reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

My week end in Phnom Penh just turned to nightmare as I was stolen my iphone in my room.
I left it to charge to my computer inside the closet of my room. When I was back from lunch, the phone wasn't there anymore. It has to be someone from the staff as the surveillance footage showed several people came inside while it was being cleaned. I reduced the number of suspects to a few staff members, but they all deny the theft so there isn't much i can do. I filed a complaint with the police without much hope. It's too bad. This is the 4th time i stay here and i never had a problem before. The staff is generally pleasant, but there must be one bad apple in the bunch. One conclusion:
AVOID COZYNA HOTEL!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Nico092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

For a budget traveler, Phnom Penh is a difficult place to find a quality night's stay at a reasonable price. Too expensive and you can't afford your next meal, too cheap and you spend your time battling vermin. But Cozyna Hotel breaks the rule of "what you get is what you pay for." In this case, you get a bit more, and most of that has to do with the location. Sitting right in the middle of Sisowath Quay, Cozyna offers a no frills, guesthouse-style accommodation right in the midst of the action, only steps from the riverfront, the Royal Palace, the FCC, and the National Museum. For a few extra Riel, you get well-working air-con and stellar views from the street-facing rooms, as well as your own balcony. The hotel is sandwiched between two much more expensive options, and is surrounded at street level by all manner of decent restaurants, from Cambodian to Irish. Transportation onward to Siem Reap or elsewhere can be arranged at the front desk. The lobby and hallway vibe is dark and empty, but don't let that turn you off. Rooms are brightly lit, we had an electric tea kettle (although armies of ants devoured our sugar cubes), and an overall pleasant stay. On a budget, you can do much worse than Cozyna.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the riverfront to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Things4Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

everything was fine - untill they messed up our booking which was for five days. They were than not really friendly and just a little bit helpful - they wouldn't pay for a TukTuk after the 2nd day when they had double booked the room to another street with a lot of hotels. They just tried to shift us to another hotel a few meters away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nicolerobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#63 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#101 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#216 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#132 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#98 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozyna Hotel

Property: Cozyna Hotel
Address: No. 1A, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cozyna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cozyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozyna Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing